I’m In Looooove!

Rarely do I watch political speeches as they’re happening.  I didn’t watch Michelle’s or Barack’s; I saw them later on YouTube, after their much-anticipated appearances fizzled and sputtered into nothing.  But last night I watched Sarah Palin’s speech as it happened, and I found myself jumping up and down in total bliss.  Some of my favorite little snippets:

“They are the ones who do some of the hardest work in America…who grow our food, run our factories, and fight our wars.  They love their country, in good times and bad, and they’re always proud of America.  I had the privelege of living most of my life in a small town.”

“When I ran for city council, I didn’t need focus groups and voter profiles, because I knew those voters, and knew their families, too.”

“And since our opponents in this presidential election seem to look down on that experience, let me explain to you what that job involves: I guess a small-town mayor is like a ‘community organizer,’ except that you have actual responsibilities!”

“Here’s a little newsflash for all of those reporters and commentators–I’m not going to Washington to seek THEIR good opinion!”

“Sudden and relentless reform never sits well with the entrenched interests and power brokers.  That’s why true reform is so hard to achieve.”

“I got rid of a few things in the governor’s office that I didn’t believe our citizens should have to pay for.  That luxury jet was over the top.  I put it on Ebay.  I also drive myself to work.  And I thought we could muddle through without the governor’s personal chef, although I’ve got to admit that sometimes my kids sure miss her!”

“If our state wanted a bridge, we’d build it ourselves.”

“The only difference between a hockey mom and a pit bull is LIPSTICK!”

Wow.  What a woman!

4 thoughts on “I’m In Looooove!

  1. My favorite line was, “To the most powerful office on earth, he would bring the compassion that comes from having once been powerless.”

    Classic.

  2. Mine was:

    Paraphrase: “one man has used “change” to promote his career while the other has used to career to promote “change.”

    This was the best speech ever.

Leave a Reply

