Get Over It Already

Sorry, Steve.  I was trying to be good.  But I can’t.  Mark Davis is Dallas-Fort Worth’s resident conservative talk show host (highest-rated in the state of Texas).  And he is a columnist for the Dallas Morning News.  He and I are of the same mind on the whole McCain thing.

I hate to post full articles, but (for the second time ever), I will post this one because I feel that everyone needs to read it.  He is only reiterating what I have been saying here.  And I have been reiterating what he has said in this neck of the woods.

One of the stock lectures conservatives deliver to liberals involves accepting the marketplace and dealing with it as it is without whining about it.

Whether in politics, the economy or popular culture, the lesson preaches the value of changing the marketplace if possible; if it’s not possible, the responsible thing to do is deal with it like an adult.

A lot of people who have delivered that lecture would now do well to listen to it.

The marketplace is speaking loudly. Republican voters are choosing John McCain as their party’s nominee for president. Plenty of people are not thrilled by that, me included. But the day is coming soon that I will have to face some facts. I highly recommend to my conservative brothers and sisters that they come in off the ledge and start to look at the big picture.

Easy to say, hard to do. You should see my e-mails. “I can never vote for McCain,” say scads of people who identify themselves as lifelong Republican voters. My attempts to help them prioritize are not being received well.

When I mention the clear truth that Mr. McCain’s ideological mixed bag is infinitely superior to the universal wrongness of whatever Democrat he faces in November, it is as though I suggested al-Qaeda isn’t such a bad bunch of guys.

“How can you abandon principle so easily?” comes the anguished cry.

Abandon principle? I’m practicing it! When one battle is lost, you look to the next one.

Last week, the bar moved. The window for determining the Republican nominee is virtually closed. Now that it has locked out any realistic rival to Mr. McCain, that process is over and the contest moves to its final phase: the general election.

Spring and summer are times of healing in presidential election years. It’s when you see candidates who have clobbered each other for a year or longer suddenly clasp hands and unify because they realize the differences in their views pale compared to those with the other party.

If JFK can run with LBJ – if Ronald Reagan can run with George H.W. Bush, if Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama can come close to slow dancing on a debate stage after their January tension – surely conservatives unhappy at batting .500 with their nominee can get a grip by November.

They’d better. The failure to do so comes at a price.

I am inundated with nightmare scenarios from disgruntled conservatives beaten down by the fear of a Republican president who is soft on the borders, unwilling to battle environmental extremism and too fond of muzzling free speech through “campaign finance reform.”

I remind them of the portion of our history featuring a Republican president just like that. It’s the portion we’re living right now. A conservative base willing to forgive George W. Bush for these things because of his steadfastness on the war seems far less willing to give Mr. McCain a pass – and Mr. McCain, already proven on the war issue, also might prove to be a spending-cutter, which Mr. Bush never was.

But this was the year conservative America wanted more. We wanted a president with Mr. Bush’s determination to combat terror, cut taxes and appoint Supreme Court justices who respect the Constitution. And we wanted our immigration laws followed, terrorists interrogated aggressively and our economy protected from the ravings of the global warming panic cult.

We won’t get those, and we’re miffed, just as we were with President Ford in 1976 and Bush 41 in 1992. The Nixon pardon and “no new taxes” broken promise created Republican malaise that gave us the Jimmy Carter and Bill Clinton presidencies.

Everybody has plenty of time to complete this momentary hissy fit for not getting the piece of candy we wanted from the nomination jar. But once the race is set in stone, it will be time for conservatives to dust off, grow up and get over it.

15 thoughts on “Get Over It Already

  1. Conservatives are beginning to amaze me in their inability to see what’s really at stake here. This election is about more than McCain and his inability to follow conservative principals.

    How is handing the whole country over to far left liberals a suitable alternative to McCain?

    There is a serious difference between McCain and a purebread liberal who is bent on destroying ALL conservative values permanantly.

    Today’s liberal is not like the Bill Clinton’s Presidency. It’s moved radically left… Clinton is now considered a moderated, and loosing it’s power because it’s not radically liberal enough.

