The Blob that Ate Tokyo

I’ve been so busy I haven’t had time to think, and now I’m sick as a dog (apparently all the vitamin infusions in the world are worthless if you’re not getting sleep). There is one thing on my mind that I badly want to blog about, but as a member of the EMS community and one who was at the incident in question, I am forbidden from speaking about it publicly, which is very, very frustrating. Instead, I wanted to blog about the healthcare disaster about to play out in Congress today but Cal Thomas beat me to it:

Addressing critics of the bill, President Obama said no one is “going to pull the plug on grandma.” They won’t have to. Grandma will be denied treatment because she will be too much of a financial burden on government. It’s called rationing. Grandma had better start working out, eating lots of oatmeal and hope she doesn’t get sick. Why do you think the president kept mentioning sick children? It’s because children are the ones who will get the most – and best – treatment. Rahm Emanuel’s brother, Ezekiel, has said government has a right to decide how many health care dollars you are worth. And if children with a lifelong taxpaying potential are worth more than grandma who is taking more from the tax pot than she is contributing, that’s too bad for grandma…

Companies sometimes test-market new products in regions of the country to see how well they sell. Government-run health care has been test-marketed in Massachusetts and it is a disaster. The cost of the state’s insurance program has ballooned by 42 percent, or almost $600 million. According to an analysis by the Rand Corporation, “in the absence of policy change, health care spending in Massachusetts is projected to nearly double to $123 billion in 2020, increasing 8 percent faster than the state’s gross domestic product.”

The cost of insurance in Massachusetts is the highest in the nation. Double-digit rate increases are expected again this year. Yet, President Obama claimed Saturday that under the Democrats’ plan, rates will go down. How is this possible? If Massachusetts can’t run a cost-effective health program, how can the federal government? And by the way, the only reason Massachusetts has not gone broke (but is headed there) is because Washington has conducted large transfusions of cash because it has a vested interest in protecting the illusion of Massachusetts’ success.

The president said we should support the health insurance bill out of “a sense of neighborliness and community.” When I was growing up, that meant you, not government, helped your neighbor. Government was a last resort, not a first resource. Never has “I’m from the government and I’m here to help you” sounded more like an empty promise.

Go read his post in its entirety and, if you actually have your voice, please call your representatives and kill this bill.

2 thoughts on “The Blob that Ate Tokyo

  1. The government isn’t our next door neighbor last time I checked (and if they were they would be the ones with the bratty relatives always mucking up my yard but raising a stink if any leaves blow into their yard). My duty as a Christian is to help people in need. That is good. Paying more taxes and fees and rate increases for my own insurance to help someone else is not the same thing.
    I recall hearing that MA was going to have to cut out benefits for a ton of LEGAL immigrants (this was a while back so it may not have passed) because they were so in the hole. But people just keep barreling ahead! If our economy was going great and unemployment was low I would still be against this mish mash of bad ideas and backroom deals. As it is things are bad and the healthcare bill backers are happy to make it worse faster!
    I also like how in news reports it is the health care reformers (Lib Dems) versus the people who are “against health care.”
    Mel, sorry you can’t comment on whatever it is that happened (maybe someone else will clue me in?) but please get some rest and take care of yourself. I regularly run myself into the wall and crash but it’s all part of my “Work until I die” retirement program:-)
    AndyB, NH.

  2. I can’t post anything here about what happened because I can’t be seen as making a public statement about it, but the issue is remarkably unfair to someone I trust and he may well end up losing his career over it.

    We’d all better start a “work until we die” retirement program, ’cause that’s what it’s gonna take to survive when we get older. I’ve never wanted to live too far past about 60 or 65, so I think I’m good.

Leave a Reply

