PC Texas-Style

I heard this one on the local radio –

At a recent meeting of city officials in Dallas County, Texas, a small racial brouhaha broke out. County commissioners were hashing out difficulties with the way the central collections office handles traffic tickets. Commissioner Kenneth Mayfield found himself guilty of talking while white. He observed that the bureaucracy “has become a black hole” for lost paperwork.

Fellow Commissioner John Wiley Price took great offense, shouting, “Excuse me!” That office, the black commissioner explained, has become a “white hole.”

Seizing on the outrage, Judge Thomas Jones demanded that Mayfield apologize for the “racially insensitive analogy,” in the words of the Dallas Morning News’s City Hall Blog.

You’d have to understand Dallas city politics.  I’m sure Steve will understand – it’s a lot like Chicago.  A lot of hot air, bickering and very few accomplishments.  But this one really struck me as funny.  Goldberg notes in his article –

Call me nostalgic, but there was a time when this sort of stupidity actually generated controversy. Remember the Washington, D.C., official who used the word “niggardly” correctly in a sentence only to lose his job? That at least generated debate.

But these days, stories like this vomit forth daily and, for the most part, we roll our eyes, chuckle a bit, and shrug them off.

Obviously, there’s something to be said for ignoring the childish grievance-peddling that motivates so much of this nonsense. But the simple fact is that ignoring political correctness has done remarkably little to combat it. Meanwhile, people who make a big deal about it are often cast as the disgruntled obsessive ones.

I guess.  Maybe I have become cynical.  I was outraged over political correctness several years ago, but now I’m one of those that just rolls my eyes.  I’m not sure that is the best course of action though.

In Britain this week, the National Children’s Bureau advised that day-care centers treat aversion to unfamiliar foreign food by children as “racist.” It was also reported that two children were punished for their bigoted refusal to kneel and pray to Allah in a religion class.

This strikes me as something beyond mere tolerance. This is will-to-power masquerading as tolerance. This sort of thing needs to be resisted, because there is no end to where thinking like this can lead. Indeed, if it doesn’t cause too much offense, one could even say it’s a black hole.

Goldberg is right.  If we become numb to this type of PC BS and the thought police, then we open ourselves up to a society that is moving towards decay under the auspices of multiculturalism and sensitive speech – just like the UK.  I guess it’s just difficult to get pumped up and outraged anymore when this type of thing seems to happen every single day.

3 thoughts on “PC Texas-Style

  1. John Wiley Price needs to lose his job, and needs to shut his trap. He’s completely obnoxious.

    I can’t believe what I just read about what has gone on in GB. I think if I were a parent I’d be a tiny bit peeved- in that Texan sorta way!

  2. Black hole is not allowed eh?

    So when the sun goes down we can’t say, “It’s sure real dark out there when there is no moon?”

    What do we say instead?

    If you are driving in a snowstorm and you can’t see five feet in front of you or to the side of you is that a White Out?

  3. I grew up in a military city. The word “Spook” referred to individuals who worked on Top Secret military matters. They were not allowed to talk about their work.

    I moved to CA in 1989. Boy did I get an earful when I used that term in the context of how I learned it.

    I had no idea the term Spook was a racist put down of black people.

    What was ironic was the term Spade was a very bigoted term where I came from. But in my part of CA just as many black people were ignorant of the term as were offended by it.

Leave a Reply

