Obama’s Claim of Experience

This is an entertaining debate posted strictly for my McCain supporters. 

I wonder why Michael Steele won’t run for anything again.  He’s energetic, funny, and extremely thoughtful. 

And even though Bob Beckel remains a Democratic strategist, he’s pretty funny as well.  I actually feel sorry for the guy here where he has to explain Obama’s claim of having more world experience in comparison to McCain when it comes to dealing with foreign policy.

“What are you smoking?” A perfect question.

35 thoughts on “Obama’s Claim of Experience

  1. McCain had 23 combat missions and lost 5 planes and he has advertised himself as a war hero.

    He does not understand economics and confuses Sunnis, Shiites and Al Qaeda and he brags about his experience.

    The GOP fooled Americans with GW Bush. Here they go again!

  2. Gee – gasdocpol – I didn’t realize that spending 5 years in a prison camp was no big deal! Maybe you should try it?

    And, just for your information, McCain didn’t actually confuse Sunnis/Shiites/Al Qaeda. He said that Iran was training Sunni terrorists, and the media had a field day. You know what though? Iran is training anyone who shows up at their door and says they want to fight Americans – Sunni Al Qaeda or Shiite. I’m sure they’d train Mormons if the opportunity came up, but Mormons just don’t swing that way.

    Are you going to complain about Obama’s little faux pas during the questioning of the Iraq Report by Petraeus and Crocker when Obama stated that the Iraqi government was funding the terrorists? It’s funny that the media didn’t even bother to report that, but he sure enough DID make that statement. Would you like a link?

    The funny thing about people complaining about McCain’s “war hero” status… They generally haven’t done anything heroic themselves.

  3. I find it odd that the media is dreaming of Obama and Oprah is endorsing him and people like this seem to think that Americans in majority are “GOP fooled.”

    I wonder why the NY Times referred to McCain as a “maverick” everyday up until the big primary votes.

    Yet, people like this seem to think that McCain is worshipped by people who are “GOP fooled.”

  4. Papillon (aka Henri Charrière.) survived 14 years on Devil’s Island.

    McCain survived 5 1/2 years as a POW

    My hat is off to both of them but that did qualify either of them to be President.

  5. gasdocpol – you don’t HAVE to want to vote for McCain. You can hate his policies all you want. But to belittle someone’s service because of how many planes he lost is just plain silly. It also makes you look like a petty whinging jerk.

    The man was brave, whatever you think of his policies today. And I do think he qualifies as a War Hero, whether you want to deride him or not.

    You say your hat is off to McCain for his service NOW, but you sure did seem to belittle it in your earlier comment.

    Now, I’m pretty sure that if you really feel McCain is not qualified to be president you can find better reasons that downplaying his military service. Why don’t you try that instead of low class ad hominems?

  6. Gasdocpolso: so defining in his contempt; A common lemming, dressed in a tux, fearlessly running toward the drowning sea, believing the last few lemmings are bringing the life-jackets.
    But for reasons of being “against”, for such people we have no need at all.

  7. I was not questioning the service of ANYONE who served in Vietnam. There were probably thousands who deserved to be call “war hero” more than McCain

    “McCain had roughly 20 hours in combat,” explains Bill Bell, a veteran of Vietnam and former chief of the U.S. Office for POW/MIA Affairs — the first official U.S. representative in Vietnam since the 1973 fall of Saigon. “Since McCain got 28 medals,” Bell continues, “that equals out to about a medal-and-a-half for each hour he spent in combat. There were infantry guys — grunts on the ground — who had more than 7,000 hours in combat and I can tell you that there were times and situations where I’m sure a prison cell would have looked pretty good to them by comparison. The question really is how many guys got that number of medals for not being shot down.”

    And if ,indeed, McCain were a war hero that would not qualify him to be President.

    “Pappy” Boyington got the Congressional Medal of Honor, the Navy Cross and spent 20 months as a Japanese POW and he would not have made a good President either.

  8. Gas –

    You’re going on about technicalities of hours spent in combat. You opened up the repartee with a general assumption that McCain did not do enough – then moved forward to talk about how the GOP is fooling people.

    It wasn’t the GOP that thrust McCain as our Presidential candidate. It was liberal news outlets like the NY Times or other liberals who said things like “the only Republican I like is John McCain.”

