Obama’s Very Own Harriet Miers Debacle

(I have to point out the amazing stupidity of last week. Tammy Bruce, my favorite conservative lesbian and proof that I can’t possibly be single forever because I’m not the only one out there, compiled a list of Obama gaffes all made last week. First he compared credit and mortgages to exploding toasters, drawing on an economic analyst’s comments in 2007. Then he compared AIG to suicide bombers. Next, on St. Patrick’s day, he thanked himself for inviting everyone to the White House during a teleprompter meltdown after the Taoiseach read Obama’s speech over again, after which he insulted the Irish by telling them not to be caught wearing lampshades in front of the cameras. He topped it off on Jay Leno with a horrid “joke”–that he was practicing his bowling skills at the White House and his score was 129, then said, “it was like the Special Olympics or something!” Barkey had a full week. If Bush had been caught saying ANY of these things, he’d have been tarred and feathered.)

I’m sure we all remember Bush’s hare-brained SCOTUS nomination in October 2005. Harriet Miers, a member of Bush’s staff (whom some claimed Bush owed a favor or two), was nominated to take Sandra Day O’Connor’s place on the Supreme Court bench. However, when questioned by lawmakers Miers demonstrated a lack of ability to describe basic Constitutional rights and the laws that support them. Miers was a poor choice, and everyone–even Republicans–let Bush know it. Miers withdrew from the nomination herself to save face.

Obama has just created his own Harriet Miers problem. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you David F. Hamilton.

Per The Other McCain, Obama has nominated David F. Hamilton to sit on the US Court of Appeals, the Seventh Circuit. Hamilton has an impressive record…AS A FUNDRAISER FOR ACORN! Fan-freakin’-tastic. The organization responsible for thousands of cases of voter fraud, pressuring banks to make risky loans to people who can’t afford them, and now breaking into foreclosed homes for the same people who couldn’t afford the mortgages in the first place is where Hamilton got much of his experience. THIS is the change Barkey is bringing? My God. I don’t even want to know how much worse it can get.

Here’s what’s really galling: Republican Senator Richard Lugar, from Indiana, is absolutely ecstatic about the nomination–and the Senate approval of it. If rolling my eyes could make a sound it would be deafening.

Someone get me a barf bag.

God save us from bipartisanship! (Note to those bloggers who have made remarks about Obama suggesting Hamilton for SCOTUS: shut yer freakin’ pie holes! There is no excuse for giving this man any encouragement!!!)

14 thoughts on “Obama’s Very Own Harriet Miers Debacle

  1. ACORN again? ACORN considers it a disagrace so many people are not registered to vote. Discgrace? Were these people denied the chance to register? Were they forbidden from registering? No. They chose not to. Just like I choose to not worship Satan (I could if I wanted to).

    Since when does having a Right compel you to make use of that right?

  2. “If Bush had been caught saying ANY of these things, he’d have been tarred and feathered.”

    Not by you, that’s for sure…

    “The organization responsible for thousands of cases of voter fraud”

    Really? Prove one. Just one case.

  3. I wish someone would get a Bush impersonator to repeat, word for word, some of the things Obama has said. It would be interesting to see the reactions.
    AndyB, NH.

  4. “Not by you, that’s for sure…”

    I beg to differ. I’ve sounded off on him more than once, Robert. If he’d said anything like that “Special Olympics” joke, I’d have led the charge. Anybody, particularly a PRESIDENT, who says anything that heartless deserves a sound tongue-lashing. And the belief that I wouldn’t have said anything about Bush had it been him is not excuse enough to dismiss Obama’s social ineptitude.

  5. So, poking fun at himself is heartless somehow? I’m not getting what it is you want me to be outraged about…

  6. He used the Special Olympics as a joke for under-performing. While we’ve all heard some of the jokes, and I’m sure we all thought they were funny at some point, they’re heartless and unfair.

    I know a kid who won a silver medal in the Special Olympics, and he was prouder than all get-out of that medal.

  7. “He used the Special Olympics as a joke for under-performing”

    And? You act like he called cerebral palsy patients retards. Not to sound calloused, but the Special Olympics are for under performing people, that’s why it exists. If the folks who compete in the Special Olympics weren’t under performers, they’d naturally be in the regular Olympics. I find it odd that, Laura Ingraham, of all people, came to Obama’s defense, saying people that are throwing a fit over this totally innocuous comment need to lighten up and get a life. This is exactly like when people on the left threw a hissy when, during a press conference, Bush asked a blind reporter to remove his shades. Granted, Bush wasn’t poking fun at himself, but it was harmless and stupid…

  8. “anybody…who says anything that heartless deserves a sound tongue-lashing”

    No doubt your tongue has had much practice over the years.

  9. “And? You act like he called cerebral palsy patients retards. Not to sound calloused, but the Special Olympics are for under performing people, that’s why it exists.”

    People who compete in the Special Olypmics are not underperformers. They are the best at their respective sports. If a guy my age who is developmentally disabled can run a mile faster than I can, then who is underperforming?

  10. “They are the best at their respective sports”

    Exactly, and as such, they do not typically perform on the level of MOST people. Anyone who read my comments ought to know exactly what I am saying, and any phony indignation aimed at me would be asinine and you’re just grasping at straws if you’re doing that…

    “If a guy my age who is developmentally disabled can run a mile faster than I can, then who is underperforming?”

    Probably you. That’s like finding a three legged dog that can run faster than a random four legged one. Sure it’s possible, but not likely. Just be honest and face reality. The mentally disabled are classified as such because they didn’t develop like the rest of society. If pointing that out offends anyone, I suggest staying far away from medical journals or, for that matter, high school science books…

  11. “The mentally disabled are classified as such because they didn’t develop like the rest of society. If pointing that out offends anyone, I suggest staying far away from medical journals or, for that matter, high school science books…”

    I don’t think you would see doctors and textbook authors mocking mentally disabled people in their publications.

    I am not ready to tie Obama to a fence and horse whip him over that comment. But it was out of line.

    By the way, as a former league bowler, 129 is a great score for a casual recreational bowler. When I bowled my book average was 160. So, a 129 for me was bad game.

  12. “I don’t think you would see doctors and textbook authors mocking mentally disabled people in their publications. ”

    And neither was I, and neither was anyone else. I’m sorry to see that stating facts constitutes mocking in your eyes. And as I said earlier, you’re grasping at straws…

  13. I wasn’t lashing Obama to a post, either, I merely pointed out that it was in incredibly poor taste and, in context with everything else, had it been Bush, it would be a different story.

Leave a Reply

