The Hate Speech of Liberalism

I know I promised to post my blog about “who’s the real Nazi” yesterday, but I ended up getting tied up and this, I think, requires attention more urgently.

I just had someone send me a message over Facebook telling me to “listen to 1480 AM to deprogram” myself. I told him that, in fact, I HAVE listened to the local Air America network on occasion (which is significant, because I don’t listen to any radio programming very often). The writer did not respond–I don’t think he could handle the fact that I do actually listen to multiple points of view before I make my choice on what I believe about an issue and still tend to come out on the conservative side of things even though I’m a lesbian.

I really don’t think he could take that. What? You’re a lesbian and you say you think for yourself, but you’re politically conservative? Blasphemy! That’s like a cow trying to call itself a butcher! A Jew calling himself a Nazi! A black man calling himself the supreme grand dragon of the KKK!

I’ve had so many people try to shove down my throat the view that if I am gay, I am supposed to be liberal. That’s just the way it is, right? Because all of those conservatives, all of those folks who vote Republican, are hatemongers, right?

I have a particular string of expletives tickling the tips of my fingers, but Steve will have apoplexy if I let them out. I don’t know how I managed to miss this–it happened just last week–but Mike Malloy, a favorite on liberal talk radio, was caught on air wishing for Glen Beck to commit suicide. Not only did he wish for Beck’s death, he wished for him to do it on camera, live, for the whole world to see.

And conservatives are the hatemongers? Tell me, folks, how often have you ever heard Limbaugh, or Coulter, or Malkin, or Bruce, or Hannity, or any other conservative pundit say something so vile? Listen for yourself:

I can’t say I’m speechless, because as you can tell, I’m not. I’m not sure how I feel about this, though. Obviously I’m horrified. I cannot believe that any person, regardless of political affiliation or ideal, would actually say this and mean it. Malloy did mean it. And the fact that the liberal news media has patently ignored it tells me that they don’t care. When Don Imus made his “nappy-headed hoes” crack, he was wrong, and was correctly taken to task for it. But where’s the justice for Malloy’s outrageous remarks?

Of course…there will be none. He’s justified in saying it, isn’t he? I mean, those conservatives are just so…hateful!

Mr. Malloy, I just lost my best friend to suicide on June 13. His ex-wife was probably happy about it because she got what she wanted: sole custody of their son. But I knew my friend to be a giving, loving, empathetic man who cared about the world around him. On Christmas one year I watched him buy smokes and beers for a group of homeless vets that he saw regularly near I-17 and Camelback, then tell them to use the money they’d gotten that day to get some food. There were plenty of things we disagreed on, but we agreed to disagree. I saw the nature God had given him and it was beautiful.

That you can make such a callous, careless remark tells me that you have never survived losing someone you love to suicide. You’ve never had a person you once loved blame you for their death, nor have you ever asked yourself what you could have done to make their lives seem more livable. No matter how much I may dislike a person, I would never, EVER, wish for them to commit suicide because every person–no matter how bad they may be in my estimation–has several others who love them and would be in hell under such circumstances. Having nearly succeeded in killing myself some six years ago, I understand that deep, dark hole my friend was in. And I am appalled that not a single liberal in America has come out and tried to give you the castigation that you rightly deserve.

With the hate speech of liberalism so thinly veiled (if at all), I am once again flabbergasted that so many point the finger at me and tell me that I’m a hypocrite for being a gay conservative. I’m the extremist. I’m the hatemonger.

If you want to know where the hate lies, take a good, long look in the mirror.

UPDATE: for those who might argue that Malloy didn’t really mean it, here’s his renewed call for Beck to commit suicide just two days after his original remarks:

11 thoughts on “The Hate Speech of Liberalism

  1. I think Mike Malloy may be somewhat mentally disturbed. The first time I heard the guy, I was immediately turned off by all the yelling and screaming, and the fact that he was fervently anti christian. This offended me. A couple of years later, I gave him another chance, and I must admit that I found his colorful language and his willingness to spout the phrase “republican pigs” entertaining, but this certainly crosses a line.