    Do you need me to count how many times liberals and the NY Times have referred to McCain as a “war hero” or a “Maverick?”

    I am completely with you on the point that war heroes do not make a great President. With that in mind, maybe you can explain to me why liberals for the last eight years have spent endless resources of time, energy, and newspaper ink alleging that Bush’s service was lacking? Why did liberals decide to run a Vietnam vet for Pres in 2004 while trying to make the case that he had more military experience than Bush?

    Why did Max Cleland have to lie when attacking Bush on war service? Why did liberals begin to lie about Max when claiming that he lost his limbs in Vietnam and told us we had no right to criticize him?

    So one man like Obama comes along and makes an insane allegation – “i know more about the world than McCain” in terms of foreign policy and the potential protection of 300 million Americans. A conservative points out how crazy that thought is and suddenly, the evil GOP is working to trick people?

    I just don’t understand how anything you have to say against Republicans coincides with anything you are alleging about McCain. If your complaint is they are campaigning on McCain’s experience in the military, then I’m sure you can honestly tell us you certainly couldn’t stand it when the idea of “running a war hero for President so that we can argue for surrender” was invented and continues to be nourished by only one party – the Democrats!!!

  9. My big argument is that gasdocpol is downplaying McCain’s service at all. I don’t think that military service immediately qualifies one to be president, but I for darn sure don’t think that anyone has a right to act like McCain’s service was no big deal.

    He can quote anyone he wants – everyone has enemies. And some of those enemies are so unscrupled that they think they can be the sole arbitors of whose service mattered and who didn’t serve enough.

    steve, you bring up Jack Murtha – can I tell you that even though I cuss and holler about his stupidities now, I do NOT question his service. And had John Kerry not traitorously turned on his fellow servicemembers (including, at the time, my father and uncle who were in-country at the same time) I would never have questioned him, either.

    It’s a revolting attack. Utterly disgusting and cowardly.

    And now I’ll leave off so that I don’t hog up your bandwidth with my irritated hissy fit, steve. 🙂

  10. Not that I have any clinical credentials, but I’d almost guess that gasdocpol is suffering from some sort post-indolence-hyper-jealosy disorder.
    Yes, let’s agree that military experience is a duty that many assume, and for tht we are grateful.
    But, remember, as well, to John McCain’s credit that he was elected to the US Senate, and re-elected, and re-elected. That’s not too shabby either.

  11. Shawnut & Airforcewife. I would not be downplaying McCain’s service in Vietnam if it had not been exagerrated in the first place. I am more impressed about how he was able milk almost 1 1/2 medals for each hour he spent over combat zones. and how he was able to parlay that into getting into Congress.

    Shawmut
    I DO have some clinical credentials and a) I have never heard of a post indolence hyperjealosy disorder and b) If anything, I am an overachiever.

  12. gasdocpol – don’t forget your astounding sense of humility when listing your resume talking points.

  13. airforcewife

    I hate to disillusion you at your young age. Until I researched the question, I thought that McCain was indeed a war hero. I have come to realize that his service was probably honorable and possibly commendable but compared to others who served there, was not especially heroic.

    McCain should have more of an outstanding sense of humility based on an accurate look at his service in Vietnam.

  14. Dude, I totally wouldn’t worry about disillusioning me – I don’t disillusion easily since I also don’t make my value judgements without my own research and reasons.

    But thanks for calling me young –

    Also, I suspect you know dip-shit about the military, war, or anything that the brotherhood of service means. So it is in precisely that vein that I take any of your self-aggrandizing promotion and McCain war record derision.

  15. airforcewife

    I went through officer training and I was a commissioned line officer in the naval reserve.
    I was an officer in the merchant marine before I went to medical school. I have a brother who was an army infantry officier and another who was a sargeant both in Vietnam. I have some understanding of the military and war.

  16. Gas – Airforce’s husband is currently serving. She understands that making a sacrifice like that – even if it were for one day – puts a man above the rest of us. These guys are heroes, all of them!

    By understanding the sacrifice her husband has made by being away from her and their family for any given period of time so that he can defend our country might make her a bit raw to the criticism – after all, if you’re willing to criticize McCain, what’s stopping you from doing it to the ones she holds near and dear.

