Just A Few More Laws…

The complete ignorance of many people–particularly liberals–when it comes to the subject of guns in the hands of civilians never ceases to amaze me. Tomorrow, a law recently passed here in Arizona allowing CCW holders (concealed carry weapons permit) to carry their concealed firearms into restaurants and bars will go into effect. But as I watched the news last night, I saw a not-so-shocking trend: reporters talking to a small but very vocal group of restauranteurs who are angry with the new law. Out of five local channels I watched, only ONE talked to a manager who didn’t have a problem with the law–ONLY ONE–and each and every one of those channels downplayed an important part of the law.

The law previously banned any and all firearms inside any establishment that served alcohol for on-premesis consumption (meaning all restaurants with liquor licenses and all bars). That part of Arizona gun law was changed, however, earlier this year. Ken Cheauvront, a Democrat lawmaker and restaurant owner, ardently opposed the bill to no avail. The argument is that alcohol and guns don’t mix. “People who are drinking shouldn’t be carrying guns,” they said. “We’re gonna see a huge spike in gun violence and deaths because of this!”

Here’s the kicker: the owners can put up signs that require guns be left in the car. AND, if you’re carrying into a bar, you can’t drink. That nullifies the alcohol-and-guns argument, doesn’t it?

Well, the opponents come back with, “even if I put up this sign, how do I know those CCW holders are going to leave their guns in their cars when they come in here?”

Oh, my. Tell me this, folks–how were you able to tell if someone was carrying a gun to begin with? The bad guys never obeyed the laws in the first place, and they’ll carry their gun anywhere they want. There’s a law banning handguns in New York City, yet I seem to remember a well-recognized NFL player recently getting some serious jail time not just for having one, but carrying it stuffed in his pants into a club, where he shot himself with it.

The CCW holders aren’t the ones to worry about. They’re the ones who will obey the law. They’ll leave their guns in the car if they see the sign, and if they’re carrying they won’t drink. What the hell are you whining about?

I also have to bring up this interesting little factoid. Chicago also has a law banning all handguns within the city’s limits. But did you know that school violence involving gangs and handguns killed 18 students in schools all over Chicago during the 2007-2008 school year? 27 total died in acts of violence carried out with various weapons. And last school year–the one that ended this past May–a whopping 37 were killed, including one who was carrying a gun that was illegal by two rival gang members who were adults.

They’re not supposed to have them, but they get them anyway. And it’s the law-abiding citizens who suffer.

I suppose if we just had a few more laws, though, the thugs wouldn’t be able to get their hands on all those drugs, either.

20 thoughts on “Just A Few More Laws…

  1. “Guns don’t kill people. Stupid liberal legislation kills people”

    And yet, not one of the mass murderers you hear about had Arianna Huffington or Al Gore books on their shelves. Mysteriously, it was only Sean Hannity, Michael Savage, and Bernie Goldberg books…

  2. I have a question. Before this law in AZ was changed, what was broken that needed to be fixed?

    I see this law change right now as fixing something that isn’t broken.

  3. John, the only thing that changed was giving new freedoms to law-abiding citizens who carry legal weapons.

    Robert, please name for us a single mass murderer or shooter who was found with books written by Hannity or Goldberg.

    Goldberg especially…the few times he’s talked about his personal politics, he’s disagreed with the big-name conservatives. The one thing they agree with Goldberg on is the fact that most of the MSM is liberally biased.

  4. “John, the only thing that changed was giving new freedoms to law-abiding citizens who carry legal weapons. ”

    Why would any law abiding citizen wish to carry a concealed weapon into a restaurant or bar? Such places are for fun and enjoyment.

  5. Why would any law abiding citizen wish to carry a concealed weapon into a restaurant or bar?

    Because they can. Same reason we blog. Because we can. Same reason we vote. Because we can. Does our vote or our blogging help or hurt any thing. Probably very little. But so what. We’re Americans. And we can. We have rights. It’s a free country.

  6. “We have rights. It’s a free country.”

    Yes and with rights come responsibilities too. I dread the day someone in AZ goes into a restaurant with a gun in his coat. He takes his coat off. He leaves it on his chair. A small child pokes through the pockets and finds the gun. What could come next I don’t want to think about.

    I sure hope the above never happens and God forbid it does I hope that person can live with his choice.

  7. “Yes and with rights come responsibilities too. I dread the day someone in AZ goes into a restaurant with a gun in his coat. He takes his coat off. He leaves it on his chair. A small child pokes through the pockets and finds the gun. What could come next I don’t want to think about.

    I sure hope the above never happens and God forbid it does I hope that person can live with his choice.”

    Okay, I have not carried concealed in a while but every time I did, the firearm stayed on my person and within my control. If it had to come off my belt/holster for any reason it would have been placed into a secured area.
    I think children poking about in someone’s coat is a bad idea but generally I think children are a bad idea, I mean, I was one once (tongue in cheek, wink wink, nudge nudge, humour being applied here;-)).
    Seriously, anyone NOT being responsible with a firearm (or anything) should be looked at. But you are more likely to be injured by someone texting and driving than a law abiding gun owner in a restaurant or anywhere else.
    Just my two cents here. Thanks, AndyB, NH.

