Self-Employed Work Longer Hours than Government Employees

This should be the end-all to government intervention.

I sincerely hope everyone watched the Margaret Thatcher videos I posted a few days ago because they completely illustrate the factual findings here which exude the willingness for self-employed individuals to work harder to contribute more to society and to create more wealth to take it upon themselves to help others without the guise of a government mandate to get in their way.

Pass this poll around everywhere you can!

Nearly half of self-employed Americans (49%) report working more than 44 hours in a typical work week, compared to 39% of American workers overall, 38% in government and in private business, and 30% in nonprofit organizations. More than half of government workers (55%) work a traditional 35- to 44-hour work week, making them the most likely to do so.

3 thoughts on “Self-Employed Work Longer Hours than Government Employees

  1. My parents had their own business. They often worked six days a week. Many a night went by when they were out entertaining clients. My sibs and I had to run the house. We learned self reliance.

    I used to work for the Federal government and I worked as hard as the system would allow. I could not work uncompensated overtime. That was against regulations.

    I could not work overtime unless there was funding authorized. I did work it when it was authorized. To be fair, private companies will ban employees from overtime.

    I did sneak in an work uncompensated o.t. on the weekends. I did get caught and written up. Some of you may think, Oh My God!. But, that regulation against uncompensated o.t. was designed to protect employees from being coerced by their bosses to work it. I was not coerced to work it. But, good luck proving that.

    There are hardworking government employees who want to work o.t. But, like their brothers and sisters in the private workforce, they can’t work it unless there is money for it.

  2. John –

    I agree there are well-meaning, decent, and competent Government workers.

    Those social services though which provide the need for the IRS, and other state run services are only possible because of tax revenue from self-employed folks (as you know).

    My objection is Government regulating or placing their hands in the industries of the self-employed. Obviously we need moderate funds and programs set aside for the needy. That’s okay for a functioning society.

    As Margaret Thatcher said in one of those videos, the country would be so much better if we as individuals said “it’s my job to help others” – and I have tried that with people in my life. You then get to know on a personal level if that person really wants the help or not, so then when you cut them off, you don’t feel so bad.

    Welfare doesn’t have that condition and it never has.

  3. “Welfare doesn’t have that condition and it never has.”

    How can it? How do people get screened from a temporary hand up to someone who is a deadbeat and will never work?

    I know a person on welfare has to get a job after two years and after five years the federal benefit gets cut off. So, I guess that is one way to screen the grain from the chaff.

    But, speaking of chaff, how does a society deal with people who don’t want to work and won’t? If such people are cut off from government aid then what? Do we tolerate the homelessness that results? Just how far does this go?

    In reality many deadbeats find someone to sponge off. But what about the ones who do not?

Leave a Reply