    God – I sound like Oprah….

    Anyway, adding to that I am surprised you would minimize his service as well if indeed you truly have the personal experience you claim to.

    But rather than just conceding the point made about McCain’s experience vs. Obama’s, it was easier for you to downplay McCain’s contribution to our National Security because it served your immediate purpose of claiming that it was all a right-winged conspiracy to fool Americans.

    It is astonishing. This is really the level it has gotten to. How about a tiny respect and just saying “Obama was wrong” is this kind of idiotic assessment?

    Our lives depend on whomever is running this country for four years. A strong leader does not require military experience.

    But it does require “experience” as a whole. No matter if it’s military, congressional, etc. McCain (and even Clinton) win hands down over Obama.

  17. steveflesher & airforcewife

    In Vietnam, there were many thousands of grunts who spent thousands of hours in combat compared to the 20 or so of McCain in conditions in which a prison cell would look pretty good. I suspect that McCain’s contribution was significant but his war hero status was exagerrated . The self-aggrandizement of McCain has minimized the contribution of others.

    People keep throwing the word “experience “around.

    Experience is one factor. There is common sense which is the ability to reach an appropriate decision without special experience or training. Common sense along with experience and training comprise judgement. The bottom line is judgement.

    I have training and experience in clinical settings, aboard ship and in business. I have seen officers , sailors, physicians, nurses, executives and clerical workers with decades of experience who were mediocre at best. I have seen others who were fresh out of training who hit the ground running and were solid performers. I have known men who never finished high school with awesome intellegence. I have known men at the top of their class at prestigious universities who were ineffectual in their work.

    There are several ways one can gain good judgement. Someone can have any amount of experience and /or training and still not have good judgement.

    One can have 20 years of experience or one year of expeirnce 20 times or anywhere in between.

    Not only did Obama get it right about the Iraq invasion but his thought processes were logical and sound. It was not just a lucky guess. The rest of his view of issues impresses me as equally logical and sound.

    I am 69 years old and have the experience of observing the role of experience in several different endeavors.

    One cannot assume that years of experience in isolation. It may or may not be an indication of what quality of judgement a person may have.

    I have considered Obama, Hillary and McCain and it is my conclusion that Obama’s common sense, training , experience and judgement make him the best choice. I think that his ability to communicate is a huge plus. World wide he will have the credibility of have opposed the biggest bunder in US history and we need to start getting along with the rest of the world.

    McCain has a hot temper and is superstitious which I think will hamper his decision making and relations with others. He was not book smart at USNA . He was not an ace pilot. I claim his war record is exagerrated. He is in denial and obstinate in his view that the Iraq war was a noble and worthy cause.

    In the military, orders need to be followed without question right or wrong. For a fighter pilot the mission must be completed. In that context we have a maverick who was a raunchy party boy at the USNA who has gotten good at promoting himself. “Top Gun” was a great movie but this is real life.

    Obama is cool and cerebral. That is what I think that we need.

  18. Um, I’m sure that you feel you have made quite the eruditical case for your own experience, brilliance, and the greatness of your candidate, gasdocpol – but I have to say that all you have proven to me is that you are utterly impervious to any view but your own and completely unable to recognize and then reconcile the flaws in your own arguments.

    Also, I think you might have stayed at a Holiday Inn recently, to judge by your own self promotion.

    So, since it is obvious you really don’t have anything of substance to show me that would add to any argument, there’s really no point in continuing a discussion with you.

  19. Of course there’s no such disorder that I cited – yet. (Maybe there will be if some psycho-pharm develops a pill with no place to sell it.)
    And, now Doctor. All the more, you portray your contempt when you cite your background and credentials. As you did that, you surrendered all political objectivity, and registered you contempt for one man as jealosy (It seems a raisson d`etre). Well, thanks for joust.

  20. airforce wife

    You said that I did not know dip shit about the military. I answered that charge . Was there a flaw in my answer?

    McCain is the one that I think has self-promoted. I researched his military record with an open mind. His performance at the naval academy, in flight training and in combat was not distinguished. If I am mistaken , please enlighten me.

    McCain’s survival of 5 1/2 years as a POW was commendable but so was that of “Papillon” at Devil’s Island for 14 years. In neither case did that seem like a major qualification to be President.

