Oh Really????

Despite the fact that Saturday Night Live tends to focus an overwhelming majority of their political potshots on Republicans, I still enjoy the show from time-to-time.  For those of you unfamiliar with SNL – The “Weekend Update” segment of the show occasionally features a series called “Oh Really?’ where the “anchors” choose a person(s) who has done something boneheaded without any thought of the ramifications of their actions.  The mocking of the bonehead in question is merciless and hilarious.

I couldn’t get this out of my head as I read this article posted on wcbstv.com

In a swift about face from her views as New York’s senator, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton is now hammering Israel over its treatment of Palestinians in Gaza.

As First Lady, Clinton raised eyebrows when she kissed Suha Arafat.

Since she was then seeking a Senate seat the resulting brouhaha caused her to “re-think” her positions.

“I’m a very strong supporter of Israel,” Clinton said back in February 2000.

On Thursday, as Secretary of State she had yet another about face in the form of angry messages demanding Israel speed up aid to Gaza. Jewish leaders are furious.

And then comes this reaction to Hillary’s about-face –

“I am very surprised, frankly, at this statement from the United States government and from the secretary of state,” said Mortimer Zuckerman, publisher of the New York Daily News and member of the NYC Jewish Community Relations Council.

“I liked her a lot more as a senator from New York,” Assemblyman Dov Hikind, D-Brooklyn, said. “Now, I wonder as I used to wonder who the real Hillary Clinton is.”

OH REALLY?????

So you elect Democrats who are merely paying lip-service to American Jews with their “support” of Israel and then expect that these createns will hold true to their word?  You elect a guy who diminishes the Iranian threat and supports measures to stifle the war on terror, then expect he will stare down Hamas and support the state of Israel?

OH REALLY?????

I have frequently mentioned Mark Davis here before.  He is our local conservative talkshow host on WBAP 820 AM and is a sometimes-guest fill-in for Rush Limbaugh.  Mark has often wondered how American Jews have become such a reliable constituency for the Democrats.  He believes, as do I, that those Jewish voters have a “cavalier” attitude towards Israel.  In other words – these Jewish voters have decided that their domestic political interests outweigh any allegiance they may have towards the state of Israel and their heritage.  Davis believes that this is their right and their prerogative.  I agree with that.

But, when I hear of American Jews suddenly disenchanted with the anti-Israeli actions and rhetoric coming from the Democrats – I am dumbfounded to the point of hysterical laughter.  What planet must you be on to believe that the Democrats will ultimately stand behind Israel?  Their neophyte President aligned himself with anti-Semites and doesn’t have any record on anything of national significance – much less foreign policy.  Yet a big majority of Jewish voters took a gamble.  And now they will lose out –

Clinton’s decision to hammer Israel comes as the Clintons and President Barack Obama are planning to give the Palestinians $900 million toward the rebuilding of Gaza in the wake of the Israeli offensive that was sparked by Hamas rocket fire.

The majority of American Jews voted for him.  Now they’re stuck with him.  And let me add yet another apology to Steve regarding this election.  Steve was beside himself that Hillary would be the next Secretary of State.  I responded with hope that she would temper Obama’s foreign policy.  I was wrong.  Hillary Clinton is as morally bankrupt as the rest of her party.  She will toe the Obama line evidently. Democrats have historically shown a propensity to change positions as often as most people change their underwear.  And Hillary’s husband was the poster child for such maddening fickleness.

So yeah – “really.”  I doubt this will change any hearts amongst the Jewish Dems.  And I’m sure that the Democrats and Obama will temper rhetoric sufficiently to curb some of the criticism.  After all – they need the money and votes that come with the Jewish community in America.  Thank God Netanyahu’s rise to power coincided with this election.  The Israeli people will need his strength and courage to offset the damage that will be done by Obama’s policy towards Israel.  I truly believe providence is at work.

9 thoughts on “Oh Really????

  1. I did a little dance when I read that Benjamin Netanyahu had been officially elected. He is the only one capable of doing what really needs to be done.

    Here in America, we’re stuck with the reanimation of LBJ and Carter. Might I add, Philip, that Carter wrote a book in support of Hamas, he’s met with them multiple times, and his fellow Democrats hail him as a hero for doing so.

  2. That is what’s amazing, Mel. Democrats at the highest level have not hidden their disdain for Israel and their support for Palestinians who seek to destroy Israel. And yet, the Jewish Democrat lobby is alive and well in the US. Frankly, it disgusts me.

