The Great American LoveFest

Good readers, I missed my Sunday philosophy missive!  Overtime be damned!

Tolerance.  It’s a word we hear every day.  Be more tolerant.  We need to show more tolerance.  Intolerance should be banned.  YOU need to be more tolerant.  I can’t stand you, you’re SO intolerant!

Sound a little sillier as it goes on?  It should.

You’ve likely seen the banner/t-shirt/mailing label with the four interlinked hands of different colors that comes with the words “teach tolerance.”  I always want to violently regurgitate when I see it, because I have this image in my head of a group of anti-war protesters in Berkeley wearing keffiyehs (the scarves worn by Palestinians to show solidarity against Israel) screaming about “tolerance” while they literally spit on and otherwise assault conservative counter-protesters.  I can’t stand the symbol because it is indicative of two of the biggest hypocrisies in America.  Between the two, I think this one is the worst.

I’ve talked to people whose families have cut them off and shown the utmost contempt for the sin of thinking as a political conservative.  I’ve had coworkers and former friends turn their backs on me for not seeing things from their liberal point of view.  I’ve read articles about liberals who claimed that the Bush Presidency actually pushed them into a state of depression that required medication.  Am I the only one who thinks there’s something that really stinks about all of this?

I’m sorry, but if politics can ruin your day, you need to get a hobby.  If they can ruin your life, you need to be on a thorazine drip.  And if you have the temerity to demand that others be more tolerant when you are incapable of giving what you demand of others…you’re likely a Barack Obama supporter.

Where’s YOUR tolerance?  Is that reserved merely for those you think to be somehow put upon by society?  Yes, I believe in gay rights, but not so much so that I’m willing to cross over to the legions of liberal soldiers demanding tolerance only for themselves.  “War is wrong!  Stop it!  Bring our troops home now, you murderers!  Learn to be more tolerant of other cultures!  I HATE YOU!!!”  It’s absolutely ludicrous when you look at their behavior and match it to the message they espouse.  It’s a living, breathing oxymoron.

The whole “hands across America” thing, I guess, is for liberals only.  Get indignant, get hysterical, scream until you can’t scream anymore then have your kids do it for you–all to make sure that you’re the only one in the room that anyone can hear.  Yep.  That’s tolerant.

I guess the message here is that resistance is futile.

12 thoughts on “The Great American LoveFest

  1. Where’s YOUR tolerance? Is that reserved merely for those you think to be somehow put upon by society? Yes, I believe in gay rights, but not so much so that I’m willing to cross over to the legions of liberal soldiers demanding tolerance only for themselves. “War is wrong! Stop it! Bring our troops home now, you murderers! Learn to be more tolerant of other cultures! I HATE YOU!!!” It’s absolutely ludicrous when you look at their behavior and match it to the message they espouse. It’s a living, breathing oxymoron.

    This will be a bit of-topic…

    This blog obviously supports the pick of Sarah Palin, but I have yet to see a comment on the fact that her church promotes conversion of gays. I’m kinda curious if you’ve seen that and/or what your thoughts are on the subject.

  2. Palin’s isn’t the only church that does that. The vast majority of Christian churches do.

    I can’t speak for Steve or Phil, but I grew up in that culture. I grew up believing that gays and lesbians needed to repent and convert. I know what it is that makes them think that way, but it’s a far cry from really being homophobic. Some churches certainly are, but you’d be hard-pressed to find a church–despite what they think about the issue–willing to openly humiliate any person. The Ted Haggard issue is proof positive that they’d rather keep it quiet and slowly try to convert any homosexuals among them to their way of thinking.

    Some of my old church friends tell me they pray for me. They’ll ask me how I’m doing, and sometimes they almost look dejected when I tell them I’m doing well. I don’t believe in trying to shock them, because it validates what they think. The best way to change that way of thinking is to do what they do–quietly soldier on, and slowly change their minds by the way we live.

  3. Right Chen –

    Moreover; I am certain not every member of Obama’s church spoke on homosexuality as if it were godly.

  4. Palin’s isn’t the only church that does that. The vast majority of Christian churches do.

    Really? I suppose you’d know better than me, but if it’s a 6/halfdozen scenario on the churches thing, I guess then you’d eliminate that as an issue. That makes sense if its true.

    But comparing the tickets in general, what about the rest of the LGBT issues? (pdf)

  5. Chen:

    1.) Proposition 22 in 2000 passed overwhelmingly in California keeping marriage man-woman by the same voters that voted for John Kerry and Al Gore.

    2.) Oregon voted in favor of the Federal Marriage Amendment. Another huge liberal state. In that same year, Bush only got 37% of their vote.

    3.) Arizona (red state) voted AGAINST the ban.

    4.) Kerry, Edwards, Gore, etc., etc. etc. basically none of them agree with gay marriage.

    Gay issues aren’t a party issue. They are a “people” issue.

    It’s just that one of the parties portrays themselves as saviors in crucial times needed to win votes.

  6. And I am not quite sure if everyone knows this, but in response to the court ruling, Proposition 8 in California is going on the ticket for a vote again basically asking the same questions Californians voted in favor of in 2000.

    We shall see.

  7. Gay issues aren’t a party issue. They are a “people” issue.

    Steve

    Amen to that!

    I am an Episcopalian. I am openly gay. My parish is probably half Republican and half Democrat give or take 5 percentage points.

    Guess what?

    Our Priest is openly gay. We love him. He is a good priest. We knew he was gay before we hired him.

    We hired the best person we could find for the job. So what if he is gay?

    So, should the conservatives in my parish get ridiculed for hiring a gay man? Is it o.k. for straight conservatives to hire a gay man but it is not o.k. for gay conservatives to do the same thing?

  8. “And I am not quite sure if everyone knows this, but in response to the court ruling, Proposition 8 in California is going on the ticket for a vote again basically asking the same questions Californians voted in favor of in 2000.”

    This is the big issue this time out.

    The pro same sex gay marriage forces are running one of the biggest hate fests I’ve seen in my life. I am ashamed.

    The quick and dirty version:

    If you don’t support same sex marriage then you are a hate monger.

    If you exercise your legal right to contribute to the the anti same sex marriage campaign then you risk a boycott.

    If you are not for us (same sex marriage), then you are against us.

    When this election is over the people of CA have to learn to get along with each other. This election campaign will insure that doesn’t happen. How would you feel if someone called you a hate monger?

    Right here and now Kern County (Bakersfield) stopped performing civil marriage ceremonies for all couples. This is legal. Other counties can do the same.

    Evangelical Christians are getting married and refusing to sign their marriage licenses. I don’t get the point of doing that. No license means no marriage in the eyes of the state.

    There are a lot of angry people. This is not good.

  9. John in CA – you’re from the same area as my family!

    Just over the line, anyway. They’re in Tulare County. Not Visalia.

  10. Double amen to that, Steve. It genuinely is a people issue. It knows no political boundary. I know hardline Democrats in Texas and Alabama who are as liberal as you can imagine–except when it comes to gay rights.

    And John, that doesn’t surprise me. I’d rather have my rights with respect and dignity, not at the end of a lynch mob.

  11. Air Force Wife – I live in the San Francisco area. That’s about 3 hours from the Central Valley and Tulare County.

    Mel – I am with you on that. I work with people who favor same sex marraige and those who oppose it. Hate monger is not a label I’d give to any of them.

  12. You’ll have to forgive my friend Chen there. He doesn’t understand that there is a difference between one’s politics and one’s faith.

    To the libs of the world like Chen, they are one and the same. In Chen’s world, politics is the only real thing of lasting importance and the prophet Obama is King.

Leave a Reply