    I insist that the number of years of experience is not the bottom line and can be very misleading.

    You have made up your mind and do not want to become confused by facts.

    Are my facts in error or have I indulged in fallacious reasoning?

    I have no problem admitting when I am wrong.

  21. It’s amazing to me that you began this argument by portraying this as an attempt by the GOP to fool Americans.

    Obama’s “common sense” is astonishing when it comes to proposing the doubling of capital-gains tax (hopefully you won’t be subject to that one otherwise you best call your broker and sell now). Moreover; saying “Iraq was a mistake” is an opinion, sir.

    I love the idea that liberals have. Let’s just catch one man – Osama bin Laden – and that’s going to fix it all! But when a man harbors and funds terrorism while keeping control of the fungus that the swamp surrounding it lives off makes a purposed bluff to the U.N. about WMD, let’s ignore it. Let’s show them that we vow to remain virtuous and pure no matter how long we have to sit with our necks in the sand waiting for the next bomb.

    Your group – the Obama crowd and all his supporters over at moveon.org have harangued Bush for the last eight years on his military experience. You have downplayed his grade scores at Yale, his service has been yammered on by Max Cleland, Bill Maher, Moveon.org, etc., etc., etc.

    How much did liberals have to say about any appointment to the Supreme Court, any appointment to the office of Secretary of State, John Bolton’s appointment as ambassador of the U.N. with regard to experience.

    You’re on the wrong blog (though you’re welcome to say whatever you want here) if you are complaining that Republicans are questioning experience after eight long years of watching the moveon.org nuts build that structure. They set it up, they used it against Bush for eight years. THAT’S who you should be mad at.

    Now – I notice you downplay experience; BY GIVING YOUR OWN “EXPERIENCE” on the matter.

    What is this? Calculus? One negative cancels out one positive. If you’re using “experience” to talk against “experience”, wouldn’t that mean your argument cancels itself out?

    Finally, Obama’s point was not that “experience” was not important. He actually came out and claimed to have MORE experience than Clinton and McCain.

    It’s a very different argument.

  22. Gawd. Gone for a week and look what all I miss!

    AFW- great job.
    Steve- good to have you back. Bet you’re glad tax day has come and gone. 🙂

  23. Good grief. I didn’t get that many comments the entire time you were gone, Steve. And you beat the shit out of me in a single post. Hope tax days went well. Welcome back.

  24. And I think you might be warming up to McCain dude. I can help you out if you want to follow my lead and make a financial contribution to the Senator.

  25. please excuse my upper case letters but it is to distinguish my answers

    It’s amazing to me that you began this argument by portraying this as an attempt by the GOP to fool Americans.

    IN 2000 THE GOP PROPPED UP AN INEXPERIENCED,UNINFORMED FAILED BUSINESSMAN AND GOT HIM IN THE WHITE HOUSE.

    IN 2008 THE GOP IS PROMOTING A PSEUDO WAR HERO WHO IS IGNORANT ABOUT ECONOMICS AND IRAQI POLITICS

    Obama’s “common sense” is astonishing when it comes to proposing the doubling of capital-gains tax (hopefully you won’t be subject to that one otherwise you best call your broker and sell now). Moreover; saying “Iraq was a mistake” is an opinion, sir.

    TOO MUCH MONEY IN TOO FEW HANDS IA BAD FOR THE ECONOMY IN BOTH LONG AND SHORT TERM.

    IRAQ INVASION WAS THE WAS DUMBEST MOST PERVERSE IDEA IN THE HISTORY OF THE USA.

    I love the idea that liberals have. Let’s just catch one man – Osama bin Laden – and that’s going to fix it all! But when a man harbors and funds terrorism while keeping control of the fungus that the swamp surrounding it lives off makes a purposed bluff to the U.N. about WMD, let’s ignore it. Let’s show them that we vow to remain virtuous and pure no matter how long we have to sit with our necks in the sand waiting for the next bomb.IT WAS MORE REASONABLE GOING AFTER OSAMA THAN SADDAM BUT I ADMIT IT IS NO PANACEA.

    Your group – the Obama crowd and all his supporters over at moveon.org have harangued Bush for the last eight years on his military experience. You have downplayed his grade scores at Yale, his service has been yammered on by Max Cleland, Bill Maher, Moveon.org, etc., etc., etc.