    Six years ago, I lost my best friend to suicide. Taking apart his door only to find a lifeless body was the absolute worst moment of my life. I felt angry and abandoned. I cursed at his corpse for being so stupid and selfish, and for leaving me that way. I was a wreck for a very long time, blaming myself for not stopping him, and seeing him in the faces of strangers on the street. The fact that Malloy would call for anyone’s suicide, even an asshole like Beck, is appalling, and I hope he has the decency to apologize, although I tend to agree with you that he most likely will not. This is disappointing to say the least…

  2. “Tell me, folks, how often have you ever heard Limbaugh, or Coulter, or Malkin, or Bruce, or Hannity, or any other conservative pundit say something so vile? “

    Pretty often, actually:

    “Hang on, let me just tell you what I’m thinking. I’m thinking about killing Michael Moore, and I’m wondering if I could kill him myself, or if I would need to hire somebody to do it. No, I think I could. I think he could be looking me in the eye, you know, and I could just be choking the life out — is this wrong? I stopped wearing my What Would Jesus — band — Do, and I’ve lost all sense of right and wrong now. I used to be able to say, “Yeah, I’d kill Michael Moore,” and then I’d see the little band: What Would Jesus Do? And then I’d realize, “Oh, you wouldn’t kill Michael Moore. Or at least you wouldn’t choke him to death.” And you know, well, I’m not sure.” – Glenn Beck, May 17, 2005

    Michael Savage went off on a caller on his short lived MSNBC show on July 5, 2003, telling him:

    “Oh, you’re one of the sodomites. You should only get AIDS and die, you pig. How’s that? Why don’t you see if you can sue me, you pig. You got nothing better than to put me down, you piece of garbage. You have got nothing to do today, go eat a sausage and choke on it. Get trichinosis.”

    Bill Bennet, on his September 28, 2005 radio show, declared:

    “it’s true that if you wanted to reduce crime, you could — if that were your sole purpose, you could abort every black baby in this country, and your crime rate would go down.”

    And on and on. This by no means excuses Malloy’s call for Beck’s suicide, but, you did ask the question.

  3. Malloy is not a good example to look to for liberal talkers. Thom Hartmann is thoughtful, polite, and regularly has more conservatives on the show than liberals. He’s always open to civil debate and he never screams at anyone. He regularly debates Yaron Brooks from the Ayn Rand Institute, Dan Gainor of the Business and Media Institute, Carrie Lukas of the Independent Women’s Forum, Dick Morris, and Jonah Goldberg. If you want an open and educated deabte, give Thom a try, he’s truly the smartest guy I’ve ever heard. And he’s a history buff to boot, so he really puts things into historical context. It’s just a great radio program.

  4. Robert,

    You’re taking all three of those quotes out of context. For example:

    Bill Bennett cited something STATED BY LIBERALS a long time ago which was used as an advocate for abortion. Aborting black babies cuts down on crime – according to white liberals because they believe that poverty causes crime (or they really didn’t care how racist the entire world knew they would look that day). That study done was refuted by our guy John Lott and Bill Bennett MERELY CITED IT TO SHOOT IT DOWN.

    Bill Maher even admitted this and said Bill Bennett WAS NOT advocating killing black babies.

    You know, if you care so much about the liberal wing of the country, at least fess up to the truth. The venom and rage is on ONE SIDE in this country and it’s not with Republicans.

    When I pointed out to you that nobody booed Jimmy Carter during Reagan’s inauguration speech, but that liberals DID during Obama’s speech about Bush, you thought it was great. That same week, liberals were praising Obama for bringing both sides together as there were no horrible demonstrations against him during the activities.

    Until of course they thought a little deeper, the credit for the civility during those weeks was to YOUR opposition. Liberals would never give that kind of respect and Mike Malloy is merely a representation of the childish tactics liberals resort to all the time.

    Nothing new, just more opportunity for you to spin what’s apparent to what you want it to be.

  5. “Bill Bennett cited something STATED BY LIBERALS a long time ago which was used as an advocate for abortion”

    That is of course wrong. Here’s the entire exchange, so as to assuage any concerns that I’m taking anything out of context:

    CALLER: I noticed the national media, you know, they talk a lot about the loss of revenue, or the inability of the government to fund Social Security, and I was curious, and I’ve read articles in recent months here, that the abortions that have happened since Roe v. Wade, the lost revenue from the people who have been aborted in the last 30-something years, could fund Social Security as we know it today. And the media just doesn’t — never touches this at all.

    BENNETT: Assuming they’re all productive citizens?

    CALLER: Assuming that they are. Even if only a portion of them were, it would be an enormous amount of revenue.

    BENNETT: Maybe, maybe, but we don’t know what the costs would be, too. I think as — abortion disproportionately occur among single women? No.

    CALLER: I don’t know the exact statistics, but quite a bit are, yeah.

