Madonna Divorcing Guy

Yes as tragic as it is, it seems like only yesterday when the press was camped outside of the church they were marrying in.

Ya know, here we are again – three kids (one from her trainer and the other adopted from Malawi) removed from a familiar existance.

Tell me, why do celebrities even get married?  Is it so they can divorce and use the media attention as career boosters?

As a performer though, I shall vow to love her forever, but I do have a personal question to ask my friends who show up regularly.

On this topic, I’ve received a wedding invitation for someone I’ve know most of her adult life who is indeed on her third marriage.  I’ve attended the other ceremonies, gave up weekend days of rest and relaxation, gave money or expensive gifts before.

How many times are we obligated to attend weddings of friends when they have a proven track record of picking bad mates? 

Perhaps it’s a question for Dr. Laura.

9 thoughts on “Madonna Divorcing Guy

  1. For me, the bride or groom who invited me is the determiner. If the friend or relative who sends me the invite is genuinely enthusiastic about his or her upcoming union, and the invite is clearly extended in sincerity with a wish for me to share their joy, then I buy a gift and, if convenient or important, I attend — whether this is the couple’s first wedding or their fifth. Life is hard. Joy and commitment should be encouraged. Plus, it’s likely the bride and / or groom will spend much more on the guests than the value of most guests’ gifts (as long as self-expense long-distance travel is not involved). However, if there is any hint that the invitation was sent as a routine gift-collection ritual, I send a nice card — likely from the 99 cent bin — with a sincere, handwritten couple lines wishing them a joyful ceremony and future.

  2. I think MikeinSedona hit this one dead on.

    I buy my good friends birthday gifts (or make them) even though I know they are going to keep having birthdays every year.

    If I really disapprove of the person they are marrying, I probably won’t spend as much, though. Sounds terribly mercenary of me, but that’ s how it ends up.

  3. “How many times are we obligated to attend weddings of friends when they have a proven track record of picking bad mates?”

    It’s her third marriage. What about the groom? Is it his first marriage?

    If two people are on wedding number two or more then a full blown wedding is not the usual custom. But, there is no rule that says a full blown wedding is not allowed.

    If the groom is getting married for the first time then treat as if it were her first marriage too. This wedding might be more for his experience. So, he deserves the full on blitz of it all.

    I speak from family experience here. Both of my older sisters married men who were previously married. They had the traditional church wedding with all the props. Why should they tone it down because their fiancees have been there and done that?

  4. “Tell me, why do celebrities even get married? Is it so they can divorce and use the media attention as career boosters?”

    I’ll go you one better. Why do they marry other celebrities or wannabes? Being in the limelight allows you to meet a lot of people including people who have nothing to do with the entertainment business.

    Since there is so much to chose from, why not date a person with no career aspirations in the entertainment biz?

  5. Thanks John!

    I don’t know the groom at all. And I do think this may be his first wedding. But I will think that over.

    🙂

  6. “I don’t know the groom at all. And I do think this may be his first wedding. But I will think that over. ”

    If this is his first time to the hitching post and his fiancee is on lap number three then maybe he needs to think it over.

    Meow. Purr. Meow.

  7. Steve-

    I’ll have a third marriage someday- since I’m in the process of divorce number 2. I will not, however expect gifts, nor will I have a large wedding. But I’m going to also be inclined to marry someone who has more than likely been previously married. Sometimes, the third time’s the charm.

    🙂

  8. “Sometimes, the third time’s the charm. ”

    I know you were directing your comment to Steve.

    I am with hubby number 2. Yeah I blew it the first time around. But hubby number 2 and I have six years together. BTW, I am his number 2 as well.

    From what Steve posted, this person gunning for wedding number 3 doesn’t seem to take marriage all that seriously. That’s the issue.

Leave a Reply