    The Democratic candidate that is surging now, Obama, is bottom of the barrel liberal. He is about to take power, unless conservatives stop fighting and get serious.

    This would give liberals what they will treat as a clear sign from America that is it ready to move sharply to the left. Not slightly to the left.

    Cherry picking our candidate is exactly what got us INTO this mess, and if conservatives aren’t careful, they will allow our country spiral out of control.

    There is no such thing as a quick recovery from 4 years of radical liberalism unchecked. We may be facing what will take years and years of damage to undo. What’s more, there’s no guarantee that it WILL be undone. Have conservatives completely forgotten Roe v. Wade and other extremely important issues?

    Questioning McCain was right and highly useful for a time and a season. Many of us wish we had acted sooner to support Romney or Huck…. But staying home on election day allows liberals a pass to capture all THREE branches of Government. Our kids deserve better out of us.

    I’m not asking anyone to sacrifice their own belief or convictions, but we have a serious problem here that requires that we do everything we can to minimize the damage this election can cause to our society.

    I’d rather have 50% of McCains ear, than 0% of a liberals ear.

    Give it some thought, friends.

    Danny Vice
    http://weeklyvice.blogspot.com
    http://thalunatic.blogspot.com

  2. Solis Doyle, is dispensable, she has served her purpose to help us win the latino vote in the big states. We no longer need her or the latino vote to capture the white house. The women vote will now carry the Hillary campaign the rest of the way. Democratic Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton replaced campaign manager Patti Solis Doyle with longtime aide Maggie Williams on Sunday. Ms. Clinton believes Maggie Williams is a better choice to target the women vote. Clinton said in a statement. “I am lucky to have Maggie on board and I know she will lead our campaign with great skill towards the nomination.”

  3. ??????????

    I got the post, I don’t get how the comment dovetails with the post… Am I missing something obvious?

  4. I wonder if this same author will just “get over it” after McCain causes an utter disaster in the White House.

    I also wonder if Republicans would vote or support Teddy Kennedy if he ran with an “R” after his name.

    Merely placing an “R” after your name does not make you a Republican. Your voting record decides that for you.

    George Bush (amnesty aside) was an excellent President. He gave us various amazing tax cuts (which McCain opposed), gave us a great start to combatting terrorism (most of which, McCain opposed), endorsed the Patriot Act and waterboarding of terrorists at Guantanamo (which McCain opposed), endorsed giving terror-suspects at Gitmo military tribunals – which would have given them the same court process as Americans but would have withheld our intelligence (which McCain opposed), gave us two wonderful Supreme Court Justices (which McCain opposed), etc., etc.

    The MSM has done such a magnificient job at convincing some conservatives that the country absolutely hated GWB, that it resulted in frightening much of the primary voters into voting for a Republican that liberals liked.

    Authors like this have bought into the theory that suggests conservatism is something that can be bartered or compromised for a mere win for “the R side.”

    I don’t buy into that theory. I’m disgusted at our party because most of us have allowed liberals and the media to pick our candidate for us by constantly labeling Romney as a flip-flopper while promoting John McCain as a wonderful P.O.W. whose record will be discussed after we pick him and it’s too late. (Thus, what’s happening right now.)

    As I’ve said before, I am already convinced that America will fall under hard times. It will be perilous. We will probably suffer another attack of some kind, the tax rates will soar, etc. But it’s the hard times that we have to go through to erase the crap fed to people by the MSM to restore a sense of Americanism in all of us. That restored sense of Americanism will be what we need in 2012 to give us a real candidate who can undo idiotic liberal policy. But we cannot undo giving 12 million illegals amnesty. We cannot undo a knick in the name of Republicanism that will virtually hand Democrats decades of power.

    McCain, Clinton, or Obama will give us what we need to ensure that this happens. But at least with Clinton or Obama, the MSM won’t be allowed to tell us that “a Republican did it!”

    So as you can see, I’ve accepted what is coming.

    I’m already “over it” and I’m not voting for John McCain.