    I ADMIT THAT MANY SMART PEOPLE GET LOUSY GRADES IN COLLEGE. SOME PEOPLE LEARN A LOT EVEN WHILE GETTING BAD GRADES . THERE IS NOTHING TO INDICATE THAT GW BUSH LEARNED MUCH IN COLLEGE.

    How much did liberals have to say about any appointment to the Supreme Court, any appointment to the office of Secretary of State, John Bolton’s appointment as ambassador of the U.N. with regard to experience.

    APPOINTING BOLTON TO THE UN IS LIKE SENDING HITLER TO A BAR MITZVA.

    Now – I notice you downplay experience; BY GIVING YOUR OWN “EXPERIENCE” on the matter

    EXPERIENCE IMPLYS SOME THINGS
    IN THE ABSENCE OF EVIDENCE TO THE CONTRARY NAMELY SOME KNOWEDGE AND UNDERSTANDING AND HOPEFULLY JUDGEMENT.

    IN THE CASE OF OBAMA, HIS HANDLE ON INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS WAS DERIVED FROM HAVING LIVED IN INDONESIA AS A CHILD BEFORE HE TOOK COURSES AT COLUMBIA TOGETHER WITH WHATEVER SMARTS HE BROUGHT WITH HIM.

    OBAMA TOOK FACTS AVAILABLE TO ALL OF US AND CAME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT SADDAM POSED NO IMMINENT DANNGER AND THAT THERE WAS A RISK OF A LONG COSTLY OCCUPATION AND IT WOULD IMFLAME ARABS AGAINST THE USA.

    OBAMA POSSESSED THE COMMON SENSE , INTELLIGENCE AND KNOWEDGE TO ARRIVE AT THE CORRECT DECISION. IT DID NOT REQUIRE SPENDING TIME IN SOME SENATE COMMITTEE (TALKING) ABOUT MILITARY OR INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS.

    IF THERE WERE NOT SOME WELL DEFINED TEST, IN WHICH WE COULD COMPARE THE JUDGEMENT OF McCAIN AND THAT OF OBAMA I WOULD BE FORCED TO CONCLUDE THAT THE EXPERIENCE OF McCAIN WOULD SUGGEST THAT HE WOULD HAVE BETTER JUDGEMENT.

    AS FOR MY OWN “EXPERIENCE” I HAVE ALREADY SAID THAT IN THE THREE ENDEAVORS WITH WHICH I AM FAMILIAR HEALTH CARE , BUSINESS AND ABOARD SHIP), DECADES OF EXPERIENCE DO NOT GUARANTEE JUDGEMENT OR PERFORMANCE THAT IS SUPERIOR TO THOSE WHO ARE RELATIVELY FRESH OUT OF TRAINING (AND I INCLUDE MYSELF IN THAT ASSESSMENT)

    ONE CANNOT LOOK AT YEARS OF EXPERIENCE IN ISOLATION WITHOUT SOME OBJECTIVE CONSIDERATION OF WHAT JUDGEMENT, UNDERSTANDING AND KNOWLEDGE HAS BEEN ACQUIRED IN THE COURSE OF THOSE YEARS.

    THE SENATE IS FULL OF WINDBAGS IN BOTH PARTIES WHO SIT AROUND AND TALK ABOUT THINGS. THAT IS NOT TO SAY THAT NONE OF THEM HAVE EXECUTIVE ABILITY BUT NEITHER DOES IT PROVE THAT THEY DO.

    JAMES BUCHANNON HAS BEEN CONSIDERED BY MANY TO HAVE BEEN OUR WORST PRESIDENT AND YET HE MAY WELL HAVE BROUGHT TO THE PRESIDENCY THE MOST COMPLETE RESUME. LINCOLN HAD ONE OF THE SHORTEST RESUME’S.

    You’re on the wrong blog (though you’re welcome to say whatever you want here) if you are complaining that Republicans are questioning experience after eight long years of watching the moveon.org nuts build that structure. They set it up, they used it against Bush for eight years. THAT’S who you should be mad at.

    Now – I notice you downplay experience; BY GIVING YOUR OWN “EXPERIENCE” on the matter.

