Cookin’ Up Some Grub With Barack

As stupid as this is, it really is so obvious.

“Obama would get more barbeque invitations than McCain”

Okay – at the risk of sounding racist, it really is obvious that black folks can whoop the white folks asses when it comes to barbeque, dancing, singing, and basketball.  I won’t even go there!

But just as General Wesley Clark pointed out that being a POW doesn’t necessarily make someone qualified to be commander-in-chief, I contend that being Chef Boyardee doesn’t necessarily qualify someone either.

I would also like to point out that Republicans have done very well not responding (by in large) to Wesley Clark’s comments about McCain.  In essence, Clark’s comments were accurate, it’s just interesting that he was willing to bring it up in the case of John McCain in 2008, and not in the case of John Kerry in 2004.

9 thoughts on “Cookin’ Up Some Grub With Barack

  1. Clark’s comments weren’t so much accurate as they were petty. There is a difference between those two things and outright lying.

    There is also the manner in which he said it – and it was meant to be demeaning while not necessarily outright being demeaning.

    What’s interesting to me about this (and I can’t WAIT for Shawmut to analyze this one, because I know he’s seeing and understanding things in this I’m not) is that Clark was the epitome of a political general – he’s no stranger to the game. He knew how this would be interpreted and that it would effectively end his bid for VP (leaving Tony McPeak, an uncomfortable subject we can explore later in depth).

    Clark didn’t do this on a whim, and he has not backed down from it, either. The person hurt most by these remarks has been Obama, not McCain.

    There’s got to be something there we aren’t seeing.

  2. AFW – Oh, I am certain that his intent was not logical – afterall he is a liberal.

    I am sure it was meant in a negative way toward McCain – afterall he is a liberal.

    I was just making the point that he didn’t realize that he solely confirmed many conservative arguments against Kerry in 2004 – afterall he is a liberal.

    I think you get my point.

    🙂

  3. Well of course I get your point! But the Irish in me won’t let me stop arguing and talking about the point! Whatever the point is! And there doesn’t even have to BE a point! 🙂

    Oh, and speaking of barbecue… Best. BBQ. EVAH – I had it in Memphis while we were visiting Graceland.

    To die for.

  4. Ohhh, I love BBQ. I have to get you guys to Chicago sometime…

    Taste of Chicago is almost over this year, but we Chicagoans are known for our love of grease and flavor.

    You, Phil, Mike in Sedona, Shawmut, Jenn, it’s a date!!!!!!

    🙂

  5. “But just as General Wesley Clark pointed out that being a POW doesn’t necessarily make someone qualified to be commander-in-chief, I contend that being Chef Boyardee doesn’t necessarily qualify someone either.”

    John McCain’s POW days are long behind him. He’s done much more than that in life. When it comes to runing for office I am with Janet Jackson:

    What Have You Done For Me Lately?

Leave a Reply

