Another Texas Revolution

Sorry for the absence.  Vacations, work and such.  I was kicked back into political mode today by the governor of my state who endorsed a Texas House resolution that basically issued a smack-down challenge to the federal government.  Texas Governor, Rick Perry, endorsed a measure by state representative Brandon Creighton to affirm Texas sovereignty in light of increasing strings, demands and intrusions from the federal government.  I especially loved the “Resolved” portion of HCR 50:

therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 81st Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby claim sovereignty under the Tenth Amendment to the
  Constitution of the United States over all powers not otherwise
  enumerated and granted to the federal government by the
  Constitution of the United States; and, be it further

 

         RESOLVED, That this serve as notice and demand to the federal
  government, as our agent, to cease and desist, effective
  immediately, mandates that are beyond the scope of these
  constitutionally delegated powers; and, be it further

 

         RESOLVED, That all compulsory federal legislation that
  directs states to comply under threat of civil or criminal
  penalties or sanctions or that requires states to pass legislation
  or lose federal funding be prohibited or repealed; and, be it
  further

 

         RESOLVED, That the Texas secretary of state forward official
  copies of this resolution to the president of the United States, to
  the speaker of the house of representatives and the president of the
  senate of the United States Congress, and to all the members of the
  Texas delegation to the congress with the request that this
  resolution be officially entered in the Congressional Record as a
  memorial to the Congress of the United States of America.

Reclaiming the 10th amendment.  What a concept.  And this will pass the Texas House.  In fact, one of the sponsors is a Democrat.  This really is a non-partisan issue at its core.  Several other states have pending legislation claiming their sovereignty from Washington, DC.  This one just happened at the right time.

See Governor Perry’s press conference below.

 

I think this is a great message in advance of the coming Tea Parties.  And I hope many other states will follow suit..  It looks like the new conservative revolution won’t be coming from the GOP in Washington.  It will be coming from the grassroots and the states.  I haven’t been a big Rick Perry fan, but this definitely rated as a big plus for me.

God Bless Texas!

7 thoughts on “Another Texas Revolution

  1. I wish you all had better weather, maybe I’d become a Texan!

    I nearly died the three years we lived in Texas, though (one in San Angelo and one in San Antonio). I could NOT deal with the weather! It made me physically ill!

  2. States Rights, imagine that. I’d love to see CA go that direction too.

    The weather in Texas doesn’t turn me off. But from what I’ve been told it is flat from border to border. No mountains. I’ve got to have some mountains.

    Now flat is not all bad. I’ve been told when you are out in the middle of nowhere in west Texas or Nebraska or Kansas at night you can see millions of stars in the sky and sometimes see the city lights of towns that are hundreds of miles away.

  3. Oh, the weather ain’t that bad. You just needed to get outta San Angelo (my little brother is gonna be stationed there following E6 school–hooah!).

    John, camping is incredible in Texas! Every time I go home, we go camping and it is unbelievable. It’s now a requirement that I bring my guitar so we can sing and look at the stars.

    Philip, I was absolutely giddy when I saw this on the news last night. I was sitting in the station, not expecting much, when Greta Van Susteren interviewed Gov. Perry. Oh.My.GOD. Leave it to my home state to give the feds the proverbial finger!

    Don’t mess with Texas!

  4. I love it! I love Texas! I need to come out for a visit, my best friend moved down there last year 🙂

  5. “It’s now a requirement that I bring my guitar so we can sing and look at the stars.”

    Where I live it is harder to see the stars. The brightest ones can be seen. The major constellations are not difficult to spot. But they are all much dimmer due to the lights of six million plus people.

    I’ve been told where you get far away from the big cities and out into an area that is flat, the stars form a dome. You can see stars from horizon to horizon and everything in between.

  6. You need to go to Alpine, TX then John. Alpine is gorgeous. It’s where the Rockies Start. If you don’t like flat, don’t live in the panhandle. If you like trees, live in East Texas and if you like hills and water, and absolute western then the Hill Country is for you. I LOVE TEXAS! I miss her everyday!

Leave a Reply

