A CALL TO ACTION

Ladies and gents – let’s not kid ourselves.  The GOP is in deep poop. Republicans lost a seat in the US House in Mississippi last night in a special election.  So what?  I’ll tell you “what.” The district was carried by Bush in 2004 by 25%.  Consider also that Republicans lost a seat in Louisiana that had been GOP for 33 years in another special election weeks earlier.  Or consider that the Republicans lost former GOP Speaker, Denny Hastert’s, seat in another special election this year.  Again, it was a seat in a solid GOP district that Republicans had held for decades.

I’m posting now in response to Rush, Hannity, Levin and others who made a “call to arms” today.  These losses this year in 3 supposedly “safe” GOP seats is an indicator of how far the GOP in Congress has strayed.  Unless the conservatives in Congress disavow the wayward “moderate” tendencies of the RNC and the national party goons, we are doomed.  You would have thought that Congressional Republicans would take a hint when Dems swept into control in 2006.  They didn’t.  Instead, they continue the failed strategy that rendered them a minority.

We WILL lose more seats and assure the Dems of decades of rule unless something is done now!  It’s time to cut to the chase and forget the BS.

Republicans in Congress need to embrace fiscal discipline, disavow global warming crap, dump entitlement programs, speak out against government expansion/regulation and adhere to traditional conservative principles.  Forget the RINOs and “extending a hand across the aisle.”  Conservatives in Congress need to dump party leaders who hold them back and take to the steps of Capitol Hill with a bold, conservative agenda prior to the elections.

We can’t do anything about McCain.  He will be the nominee.  And he is our best hedge against libs for now.  As soon as a Dem is elected to the White House, 2-3 Supreme Court justices will resign and will be replaced by even more liberal nominees.  We can’t take that chance.

But it’s time to stop the hemorrahaging in Congress and make a few gains. How can we not see these three stunning GOP special election losses and not be concerned?  If conservative, Republican congressmen and women do not heed this call – if they stick to the RNC’s strategy and remain silent, then they doom themselves and this nation to failed, liberal rule.  Even if McCain wins in 2008, it will mean little in light of a massive GOP loss in Congress.

I urge every conservative blogger to echo this call and this sentiment.  The Republican base is fed up.  They will sit at home on election day and allow the Dems to overrun the GOP in the elections.  Consider this a warning to all Republicans in Congress – no seat is safe now.  Until you stand up, buck the Rockefeller wing of the GOP and reach out to your true base, you are an endangered species.  You have been warned, and you better take heed.  Let this serve as your “notice.” We’re pissed.

A major political earthquake is about to occur unless you stand on the steps of Capitol Hill and proudly declare your independence from the moderate, status quo wing of the GOP.  You need to vocalize a detailed, conservative agenda. And you better do it now.

20 thoughts on “A CALL TO ACTION

  1. I agree. We got snaked by ‘Blue Dog Democrats’ who are really Republicans at heart.

  2. Well, it was a narrow win for the Democrat and moreover; please read Coulter’s column on this just released tonight – it explains how just one day earlier – with its allegiance to Obama, the NY Times managed to accuse the Republican in Mississippi of racism.

    anncoulter.com

  3. The racism charge – being thrown about with wild abandon now – really gets to me. First, because it doesn’t matter if it is true, it is assumed to be true. They did that with Charlton Heston. And he was the first person in Hollywood to stand in solidarity with the Civil Rights movement!

    Second, because everything is racist now, apparently. If you want someone who isn’t a Democrat to lose, you call them a racist. If you ARE a Democrat, then it’s perfectly fine to have a background in the KKK like Byrd.

  4. Nah – I use the “f” word too much when I get irritated like that. And the a word, the s word… If it’s in the alphabet…

    My grandmother has spent my lifetime utterly despondent over my penchant for swearing like a sailor and laughing like a horse. It’s just not ladylike.

  5. Diggin’ a hole? Is this from my liberal friend who calls himself a libertarian in order to avoid conservative debate? 😉 back at ya.

  6. Well Steve, I held my nose and visited Ann’s website for the very first time ever – just for you. I agree with her assessment of the NYT and the fact that the Dems will play the race card in this election. But I’m surprised you didn’t jump on my bandwagon here. I almost included an acknowledgement to you in this post.

    I think we are all missing the point here. So let me redirect the discussion back to my original thesis. THE GOP IS IN TROUBLE.

    Despite the use of race in this particular instance, it still does not explain away all three special election losses by the GOP candidates. I’m sure the RNC would like to justify the losses in each case by saying it was the race card or a poor candidate. But that’s bunk. Most folks in the first district of Mississippi probably don’t even read the NYT. I am disappointed that Coulter ignores the bigger picture in the MS loss.