    What is this? Calculus? One negative cancels out one positive. If you’re using “experience” to talk against “experience”, wouldn’t that mean your argument cancels itself out?

    Finally, Obama’s point was not that “experience” was not important. He actually came out and claimed to have MORE experience than Clinton and McCain.

    It’s a very different argument.

  26. “IN 2000 THE GOP PROPPED UP AN INEXPERIENCED,UNINFORMED FAILED BUSINESSMAN AND GOT HIM IN THE WHITE HOUSE.

    IN 2008 THE GOP IS PROMOTING A PSEUDO WAR HERO WHO IS IGNORANT ABOUT ECONOMICS AND IRAQI POLITICS”

    In 1992, the Democrats propped up a draft-dodging, pot-smoking, big-government, unfaithful horny hick and got him into the White House. (You see how easy it is to ramble on with opinionated ephithets?)

    “TOO MUCH MONEY IN TOO FEW HANDS IA BAD FOR THE ECONOMY IN BOTH LONG AND SHORT TERM. ”

    This is not the USSR. In a communist government, wealth is evenly distributed at the discretion of the government. In a captalist society, we all determine our own destiny by how hard we work and how disciplined we are. This is the part where we realize that Obama is indeed the next “new deal” guy. Socialism is a preposterous failure. People do not immigrate here for communist socialism. They immigrate here for equal opportunity. How you use your equal opportunity is your business….but if another person uses there and does better off financially, then no….you don’t get to double their taxes. That’s preposterous and un-American.

    “IRAQ INVASION WAS THE WAS DUMBEST MOST PERVERSE IDEA IN THE HISTORY OF THE USA. ”

    I disagree. We had a brutal dictator who gassed hundreds of thousands of his own. We had a nut who had been at war with our country twice. He then makes a purposed bluff to the U.N. after 9/11 and you say it’s dumb to respond?

    Let’s revisit 1994. Clinton sent Madeline Albright to North Korea with a basketball signed by Michael Jordan, 2 reactors, and billions of dollars in oil – and what did we get in return? A “promise” from Kim Jong that they would not develop nukes: oh and part of the agreement stated that we could not allow weapons inspectors in for five years. What happened? Of course, we know – they were working on their nukes before the ink was dry on the agreement – with the fuel, money, and technology we provided from them.

    The moral of the story – stop the bullshit appeasement and take out these morons (as we did with Saddam) BEFORE they have the capabilities to wipe us off the map.

    Taking Saddam out was one the best things this USA did for this world. And it is certainly something that no Democrat ever had the balls to do. (Even though George Stephanapolous advised Clinton in 1997 to assassinate Saddam.) All of your Democrats yammered on about how he was dangerous long before GW ever came into office. Talk to them.

    Finally, I’m sorry, you used “experience” to denounce “experience” – by the theoretical laws of Calculus without my help whatsoever you completely cancelled out your own argument!

    “THERE IS NOTHING TO INDICATE THAT GW BUSH LEARNED MUCH IN COLLEGE.”

    How about the Democrats in Congress that refused to vote against anything he did in eight years?

    Obama living in Indonesia is meaningless. That is not indicative of someone who understands the different laws of the states belonging to the United Nations and how those states interact with one another.

    Obama is smoking crack if he can seriously say he is more qualified to handle foreign policy issues over McCain.

    He’s nothing but a badly recycled version of Jimmy Carter. Shall I remind you of the Iran Hostage Crisis Rescue or the endless unemployment lines or his idiocy in allowing the Shah of Iran to be deposed of by a group of Islamic militants that started to flow of problems that haunt us to this day.

    You know, the mess you claim GW handled badly.

  27. 1. I thought that the clinton 8 years were pretty good despite the sabottage by the GOP with that disgracefull impeachment attempt.

    2. Communism with its central planning was a flop. Left to it’s own devices unrestrained capitalism needs SOME regulation or it will kill itself.Competition is good. When everyone does better, everyone does better .

    3.The world would be a better place with Saddam but without GW Bush.

    4. Are you confusing calculus with linear algebra? To be honest, the only time I ever used calculus was in a course in economics and once in a course in international finance that I took on the way to an MBA.

    5. Obama got it right about the proposed iraq invasion and its international consequence. Whether that came from having lived in a foreign country or his own common sense , I cannot say.

