Free Tibet

For those of you who don’t know – I am an avid human rights guy.  And this BS in Tibet is pissing me off.  Chinese claims to Tibet are non-existent.  Tibet was an independent region for centuries.  Mao’s seizure of this proud nation and the subsequent planned infiltration of the region by Han Chinese is reprehensible.

Now we have the protests.

China’s repression of Tibetans is yet another reminder of the fact that the Chinese government is a brutal bunch of thugs.  Why the hell GW would even show up at the Olympic ceremonies is beyond me.  W has championed human rights and has made good on the rhetoric for the most part.  But it is unconscionable for the President to do anything that would act as an endorsement of this disgusting regime.

The IOC was wrong to award the Olympics to Beijing in the first place.  Why reward despots?  I personally feel that a boycott of the Olympics by the US is warranted; however, I know that won’t happen.  We continue to kowtow to China under the auspice of “engagement.”  When will we recognize this dictatorship for what it really is, and stand with the oppressed masses against this abomination?

5 thoughts on “Free Tibet

  1. We kowtow too often instead of taking stands.

    China would not forgive the slap in the face of us missing the Olympics. All the more reason for us to do so. And to shame the free nations of the world into following suit.

  2. “Engagement” vs “Isolation” is the old game of selectively calling glass half-empty or glass half-full. Bush Sr was also pretty weak in condemning the Tiananmen massacre on his watch. And all the coddling of Beijing is due to its longstanding utility as a counterweight to Moscow. Now that Moscow and Beijing are actually collaborating closely again, it’s now time for the NATO-first crowd to catch up with the times and see Beijing’s underside.

  3. Regretfully, I find that we’re looking at an example of not just, “Too little. Too late.” but one of “Over the barrel.”
    Let’s not obscure the historical fact that for many years Tibet was left lingering behind the “Bamboo Curtain”. Yes, there was outrage then. But the West had other cards to play.
    Thus were the times, and actions that were not taken are hardly of note.
    Regretfully too, we might ask some sobering questions about what Tibet chose for itself at that time. This is not an encouraging situation. I doubt Macchievelli would rate Tibet very high on the level of a viable state – given the realities of the time which it was enveloped by China. Remember, China had focussed upon India and Pakistan as well during that era.
    Frankly, I love to see the President send his regrets to Bejing with a load of lead-painted toys.

  4. Ho Ho Ho!
    Free Tibet?
    Ok pal, and then what?
    Do you want to return the Dali Lama and his pope-like theocracity to power? Tell all the women who were given equal rights under chinese rule to get their butts back into the fields and russel up some grub for the 30% of the population that lived in lazy, wonderful splendor in the monestaries?
    Check out the literacy rate pre-commie takeover and post commie take over.
    Check out the infant mortality, food production, childhood disease, etc.
    I hate the chinese commies more than your superficial and pop-news mind could ever take in. But I hate even more this deliberate prostitution of your own intellect. Try and think something out for once. Then try to write a post that actually lays out your reasoning and comes to a conclusion.
    Oh and your racist undertones are showing too sweetie–Han infiltration??? Like the hispanic infiltration on our southern border?

    Free Tibet? Ya right. (not)

  5. Jim –

    I’m not exactly sure what I did to you that would invite such a cynical, scornful and biting response. In any case, your comment had the potential to make some reasonable points. Although I would argue that they fall short. Let me dissect your comment.

    “Tell all the women who were given equal rights under chinese rule”

    You use the word “rights” in the same context of communist rule? The right to what? To be as equally oppressed under communist rule as men? How can you be concerned with rights while, in the same breath, asserting that communist rule has benefited the Tibetans? How does oppression and denial of basic civil liberties benefit anyone? Your lip service to “women’s rights” is noble, but your statement is a little hypocritical if you ask me. I wonder if you really hate commies as much as you claim.

    “30% of the population that lived in lazy, wonderful splendor in the monestaries?”

    And the rest of the sentence now. Tibet’s society was/is structured around the Buddhist religion. Consequently, a significant portion of their population including their government were monks who lived in monestaries. So what? That was how their society was structured. Just like any other society that is theocratic in nature. That’s how it works. If the other 70% doesn’t like that, then they should revolt and change the government. I’m all for it (ie. Iran). But you use that to justify Communist rule? Give me a break. You use your religious bigotry to justify communist oppression. Oh great.

    “Check out the literacy rate pre-commie takeover and post commie take over.
    Check out the infant mortality, food production, childhood disease, etc.”

    Are you advocating that the ends justifies the means? Communism has been so good to those poor, pathetic, backward Tibetans. I guess that means we should permit the Chinese to annex any part of Africa as long as they guarantee that they will bring up the standard of living in their newest provinces. Or maybe that means that the US should invade and colonize any nation whose standard of living is below ours. That’s just a specious argument, Jim.

    “I hate the chinese commies more than your superficial and pop-news mind could ever take in. But I hate even more this deliberate prostitution of your own intellect. Try and think something out for once. Then try to write a post that actually lays out your reasoning and comes to a conclusion.”

    I don’t know your credentials, Jim. You may be incredibly more qualified than myself to comment on this issue. I blog as an outlet and a hobby, not for a living. I’m not a professional commentator. But I would haven’t the courage to blog if I didn’t spend countless hours every week absorbing news and information from any and every source I can.

    I think you maybe confusing me with the subject matter and title of this post. Yup, “Free Tibet” is a liberal, celebrity-ridden cause that attracts a bunch of shallow idiots who promote the cause without any real knowledge of the issue. I can assure you that, although I am not an expert on Chinese/Tibetan history, I approach this with a high level of principled thought. I am a conservative who typically rejects the recycled, celebrity causes. That said – I am also a conservative who embraces human rights as one of my chief concerns. And I am willing to advocate those concerns even when it goes against the grain of the GOP establishment.

    I apologize that my original post was not a major discourse that would satisfy your criteria for a reasonable post, but I try to keep things pithy if possible (I don’t always. Go read my past posts). This is a blog, and THAT is the point.

    “Oh and your racist undertones are showing too sweetie–Han infiltration??? Like the hispanic infiltration on our southern border?”

    I have a problem with statement for two reasons: First, the Han Chinese and Tibetans are not separate races. They are ethnic groups within the same race. I guess that’s just semantics. But what’s good for the goose is good for the gander. My post was so obviously ill-informed and lacking. I feel the need to hold you to the same high standard. Get your facts straight before posting.

    Second, the comment about the Han Chinese was not at all racist (or ethnically derogatory) as you assert. Rather, it was meant to point out that the Chinese are attempting to dilute Tibetan culture by resettling their own people into this region. It is a deliberate tool in the tradition of the Soviet practice of resettling ethnic Russians in the Ukraine, Estonia, Georgia, etc. It is an overt attempt to eliminate the native language, religion and culture of annexed/conquered regions. Get real. You know what I mean.

    CONCLUSION: Sorry my post didn’t meet your standards, Jim. You’re obviously an authority. I’m just a dumb, simple-minded Texan who gets my information from the National Enquirer and the local evening news. I will strive to expand my horizons in order to meet the high standards which you have attempted to establish with your comment here.

Leave a Reply