    The GOP is losing races because people are fed up with the GOP brand right now. Traditional conservatives like the good folks in MS-1 are pissed with the GOP and are demanding something more than what the establishment Republican Party is offering (at least that’s my take of these 3 losses).

    We need people to join the chorus of others like myself. We need to call for a return to traditional conservative policies, and we need our folks in Congress to quit acting like they are still in the majority. Because they are NOT. And there is a reason for that. Until they acknowledge that and lay out a bold plan to turn things around, the GOP is doomed to further failures. And the folks who broadcast their voices across the net, TV and radio owe it to the conservative rank-and-file to stop making excuses for the GOP in Congress!

  7. You see, this is where I think we divide. I do not think that the GOP has operated at its optimum – that is where we align.

    What I think we are forgetting is the fact that all Republican issues have virtually been corrected:

    1.) We aren’t angry about outrageous taxes because we don’t have them.
    2.) We aren’t angry about attacks because Bush has stopped those.
    3.) Republicans got crime under control.
    4.) We got two wonderful Supreme Court Justices.
    5.) We began winning on issues like guns (traded in for hideous smoking bans I will concede to).

    Basically, Phil, the country has marinated in Republican successes for the last twelve years (since Clinton’s Republican Congress). Most of those issues; Phil, aren’t issues anymore because our people came in and fixed them.

    Let’s not take credit away and abondon our party as if they have been incompetent.

    The ones screaming are the ones who want socialized health care. The ones who think gas prices have to do with President Bush. The ones who believe we are in a “bad economy” right now because of gas prices and the fact that many individuals’ houses are in foreclosure due to the fact that mortgage brokers were slipping through 250,000 loans for kids right out of college in recent years.

    Unions Phil have had to cave to the pressure of economic evolution given strength by NAFTA that holds true to the free-market supply and demand efforts. Democrats are screaming now because laborers at Ford are no longer able to retire at 55, and tell us that teachers still need more when they make plenty of money and retire off of our property tax money.

    The NY Times, political liberals, and people like Michael Moore are screaming the loudest right as we keep hearing about how Canada has a surplus. We hear that Canada has a great program for health care and how their economy has “boomed” for years.

    What they don’t tell us is that Canada taxes the hell out of their rich. What they don’t tell us is Canadians on average pay a lot more in taxes and that many of Canada’s most successful are moving to the United States now to take advantage of our tax policies.

    They don’t tell us that Canada’s surplus is 100% attributable to U.S. exports.

    So while I agree that the GOP could have used some fine tuning in the area of spending and ignoring the whining of liberals, I will not buy into the idea that they have ruined our country in any way.

    The “bold plan” you refer to will have to materialize with dire consequences for the American people under liberal policy. A bold materialization that requires so much vividness that not even the NY Times can ignore.

    And whether or not you’re willing to accept it is one thing. But I contend, that Obama or Clinton will do what it takes to shine this vivid light. I also contend that McCain plus a liberal congress would do it as well. Thus bringing us back to our original disagreement of McCain whose only chance to convince me is by selecting a good-enough vice-president to muddle us along for four years.

    The screamers and people like NY Times have us now convinced that GOP has done this horrible job. But we really are not screaming back because our issues that we’ve won on and corrected aren’t issues to us anymore.

    Now, it’s about race. Pure and simple. The media is so in love with Obama – the most unpatriotic and un-American presidential candidiate possible, that it managed to once again prey on the black folks in Mississippi with its insane proclamations.

    This is our country now and the only way to deliver a “bold plan” is by allowing Americans to feel the consequences of stupidly trusting the media and foolishly standing by while they and Soros re-defined what it meant to be a Republican by handing us John McCain as a presidential nominee.

  8. I’m coming back to a thought I tossed around when McCain became the “presumptive” nominee. I think we need to lose this election; Congress, the White House, governorships, state houses, the whole shebang. Nothing motivates or gives you perspective like a good ass-kicking.

  9. A lot of conservatives theorized that the GOP needed to get their butts kicked in 2006. Losing the majority in Congress would “teach them a lesson.” I could be wrong, but it doesn’t appear to have made a difference. They are still acting like Democrats and seem pretty content to be in the minority.

    How many more elections do we need to lose? Do we need to be obliterated so that we can deal with another 40-50 years of liberal rule?

  10. I’m not saying I like it, but it’s what is going to happen. 2006 was a bitter pill, but a small one. I think 2008 is going to be big ol’ honking horse pill that give us the flush out we need to get ready for 2012. No matter which of the three Democrat candidates are elected, I hope they only get one term.

  11. By the time 2012 rolls around, it will be too late. We will be about 70 seats down, the Senate will have a super-majority and we’ll all be screwed. I’m sad that more conservatives aren’t calling on the Congressional GOP leadership to adopt a sense of urgency. It’s unsettling and makes me wonder why I even bother.

