Idiotic Poll Question Of The Day

So I was perusing the newest poll questions on Facebook (you can find me both there and on Myspace via my name, Mel Maguire, or my email address, animelmaguire@gmail.com), and came across one that nearly made me snort my protein shake all over the keyboard. It gave me a mixture of utter shock and hysterical laughter. Here was the question:

“Do you think Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, and Glenn Beck are traitors and should be tried and put in prison?”

If the question wasn’t loaded enough, here were the possible responses (I kid you not, this was word-for-word):

A. Hell Yes
B. Yes
C. No
D. Hell no, I am stupid and believe everything they say

Now, there was a little bit of talk about traitorism after 9/11 and what constitutes a traitor. Some Republicans even went as far as suggesting that those who wouldn’t support the troops were un-American. But how often did we ever suggest, with a straight face, that protesters who peacefully exercised their First Amendment rights be tried for treason and tossed in the clink?

I can’t think of one. Even Limbaugh, Hannity and Beck didn’t go that far. Hell, Hannity invites those guys onto his show on a nightly basis, and he’s NICE to them. What kills me is that the snot-nosed little brat who wrote this poll question for Facebook users isn’t the first person I’ve heard such a ludicrous idea from. I’ve heard people I thought to be fairly level-headed say these kind of things out loud.

I have to ask the liberals out there who agree with this nonsense: what, pray tell, makes these guys traitors? I’ve said things far worse than what Hannity has said, and I’ve agreed with Limbaugh and Beck in the past. Does that mean I need to go to prison, too? What the hell makes those of us who share these conservative ideals traitors?

(Wait, I forgot…I’m a lesbian and I’m conservative, I’m naturally a traitor!)

Meanwhile, back on the farm…

In a country where even outright threats that include detailed acts of severe violence can go entirely unnoticed, it floors me that anybody can even think that those who obey the law should be punished simply for what they think. How is it that a Muslim can openly call for Jews to be assaulted with drain cleaner, rocks on their windshields and murder and get away with it while the portion of our population that demands tolerance calls for the imprisonment of a group of people simply because they espouse views not in line with their version of “tolerance”?

You amaze me. But here’s what’s really absolutely hilarious about our idiotic poll question of the day…the first choice in the poll? It got 11%. The second? 3.4%. The third?

82.3%.

That was out of 34,141 votes. I guess the view some think is popular isn’t all it’s cracked up to be after all.

(Footnote: RTD protein shakes aren’t all that great when ingested the way nature intended. When you attempt, deliberately or not, to process them through your nasal cavity, they’re really bad.)

7 thoughts on “Idiotic Poll Question Of The Day

  1. (Wait, I forgot…I’m a lesbian and I’m conservative, I’m naturally a traitor!)

    You bet! As am I minus the lesbian aspect.

  2. Sadly, I think that this is the level to which debate has sunk.

    Ann Coulter has, in fact, asserted that everyone criticizing the President during a time of war was guilty of treason. Michael Reagan asserted that 9-11 Truthers (but not all protesters, as far as I know) should be rounded up and shot as traitors.

    That makes Michael Reagan and Ann Coulter idiots, by the way.

    As much as I dislike Hannity, Beck, and Limbaugh and think that they do a disservice to the country … none of them is a traitor. Not even Coulter, Reagan, or (to add one) Michael Savage is guilty of treason.

    But it’s not enough to disagree with someone. These days, we have to hate the person and want him/her rounded up.

  3. I’m not challenging you, Wickle, but I’ve been thinking about this for a few weeks now and listening carefully to see if I could catch it myself: What is wrong with Beck & Limbaugh? (I even like Hannity, sometimes, but he’s a little too repetitive) What disservice are they doing? I guess I just can’t see what they are doing that is so horrible…

  4. Neither can I, Jenny.

    Now Keith Olbermann, on the other hand…well, I wasn’t going to suggest he be tried for treason, but newscasters have lost their careers for far less than what he’s done. Just the other night he called Michelle Malkin “a mashed-up bag of meat with lipstick on it.” He’s a misogynist if ever there was one. He’s the biggest horse’s ass I’ve ever seen in mainstream news, yet he’s making more money than most of his colleagues.

    But Beck, Hannity and Limbaugh are the bad guys. That’s liberal thinking for ya!

  5. Jenny — First of all … a little repetitive? I think that Hannity could do his whole show in 45 minutes if he’d quit repeating himself.

    Anyway … To be honest, I’m not sure how much I want to get into the “what’s wrong with them” question here. I’ve written 500+ word posts on each of the big three as to what my beef is with them.

    In short, though … the biggest problem is that they are part of a coarsening of discourse, and thus a closure of minds and thus dialogue. If liberals are all just stupid and dishonest, then there’s no way to work with them. And yet there used to be Reagan Democrats.

    Beck is paranoid beyond all reason. His major sources of information (such as “The Five-Thousand Year Leap”) are conspiracist in nature. And, of course, there is his obsession with comparing those with whom he doesn’t agree with the Nazis.

    In response to MelMaguire’s point … I don’t see why one can’t think that both Limbaugh and Olbermann are jackasses. That’s pretty much where I come down on the question.

  6. “part of a coarsening of discourse, and thus a closure of minds and thus dialogue. ”
    So… who is elevating the discourse, in your opinion? At least they are addressing specific policies. Any time I listen to Maddow or Olberman or (God forbid) Matthews, it’s nothing but schoolyard pokes and childish jokes. (Teabaggers, anyone? How about Bond-villain comparisons?) That is the discourse visibly coarsening for you. (I didn’t mean for that to rhyme by the way.)
    I may be biased because I listen to all of them. (and Levin) but I don’t agree with them all the time. But I’ve never heard anything that is course. Certainly not on the level of some of the things that are coming out of the mouths of elected officials: “Republicans want you to die quickly”…”are knuckle-dragging Neanderthals”- geez…

Leave a Reply

