Conservatives On Trial

I’m sure we all remember Ashley Todd–the Republican volunteer in Texas who faked a hate crime. She was first discovered by, believe it or not, conservative bloggers who noticed that in the picture of her battered face, the “B” that had been scratched into her skin was backwards. Suspicion that she had done it herself to pass it off as a black-on-white hate crime (the letter scratched into her face was supposed to be for Barack) was confirmed when she confessed. Liberals didn’t know what to do; the hoaxter was called out by fellow conservatives, all of whom became very angry with the display.

On September 12, Census worker Bill Sparkman was found dead under a tree in Kentucky. He was hanging and had “FED” written on his chest. Without hearing any actual facts, the AP and other media sources instantly jumped on the story with both feet, claiming it was a murder perpetrated by anti-government right-wing nutjobs. Even by September 26, a full two weeks after the body was found, not one liberal blogger or MSM talking head had even questioned the idea of the death being a murder. Not one. Even Charlie Gibson reported the story as a murder without question.

FOX was the only network news channel to question the claims of murder. While batsh!t-nuts blogger Andrew Sullivan blamed Sparkman’s death on “Southern populist terrorism” and “FOX and its talk-radio cohorts”, FOX and conservative bloggers were the only ones who questioned what the nation was being spoon-fed. Then, in a move we thought would turn the entire argument on its head, the FBI made the announcement that upon completion of an autopsy, Sparkman’s death was ruled a suicide–he was found hanging, but he was nearly sitting on the ground. What about the “FED” scribbled on his chest? Sparkman wrote it himself with a felt-tip marker. This fact was discovered by comparing his handwriting and looking at the way the letters were written.

It was discovered that Sparkman had taken out a very large insurance policy and killed himself so his son could get the money. In addition to the facts already given, Sparkman appeared to have no defensive injuries whatsoever. Yet when the announcement was made that Sparkman had killed himself and tried to make it look like a hate crime, not one of the folks who tried and convicted every conservative in America apologized. NOT ONE.

Last night, as I watched the news, I saw a trailer for the new “Law & Order”. It included flashed pictures of a body with “FED” written across the chest. The trailer says that a conservative pundit is put on trial for “creating a climate of hate.”

At least we have the gumption to question ourselves. The least you wailing liberals could do is apologize instead of continuing to make it seem as though we’re to blame for everything.

9 thoughts on “Conservatives On Trial

  1. I am one of those people who assumed it was a conservative wack job murder. In light of the atmosphere in that part of the country at that time, it made sense to come to that conclusion. I was obviously wrong. I won’t, however, hold my breath for the collective conservative community to carry that same logic over to the Vince Foster suicide that they still, to this day, claim was a murder orchestrated by the Clintons. Hopefully you really do have the gumption to question that and allay my suspicion that you’re in that camp.

  2. Well, we’re in the camp of non-violent displays of dissent here, Robert.

    Once again, we have an instance where liberals are now throwing tomatoes at certain politicians who aren’t even in power anymore just because that certain conservative’s popularity is gaining again.

    We have Andrew Sullivan leaving the right and goes on Joy Behar last night and they literally spent 10 minutes disgustingly suggesting that Sarah Palin lied about the birth of her son and suggesting she wasn’t vetted properly and she had it easy with the media!?

    WHAT!? Were we all witnessing the same 2008 Campaign?

  3. By the way, Robert. I particularly feel sorry for you.

    I am proud to know you as I am sure John or Mel would as well.

    Through rough debates and nasty invective at times, you’ve always managed to discuss issues without wishing violence on us.

    But these attacks on Palin are so out of line by Sullivan and the tactics like throwing tomatoes and such — I don’t understand how in one minute a group of people can declare her as irrelevant and finished and then care enough to arrive to where we are today.

    I don’t put you in that category by the way and I am sort of stuck in the position Ann Coulter was in when she told her friend, Alan Colmes that as a liberal who was not violent and childish, that he needed to run off and start his own party.

    I suggest you do the same.

  4. When I read about this death I was thinking back to the old days of moonshine, Revenuers (tax agents) and Hillbillies. But even the most inbred Hillbilly knows if you kill 1 Fed then the Feds will send in 100 to deal with it. So, you don’t kill Feds.

    As I have said before I watch BBC World News because it is in my opinion very unbiased reporting. BBC is also less prone to the if it bleeds it leads mantra. But they can get caught up like they did with Michael Jackson passing away.

    American news is more about ratings than anything else.

  5. I thought for about five seconds that the Foster suicide might have been contrived. Then I read the actual evidence. Three investigations found that it was, in fact, a suicide–and it’s nigh impossible to buy off three different investigating bodies. I grew tired of hearing the conspiracy theorists harp on Foster much the way I have grown tired of hearing the same people say, “where’s the birth certificate?” It’s irritating because they’re grasping at straws, and nonexistent ones at that.

    The Sparkman death, while sad, is something that the media picked up and ran with simply because it might possibly have cast conservatives in a bad light. They’ve done it before and will do it again.

  6. “Last night, as I watched the news, I saw a trailer for the new “Law & Order”. It included flashed pictures of a body with “FED” written across the chest. The trailer says that a conservative pundit is put on trial for “creating a climate of hate.”

    Are you sure the commercial said that? I just finished watching this episode, and it turns out the dead guy with FED written across his chest WAS a conservative, murdered by a liberal who worked for an what was an obvious allusion to ACORN.

  7. “By the way, Robert. I particularly feel sorry for you.”

    Why is that?

    “Through rough debates and nasty invective at times, you’ve always managed to discuss issues without wishing violence on us.”

    You know, as much as things may get heated every once in a while, I would never dream of wishing violence on any of you, and I would feel absolutely terrible if, God forbid, anything did. And as much as I hate to be put in the position of defending Sarah Palin, I think throwing things at people is stupid and childish. I mean, what are we, in fourth grade?

  8. Oh, by the way, Steve, I think the technical aspects of the site need work. I signed up for email alerts to replies, and it’s not doing it…

  9. I couldn’t watch the episode last night; I had work to do. I did, however, report the trailer accurately.

    If the episode played out the way you describe, I will eat my words.

Leave a Reply