  12. You guys – 3/4 of the problem has nothing to do with Republican politicians in general. Let’s review the biggies for the 20th time:

    Let’s not forget the following:

    Because of the media, most of American thought and still thinks Tom Delay is a crook (though he’s never been convicted).

    Because of the media, people still think the Bush administration outted Valerie Plame.

    Because of the media, people think we are in Iraq over oil and that gas prices are because of Bush.

    As I said before, short-changing all of the good Republicans have done to say that we “deserve” a defeat is out of the question. Reagan himself did things that we massive mistakes. Every politician makes mistakes sometimes.

    But Republicans have not brought any defeat onto themselves. They’ve kept out taxes low, kept us safe for many years, got us new court justices, laid the groundwork for Democracy in Iraq – which I might add was supported by many Congressman.

    Saying we are losing because we are “bad” is quite similar to something I’d hear out of Arianna Huffington.

    You’re scaring me!

  13. Sorry about the misspellings…I was out with some friends tonight. 😉

    But I think you get my drift.

  14. “But Republicans have not brought any defeat onto themselves.”

    Do you wanna think about that one for a bit and get back with me?

  15. Condoleezza Rice once said in an interview:

    “I am enough of a historian to realize that things thought to be brilliant policy have turned out to be really stupid and things regarded as really stupid have turned out to be brilliant policy.”

    You held me up and critized me heavily for opposing John McCain. I opposed John McCain because he actually campaigned with top Democrats to foist stupid policy onto our country. Now, you want to hold Congressman from Mississippi responsible for these things, yet are angry with me when I say I cannot support John McCain for President?

    I’m sorry. As I sit here I am so confused.

    Your arguments are good, Phil. But if you truly believe those, as I am sure you do – then you have made a stronger case for rejecting McCain as your Presidential nominee than you have at convincing me that the Republican party as a whole have been as incompetent.

  16. First – to clear matters up: I am not angry with you. I’m just very frustrated and equally confused. I feel like I’m talking to myself sometimes.

    We are both on the same side as far as our values and ideology are concerned. But we seem to come to two very different conclusions when it comes to the GOP – the party that is our best and (for now) only hope of plausibly advancing those values.

    On the issue of McCain, we are not too far apart when you get down to the roots. I have spent a good deal of blog time over the past 2-3 years expressing my frustration and outright disdain for many of McCain’s votes, actions and proposals. I did not want McCain as the GOP nominee. The difference now between you and I now is our levels of acceptance given the fact that McCain won out.

    I simply believe that we have to play with the hand that we were dealt. We support McCain realizing that he is much better than either Hill or Barack. I hope that he will get into office and that we can agree with 60-70% of what he does. More importantly, he would have a better chance of making sure that we don’t get more Ruth Bader Ginsburgs on the SCOTUS. That is my primary concern. Liberal judges on the court could mean disaster for generations.

    I’m hoping that McCain selects a solid, younger conservative as VP and will step down after one term to allow that person to be the new standard-bearer. There’s no guarantee that will happen, but it’s a better potential scenario than 8 years of Obama.

    As for Congress, I am focusing on the lax attitudes and status quo mindset of the GOP leadership. I have already explained all of that in two posts, so I won’t reiterate it here. I would just add that GOP scandals and their coziness with lobbyists have also hurt us. And 2006 really didn’t seem to teach them a lesson regarding that either.

    I’m not singling you out. It’s just that the main voices here on GayConservative regarding this issue have been you and me. Our discussions are a microcosm of what is happening nationwide within the GOP. And its an important discussion to have.

    I’m a conservative first, and a Republican second. But it’s hard for a conservative when they don’t have anyone in DC representing the conservative voice. Without power, we can only sit on the sidelines and make noise.

    So, yes – I am interested in preserving the GOP. We can’t afford to let the Dems have a 100+ majority in Congress while simultaneously holding the White House. We need to keep the GOP in power, try to narrow the gap and demand reform. We need to replace the aging “old guard” with new conservative blood.

    Steve, to be honest I’m really scared about what is happening to the GOP. I don’t sense any urgency from the leadership. When are they going to announce real reform? When are they going to clean house and rid themselves of unethical members? When are they going to demand fiscal discipline? I appreciate what they have accomplished since 1994. I just want to see them get back to that place.

    I still love ya. But I’m just a month or two away from being in panic mode over all of this.

  17. “Second, because everything is racist now, apparently. If you want someone who isn’t a Democrat to lose, you call them a racist. If you ARE a Democrat, then it’s perfectly fine to have a background in the KKK like Byrd.”

    Airforcewife

    Or an avowed segragationist like Strom Thurmond. The Democrats have one set of rules for themselves and a completely different set of rules for everyone else.

    If I were running for President and cozyed up to someone like the Reverend Wright, then I’d be history in no time.

Leave a Reply