    BENNETT: All right, well, I mean, I just don’t know. I would not argue for the pro-life position based on this, because you don’t know. I mean, it cuts both — you know, one of the arguments in this book Freakonomics that they make is that the declining crime rate, you know, they deal with this hypothesis, that one of the reasons crime is down is that abortion is up. Well —

    CALLER: Well, I don’t think that statistic is accurate.

    BENNETT: Well, I don’t think it is either, I don’t think it is either, because first of all, there is just too much that you don’t know. But I do know that it’s true that if you wanted to reduce crime, you could — if that were your sole purpose, you could abort every black baby in this country, and your crime rate would go down. That would be an impossible, ridiculous, and morally reprehensible thing to do, but your crime rate would go down. So these far-out, these far-reaching, extensive extrapolations are, I think, tricky.

  6. Also, how do you take a death threat our of context? How do you take homophobic gay bashing out of context? The context is all there; conservatives are hate mongers. I don’t need to convince anybody; the proof is in the pudding…

  7. Not only that, but who are the ones threatening violence at town hall meetings over health care reform? I’ll give you a hint: it’s not liberals! Some bimbo left a voicemail on a congressman’s phone saying something to the effect of ‘you’re going to see the second amendment in action’. The mere attempt by you to portray the left as the venomous and the violent is absolutely laughable. You can’t even be a man and take your own advice and fess up to the hatred that is evident in just three quotes I could think of off the top of my head. I am sane enough to denounce what Malloy said, but you still defend Beck, Savage, and Bennett even though it’s clear that they are full of hate. Apparently everything’s a one way street with you people…

  8. Robert –

    So you are accusing Bill Bennett of having a split personality? The first sentence in the last part says it all, Bill Bennett says he does not think it is true that abortion is responsible for the crime rate lowering, as what is stated in the book “Freakonomics” written by two liberal economists. Bill Bennett’s remainder of his statement points out the fact of the massive difference in crime between races. However; he does it in a sarcastic way to shoot down the ENTIRE point made by those liberals.

    I really wish you’d stop shooting the messengers here. You guys wanted to beat Ann Coulter for pointing out that single motherhood was responsible for A LOT of crime and even on “The View” Ann Coulter was able to explain that black babies grew up without fathers at a much higher rate than white babies and if you remove the factor of single-motherhood that the entire gap between black/white crimes vanishes.

    As I said; Bill Maher told Coulter on his own show that liberals at the time were hurting themselves by denying the obvious fact that Bill Bennett was not advocating aborting black babies.

    If he’s citing a fact and by your own estimations is true and accurate, it’s not hate speech – it’s simply delivering proper and accurate information.

    I do commend you though for calling out Malloy’s insanity.

  9. I guess I need to listen to talk radio. I do not. I prefer modern rock. Is Death Cab for Cutie a good band? Whomever writes their songs does a good job. But the lead singer…I don’t get his voice.

    But I digress…

    I don’t know how Glenn Beck is. Unless he pulls more than a 6.0 share he’s nobody in the media world. None of these people are.

    The same goes for that Malloy person.

    As for aborting black babies, Bill Bennett and Freakanomics (I own that book), that’s all past history.

  10. “With the hate speech of liberalism so thinly veiled (if at all), I am once again flabbergasted that so many point the finger at me and tell me that I’m a hypocrite for being a gay conservative. I’m the extremist. I’m the hatemonger.”

    I don’t know if any Sociologists have studied this. But, it would make for a fascinating project.

    Lesbian and gay people have to battle hard to come out. It’s not easy. Even younger gays who grow up where I live struggle. They live in an area of the U.S. with very open minded views about lesbians and gays.

    So what happens to too many lesbians and gays when they win this battle to be who they are? That’s easy, they surrender who they are to the Gay and Lesbian Group Think.

    Group Think dictates what you belive in politicially and socially. It dictates how you should behave socially and sexually. It even drives how you look. It’s fascinating.

    There are those of us in the gay and lesbian world who refuse to give up who we are after winning this battle to be who we are. It’s not in my character to do certain things in spite of the Group Think.

    Even rebellions against the Group Think are not rebellions. Larger gay men are often known as Bears. They reject this notion of beauty that involves being rail thin, young, and looking like you should be fashion model. But these men have simply incoporated the superficial attitudes about beauty and re-packaged them suit their own needs. This is Group Think.

    So Mel, you have the courage to be who you really are. I know that troubles people who don’t have such courage. This doesn’t mean they share the exact values and beliefs you or I have. What it does mean is they are not living lives based on their own moral code and it bothers them that people do.

Leave a Reply