  28. 1.) The only sabotage to Clinton was Clinton’s behavior and his lying. The fact that the world was repulsed by him using a White House intern as a human ashtray is a separate issue.

    2.) Competition is not only good – it is great! This is why we need no regulation. Equal opportunity provides growth for all if they have the moral character to actually work for it. If they don’t have what it takes – as many of their competitors do – then it’s their problem. But we don’t “regulate” to unfairly make someone else’s road to the same destination easier.

    3.) Thus; why anyone could never take anything you had to say seriously. Ever.

    4.) No, I too took calculus on my way to my BS and remember it well. On my way to my MBA, there is no Calculus. Coincidentally, I learned about positives cancelling out negatives in high school. The statistics class in college was real fun.

    5.) Obama and you share the same notion that the rest of the world hates us. Consider this – after the U.S. occupation, Canada elected a whole new conservative government, John Howard kept his seat in Australia, France threw out Chirac and brought in Sarkozy, and as Philip pointed out recently, what about Italy’s recent conservative choice in their elections?

    If the rest of the world hated us, Chirac would have won re-election, the liberals would have kept control of Canada, and Kerry actually may have won 2004.

    In reality (sorry to say), the only reason why you think the international community hates us is because of the nuts screaming the loudest like the ladies at Code Pink, Rosie O’Donnell, and Cindy Sheehan. We’re looking for proof of something.

  29. Obama didn’t get anything right about the consequences of Iraq – he wasn’t even in the Senate when the invasion was voted on and he’s voted for the funding measures since.

    He. Wasn’t. In. The. Senate. when the war kicked off. The claim that he didn’t vote for the war is disingenuous. He wasn’t in a position to vote yay or nay, and so it’s a moot point and a hypothetical one.

    As for the rest – pttthhhh.

  30. 1. Clinton lied about sex. Bush/Cheney lied us into the Iraq fiasco.

    2. Before Tedddy Roosevelt came along and “got on the backs of the robber barons ” we had nothing but sweat shops and a few very rich people.

    3. ?

    4. Calculus is the study of things that vary non-linearly if I remember correctly. Positives and negatives are to be found in linear algebra. Why did you bring up calculus? Did i miss something?

    5. I do not think that the rest of the world is impressed favorably by out Iraq experience. They WERE impreesed by Desert Storm and Kosovo

    Obama clearly opposed the Iraq invasions and gave very valid resons why. He said that we needed to get out more carefully than when we went it. He was not for a precipitous withdrawal.

  31. I know I am jumping in late here.

    I don’t care what John McCain did or did not do in Vietnam. That’s ancient history. I am the kind of guy who wants to know:

    What have you done for me lately?

    By the way, we have our own version of John McCain where I live in the form of recently elected Congresswoman Jackie Spiere (sp.). She was in Guyana in 1978 when Congressman Leo Ryan was assassinated by the People’s Temple crew. Jackie Spiere took a few bullets herself and nearly died. She plays that up often. But, I don’t care about 1978 and her bullet ridden backside either. The same goes for her:

    What have you done for me lately?

  32. 1.) Clinton lied (we can end it there) and sex wasn’t all he lied about. Moreover; there was no “lie” involved with Bush and Cheney with regard to Iraq. That’s a liberal myth with no proof to support it. Again – your Democrats that voted to go to war all saw the same intelligence. You act as if Bush did this all by himself. As if he could have made a decision that would immediately make Democrats cringe without any regard for sending to the Senate for a vote (but boy wouldn’t that be a beautiful world!)

    2.) That’s not true. In fact, most economists believe that the great depression would have ended on its own. Nothing you say or stand for is backed up by the idea of capitalism or free-market. It’s whooey without the work ethic to actually realize your potential. Moreover; it is Republicans that have indeed been responsible for minorities elected to higher positions of power in government (by their own merit and qualifications – no handouts, no special treatment.)

    3.) !!

    4.) I brought up calculus to make light of the fact that you cancelled out your own argument.

    5.) Again – I gave you facts about the rest of the world and they certainly are not voting in step with the Obama crowd. Obama clearly opposed Iraq? So what? Shall we make Rosie O’Donnell President? (God I just shuddered) I’m sure she’s traveled around much more than Obama has.

Leave a Reply