    Sorry, Phil. I still love ya. 🙂

  5. Phil had me convinced … then I read Steve’s reply … now I just don’t know what to think. Guess I’m an easy influence. I have (mostly) made up my mind to vote for McCain in the general election. I want to believe he will be a better President than Senator. I WANT to believe. 🙂

  6. I guess I can’t say or post anything to change your mind, Steve. You are of the opinion that we would be better off with Obama or Hillary in the White House. You don’t worry, like I do, about the effect of four years of a Dem presidency.

    I can’t say anything else. I’ll continue to make my case here for a GOP president. But I won’t try to force it down the throat of anyone who is content with a Dem in the White House. There’s only so much a person can do.

  7. I celebrate all different opinions.

    I’m sad though because I feel my position is being misconstued. I do not think it would be “better off.”

    I just don’t think there’d be much of a difference.

    All opinions are valid ones. I respect everyone on here a great deal. Anyone of us can change our mind at any instance. If we disagree, then we disagree.

  8. Steve-

    This is how hillary will get elected. People just won’t vote for McCain. He’ll be the *lesser* of two evils. Notice, I said, Lesser….

  9. Philip, I’m in agreement with you. There is an angry disgruntled group of armchair conservatives in the blogosphere who think purity and politics are one, who think litmus tests on policy are a valid way to cull out the pagans, the non-believers… the… OMG… RINOs.

    Those are the kind of irresponsible political windbags who think electing Hillary or Obama for 4-8 years will teach the GOP a lesson and return the GOP to her rightful reactionary roots… it’s bloody stupid suicide to buy into their angry nonsense.

    Politics is about winning. You can’t govern until you win at politics. You can’t advance policy unless you have political control. And this may be the year the GOP learns that the party can survive without the support of those angry armchair conservatives who would hazard political ruin in order to purge the party of all RINOs, who would support the election of a liberal Dem in order to teach the party a lesson.

    What makes Sen McCain a Republican isn’t the R after his name… it is the years and years of service to his Party and his leadership on issues in the Senate. Remember, when all those “great” conservative Republicans in the Congress were spending like drunken sailors and playing fast & loose with the lobbyists, McCain was saying no to the spending… no to the lobbyist moneybags.

    Frankly, I’d have rather had Romney as our nominee. But I’ll take McCain because he can beat the Dems in Nov 08.

    You nailed it Philip.

  10. It’s confirmed then.

    Let’s run Teddy Kennedy as a Republican, have the mainstream media love him, then we can say we won.

    Won’t life be grand?

  11. Moreover; the reason we do not have a good candidate is the result of McCain-Feingold. The only chance we have now is if McCain picks a good vice-president like Romney.

    Politics is not all about winning. It’s about the laws of cause and effect – If a “republican” like John McCain messes this country up with his liberal-like views on immigration, campaign finance reform, and waterboarding terrorists at Guantanamo – the effect will be the entire Republican party being tarnished for a long time.

    Then we can get used to President Hussein for the next 30 years.

  12. Thanks, Matt. I have given up on trying to convince others about McCain. It’s hard because dear friends like Steve and some of the commentators whom I really respect are the ones most vocal in opposition to McCain.

    It’s like fighting with your family or significant other. It’s not like fighting with a whacko liberal. On one hand, I can understand opposition to McCain. He certainly pissed me off at times. But, on the other hand, it’s almost one of those fights where I want to just shut up or apologize in order to avoid more confrontation. It’s not comfortable for anyone.

    For now, I am content to see where things go. If I am wrong, then I’m sure I will hear about it. If not, then I will be glad that things worked out. But, I’m going to refrain from antagonizing anyone over the issue further – realizing that everyone has a right to feel the way that they do. This certainly wasn’t an easy primary for conservatives. And it certainly didn’t yield the results we wanted.

  13. Philip, I can appreciate you relenting on convincing family, friends, commenters or others about the REALITY of politics, the GOP’s choice of McCain as its nominee or other aspects about this year’s political battle.

    I can really appreciate it because the anti-McCain types are irrationally fervent in their singular effort to discredit the GOP nominee even before the general election is engaged.

