I’m a Cowboy, Baby–I Wanna Pick My Punishment!

I had to take a break from my uber-long gay hate crime analysis to gripe about an unbelievable little scrap of news I just choked on. It would appear that Robert Ritchie, a.k.a. Kid Rock, is having a very public hissy fit because he’s not going to get his way. I’m sure we all know that Rock got into a truly redneck-inspired brawl at an Atlanta Waffle House earlier this year, right? Well, the judge sentenced him to 80 hours of community service. Rock said he wanted to get credit for performing for the troops in the Middle East. Judge Alvin Wong said no way, no how–Kid Rock has done it many times and enjoys it too much.

So the wannabe tough-guy rock star (have I mentioned yet that Tommy Lee handed him his backside in a fight on national TV?) posted a weepy rant on his website in which he said this:

Apparently he thinks it’s more important that I do something else rather than sing, shake hands, take pictures and spend time with the men and women who put themselves in harms (sic) way to protect the very freedom he and all of us live by. I really take it as a slap in the face, and really have trouble thinking of a better way to ‘serve the community,’ especially at Christmas time when it’s obviously the hardest time for our soldiers to be away from their families and home (and I try not to think about it when I’m there, but it’s a little freaky being in the middle of a war zone!).”

Woah. That was deep. I tell ya, Kid, our hearts all bleed peanut butter for ya. We’re just outraged. You mean to tell us that horrible judge won’t let you sing your 80 hours of community service away? Say it ain’t so!

I hate to tell you this, pal, but community service is supposed to be something you wouldn’t ordinarily do and wouldn’t enjoy. That’s the whole point. It’s PUNISHMENT. You are basically expecting a judge, whose duty is to interpret and uphold the law, to allow you to get credit for feeding your damned ego. Grow up and get over yourself, you pussy. I’ve got a seven-year-old niece who understands the concept of punishment better than you do. And lemme tell you, if Boy George had to pick up trash, so do you. Get crackin’!

One last piece of advice, Kid…when you go to the Middle East, don’t get on that stage in front of our troops and whine about it to them. They won’t take kindly to it.

Kid was gracious enough to post the contact info on the front page of his site for the judge for his equally whiny fans to drop a note and voice their distaste. Here it is, guys, send this man some love for doing his job and doing it well:

DeKalb County Court

Judge Alvin T. Wong

556 North McDonough

Suite 2240

Decatur, GA 30030

(404) 371-2591

atwong@co.dekalb.ga.us

5 thoughts on “I’m a Cowboy, Baby–I Wanna Pick My Punishment!

  1. AFG met Kid Rock while in Iraq – he was incredibly gracious to the guys.

    That said, community service most certainly is NOT supposed to be something enjoyable.

    But if Kid Rock wants to keep up helping the troops in his service, why doesn’t he see if he can work in the DFAC on one of the bases for his 80 hours?

  2. I don’t have any issues as to whether he enjoys his community service. I’d rather see some good come of what he does. Even if he sings for the troops, he has to convince them he is singing because he wants to sing and not because a judge is making him sing.

  3. “That said, community service most certainly is NOT supposed to be something enjoyable.”

    I would think being forced to do something for no pay or minimal pay would not be enjoyable in and of itself.

  4. I would think being forced to do something for no pay or minimal pay would not be enjoyable in and of itself.

    I enjoy my volunteer work. VERY much.

  5. I enjoy my volunteer work. VERY much.

    Air Force Wife

    They key there is you volunteer. Nobody makes you do that work.

Leave a Reply