  8. “Robert, please name for us a single mass murderer or shooter who was found with books written by Hannity or Goldberg.”

    James Adkisson. Here’s what he said in a letter just before killing two people in a church in Knoxville:

    “Know this if nothing else: This was a hate crime. I hate the damn left-wing liberals. There is a vast left-wing conspiracy in this country & these liberals are working together to attack every decent & honorable institution in the nation, trying to turn this country into a communist state. Shame on them….”

    “This was a symbolic killing. Who I wanted to kill was every Democrat in the Senate & House, the 100 people in Bernard Goldberg’s book. I’d like to kill everyone in the mainstream media. But I know those people were inaccessible to me. I couldn’t get to the generals & high ranking officers of the Marxist movement so I went after the foot soldiers, the chickenshit liberals that vote in these traitorous people. Someone had to get the ball rolling. I volunteered. I hope others do the same. It’s the only way we can rid America of this cancerous pestilence.”

    “I thought I’d do something good for this Country Kill Democrats til the cops kill me….Liberals are a pest like termites. Millions of them Each little bite contributes to the downfall of this great nation. The only way we can rid ourselves of this evil is to kill them in the streets. Kill them where they gather. I’d like to encourage other like minded people to do what I’ve done. If life aint worth living anymore don’t just kill yourself. do something for your Country before you go. Go Kill Liberals.”

    This lunatic also had books by Sean Hannity, Bill O’Reilly, and Michael Savage in his collection .

  9. 2 people isn’t a mass murderer. Yes he was a douche, but not a mass murder. You have to kill at least 4 people at one time for that, now he might have wanted to kill more people but he didn’t so that one doesn’t count.

    Now even if we make an exception and pretend this guy is a mass murderer; what is the ratio of mass murderers who had books by Sean Hannity to people who had books by Karl Marx and what is the ratio of the number of people killed by mass murderers who had books by Sean Hannity to mass murderers who had books by Karl Marx?

  10. I don’t carry now since I live in Japan but when I lived in the states I did and I would go into restaurants with my gun. I don’t leave it in my coat, people don’t do that, it’s on me at all times and hidden, that’s the point of the carry permit. I don’t know anyone who has a permit that would even think about leaving there gun someplace and walking away, even gang-bangers the Mob don’t do that.

    The bar is different, I never carry in a bar but that’s because I go there to drink and I don’t carry around a gun when I’m drinking, however if I was only there to pick up a friend it might be different.

  11. Better yet, how many nations led by marxist philosophy have been ravaged by state sponsored mass murder?

    I’ve got a book by Gore Vidal and Castro in my house. I also have Bibles, some books in French, a box of crayons and several cookbooks. If I ever become a mass murderer, I’m sure they will have a hard time sorting me out for the news.

  12. Letters is right; two people does not a mass murder make. I think he should fry for his crime, but he’s not a mass murderer. Now I understand what you meant by “I might end up shooting someone I disagree with” when I suggested you read Goldberg–I knew Adkisson had a Michael Savage book in his home, but I was unaware of the Goldberg and Hannity books.

    I, like the vast majority of America, see Adolf Hitler as a mass murderer. Yet I own a copy of Mein Kampf. I believe that most Muslims truly want to see America go down in flames, yet I have the Qur’an and the Hadith. I read points of view that I know I’m not going to agree with. The point?

    TO LEARN.

    Every once in a while, someone does manage to make a point in their writings that makes me stop and think–even change my mind about a long-held belief. I can say that because I’m not afraid of questioning my beliefs or my politics. I honestly think most liberals are deathly afraid of that.

  13. John, I think the fact that the scenario you presented hasn’t happened is proof of the fact that it is not likely to. Many places have had CCW rights for a long time, and it hasn’t happened.

    I think it also goes to prove that the problem is not the legal gun owners at all. And since the problem is not the legal gun owners (those with CCW and those without), I rather find that these laws are just window dressing and a waste of time and law enforcement effort to cover up the fact that nothing is being done to solve the REAL problem of illegal weapons.

    The two are related in the same way that water and wine are. Sure, you can drink them both, but the effects are completely different.

  14. ” I rather find that these laws are just window dressing and a waste of time and law enforcement effort to cover up the fact that nothing is being done to solve the REAL problem of illegal weapons. ”

    I totally agree AFW. I can drive a few miles south down the freeway to a not so nice city and get a gun in less than an hour.

  15. “2 people isn’t a mass murderer”

    I suppose the use of the word mass was a mistake. He was still a psychotic, murdering, conservative hate monger. Debating over the use of the word mass is kind of splitting hairs, isn’t it?

  16. “Now I understand what you meant by “I might end up shooting someone I disagree with” when I suggested you read Goldberg”

    In hindsight, that was a regrettable and poor attempt at humor…

  17. “I’m not afraid of questioning my beliefs or my politics. I honestly think most liberals are deathly afraid of that.”

    Why do you think that?

Leave a Reply