    That irrational fervency is demonstrated in Steve’s response that the GOP ought to nominate TeddieK because there is seemingly no political or policy difference between McCain and TeddieK. How irrational is that??? Totally inaccurate. Totally irrational.

    When this primary season began, the irrational conservatives –those angry armchair conservatives I mentioned above– were angry with McCain, Romney, Giuliani and holding out for a FreddieThompson-adopts-the-mantle-of-Ronnie movement to gain steam. Remember all the Rudy McRomney slurs after the CPAC ’07 meeting? No difference between those three on policy, either. It’s Freddie (as RonnieDeux) or Bust.

    Well, the angry armchair conservatives didn’t get Freddie… so now it’s “Bust”.

    I still think the GOP should go after the political center and moderates (independents and GOPers) and kiss the angry FarRight adios.

    The truth of the matter is the angry FarRight can sit on their hands this election and if McCain nabs the independent vote like he usually does… the FarRight will be as politically impotent as Sen Clinton appears to be today.

    Pragmatic politics is always about winning. Reagan understood that and he used words, empty but lofty speeches, patriotic symbols and events to define his 1980 and 84 campaigns. He let the speech writers have a heyday like they hadn’t had since Thomas Dewey… but in the end, he knew that to govern he had to win first.

    Movements are great for the embattled minority no longer in power… but they don’t let you govern for even day. That comes from winning at politics.

    And this year, right now, McCain is the GOP’s best opportunity for keeping the WH… and maybe giving the GOP a platform to regain the US Senate, the US House and a few governorships and state chambers they lost in the wake of the FarRight conservative Congressional excess and corruption of the 1990s.

  14. I wrote a reply – but turned it into a post instead.

    I’ve been getting like-kind emails, messages on myspace, and arguments from friends.

  15. Mitt Romney was the candidate I supported when he was running for president and McCain was my last choice. We all know what happened after super Tuesday. After all that’s happened, I have to support Sen McCain because there is no way in hell I would support the 2 Marxists on the Dem side.

    When I listen to those 2 speak, I feel like I have to take anti-depressant pills. They talk like were all miserable and they’re the ones that can get us out of our miseries. I don’t know about you guys, but I’m very happy. I may not have all the money in the world to buy what I want, but I’m very happy. At least Sen McCain talks positively about his country.

    I am not one of those people who faints when hearing Obama speak. I listen carefully to what he says. In all the years that I have followed politics, I’ve never heard anyone speak better saying absolutely nothing. What makes him qualified to be president of the greatest nation in the world? Could some please tell me what his qualifications are? Accomplishments?

    As for Hillary, don’t even get me started with her. Let me put it this way. How can I take her as a serious candidate for president when she couldn’t give a straight answer regarding drivers licenses for illegals? The woman had 5 positions in what, 3-4 weeks? First she was againts it, then she said it made sense, then she equivicated at the Dem debate, then she endorsed the plan the next day, and when SPITzer dropped the plan, she said she doesn’t support it.

    My partner of 7 years is a Democrat and he is supporting Sen McCain. He can’t stand Hillary and Obama. He thinks it will be a disaster having either one of those 2 in the White House. He also thinks that the supporters of those 2 are stupid if they think they will pull the troops out of Iraq immediately if they win. We all know they wont pull the troops out because they know exactly what will happen and they don’t want to be blamed for it.

    I think what changed his mind was right after we watched one of the Dem debates. He literally asked me to calm down because I was so pissed off of what I heard that night. He was for Hillary and was telling me, with a smile on his face, “whether I like it or not, she will win.” I said to him, “You smile now, but you won’t be smiling when you see your paycheck if she wins.” I told him that our paychecks are the manifests of our hard work. Paychecks that pay for our bills, food and a roof over our heads. We work to support ourselves not to support people.

    Our chances this November is dim, but let’s not get discouraged my friends. We conservatives have leaders out there that will bring back faith and encouragement to us conservatives. One name come to mind and that is Gov Bobby Jindal.

Leave a Reply