    I am trying to persuade my friend Avi to guest-write a post on this subject. He has a very interesting story and has already privately commented on this post. Seems that there is some buyer’s remorse in the Jewish community when it comes to Obama.

  3. And to think all this time I thought gays and lesbians were the only ones getting wonderful hugs from the Democrats followed by a dagger in the back.

  4. It’s interesting to look at the denominations of the Jews who voted for Obama. I’m Modern Orthodox and most of us vote Republican. Of course, we’re far more committed to Israel than our Conservative and Reform brothers and sisters.

    I think it’s also somewhat of a regional thing. Many of us Southern Jews (yes, we do exist) are life-long conservatives and vote Republican. I was raised in rural Georgia by ultra-conservative Jewpublicans. I live in Richmond now and we’re very proud of Eric Cantor. There’s going to be a lot of eye-rolling and “I told you so’s” in the next few years by us Jews down here in the Southland.

    I think that there are a lot of similarities between being a Jewish conservative and a Gay Conservative – I’ve often thought so while following your site. I’ve particularly appreciated your posts on Israel.

    Keep up the good work.

  5. Thanks for speaking up, Kira. I agree with you on the Jewish conservative/gay conservative thing…I read a lot of blogs that talk about us as a group of self-loathing traitors.

    I can understand that because the Nazis were fundamentalists (in their own way) Jews would be hesitant to vote that way. However, that brand of fundamentalism and our brand of social conservatism are two vastly different things.

  6. I really like Eric Cantor. It’s shocking how pro-Israel the GOP has been and yet Cantor is the only Jewish Republican in Congress. Very odd. I disagree with his and Michael Steele’s recent attempts to distance themselves from Rush Limbaugh’s hopes that Obama will fail, but I still have hope that these guys will fall in line with the Conservative message. Both guys are true conservatives. I don’t understand their reticence to voice it in a direct manner.

    But everyone has their priorities when it comes to politics. Since you brought up the comparison between gay conservatives and Jewish Republicans, Kira, I’ll throw this out there.

    After I made this post, I fully expected a liberal retort to call me out. Of course, there have been no lib responses to this post. That’s probably because the subject matter involves Israel – a subject that most libs/dems either don’t care about or don’t want to touch out of fear of the fact that the dem position on this issue is publicly indefensible.

    I fully expected a lib to call me a hypocrite for posting this. I wonder how a Jewish American can be a Democrat. And Dems wonder how a gay guy can be a Conservative Republican. I fretted about this until I realized that there is a difference.

    Democrats legitimize those, through their foreign policy objectives and policies, such as Iran, Hamas and Hezbollah who seek the destruction of Israel and the extermination of the Jewish race. The GOP, as a matter of policy, does not endorse gay marriage or adoption, but they also don’t want to kill me. Add to that the fact that most Republicans and Conservatives don’t give a damn about the fact that I happen to be gay and don’t care what I or any other gay person do in our own private lives.

    The parallel really isn’t there. I am really perplexed by the fact that so many Jewish Americans support a political party in this nation that is aloof or even outright belligerent towards the nation of Israel and/or their claims to sovereignty. It really blows me away.

  7. Your post really made me think a lot, Philip. To be honest, I don’t really understand it, either, and I don’t think I ever fully will. The only thing I can think of is that so many Jewish Dems are completely assimilated “secular Jews.” My husband was raised like that on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. They have no connection to their religion other than a love of bagels and lox and they view Israel as just another foreign country, not as our homeland. They just can’t or won’t believe that these terrorists want them dead simply because they’re Jews. They convince themselves that there must be a reason – usually the liberal nonsense that it’s all the fault of the US and Israel. I’m reminded of a quote from “Driving Miss Daisy” (they play – they didn’t put it in the movie). When Miss Daisy found out that the Temple in Atlanta was bombed, she exclaimed, “But we’re Reform.”

    Mel, I don’t think they’re even thinking it through that much. I wonder if you’ve read “Liberal Fascism” by Jonah Goldberg? He’s one of my favorite Jewpublicans. I’m trying to get all my “secular Jewish” friends and family to read it.

  8. To be honest, the vast majority of the Republicans I know who are pro-Israel, are evangelical Christians who think that Jews are going to bring about the second coming of Jesus Christ. Then (although they are a bit quiet about this) they expect them all to convert or die.

    In other words, their pro-Israel stance is based on anti-Semitism. They consider themselves to be the true chosen.

Leave a Reply

