The Stupak Betrayal

Watching the “Health Care Reform” debate on CSPAN yesterday was agonizing.  As Mel noted, it made my head want to explode.  But what made it even more unbearable for me personally was the concession made that allowed the Dems to garner the votes necessary to pass the legislation.  The GOP’s hopes of defeating this abomination hinged on the opposition of the Democrats’ pro-life dozen including their leader, Rep. Bart Stupak (MI).  As Newsmax.com states, it was an easy fix for Pelosi….

Until Sunday, the Michigan Democrat had insisted that he wouldn’t support healthcare reform until Congress voted to rescind language widely interpreted as allowing the expenditure of public funds to pay for the abortions.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi knew that changing the language would cost the support of other Democrats, however. So she kicked the controversy back down Pennsylvania Avenue to the president, who issued an executive order declaring that public funds would not be spent for abortions.

That last-minute move apparently gave Stupak the cover he needed to support the bill.  Even Stupak knows that Obama’s executive order was meaningless.

Nationally, pro-life advocates and even some Democrats objected that the president’s executive order would be virtually meaningless. It can be rescinded at any time by another presidential order, either by Obama or his successor. Also, by law, a presidential executive order cannot countermand congressional legislation. That means the provisions passed by the House will be the law of the land.

I can take a traitor, but a traitor who poses as a person of principle on an issue that I hold dearly is beyond my ability to forgive and forget.  And I’m not alone.

Susan B. Anthony List Candidate Fund President Marjorie Dannenfelser said the group was revoking its “Defender of Life” award to Stupak, which was to be awarded at its Wednesday night gala.

“We were planning to honor Congressman Stupak for his efforts to keep abortion-funding out of health care reform. We will no longer be doing so,” Dannenfelser said. “Let me be clear: any representative, including Rep. Stupak, who votes for this health care bill can no longer call themselves ‘pro-life.'” 

Bart Stupak is a fraud and a liar.  He doesn’t care one iota about the sanctity of life.  He is one of the lowest forms of human life.  At least you know what you are getting with Pelosi and those on the left who advocate for abortion rights.  But Stupak was a pretender.  His resolve on behalf of the unborn was either a farce or it was not strong enough to withstand pressure.  So he is either a liar or he is a weak-spined individual with no sense of principle.  In either case, Stupak must be defeated.  I would revel in his defeat more than I would in the defeat of Nancy Pelosi herself.

Stupak’s most formidable GOP challenger is Dr. Ben Benishek (although the primary has not been decided yet).  Stupak’s performance on Sunday did not go unnoticed by voters and others who revere life .

Benishek, an Obamacare opponent and political novice running in Michigan’s first congressional district GOP primary, says his phone started ringing before Stupak even completed his remarks.

“Before he was even done talking, people started calling me. They didn’t even want to talk to me much. They just wanted to confirm that I was the guy running against Stupak, and how could they send me money. I just couldn’t believe it,” Benishek tells Newsmax.

Messages of support suddenly flashed onto Stupak’s Facebook page.

“I’m not in Michigan, but even those of us in New York realize YOU have to beat Stupak in NOV!!!!” one visitor wrote.

“I live in Hawaii but I’m sending you my check today,” another stated. “Stupak must go. Please help us take back our beloved country.”

The Benishek for Congress Facebook page, which had gone largely unnoticed, added over 13,000 new members overnight. That compares to Stupak’s Facebook page, which boasts 2,056 fans.

Benishek, a pro-life conservative, says Stupak “obviously caved in” to political pressure, said that within three hours of Stupak’s announcement he had received 2,000 e-mails from newfound supporters. His Web site, benishekforcongress.net, got so many hits that he says it crashed.

Once the primary is decided in that district, I will be donating money to his opponent.  I have a feeling that Stupak really put this race into play by embracing a fix that even he acknowledges is meaningless. 

This is just one more example of what is wrong with Washington.  I hate to sound like a cliche, but it really pains me and angers me.  I think it’s naive to believe that we will ever eliminate the backroom deals and bargaining that seem to be inherent in politics.  But when the bargaining chip involves potentially thousands or millions of unborn babies, things have gone too far.  Stupak will have to live with that fact.  It might bother him one day if he ever really cared.

***  Beneshik has a link on his facebook page where you can donate.  Or you can mail a check.

16 thoughts on “The Stupak Betrayal

  1. I watched some of the debate on CSPAN myself (I was very jet lagged and lacking sleep for 36 hours, so I couldn’t keep up with it).

    I completely flipped a gasket when one of the congressmen (who happened to be a woman) with Stupak prattled off about how (paraphrased) “this is actually pro-life because now a woman can never be denied pre-natal care for lack of insurance.”

    I call bullshit, and I call it because medicaid ALREADY covers all pregnant women without insurance REGARDLESS OF INCOME.

    So that’s a flaming lie she told, because she’s claiming a victory by pointing to something that already existed.

    I have plenty of other beefs with ObamaCare, but that statement enraged me.

  2. I looked up Beneshik also as soon as Stupak. He is either spineless or was using this HC campaign to try to up his image by using the many in the media who were looking for his take on things.

    He’s toast.

    Beneshik may be a newcomer but if the rest of his background checks out, then the people in his district should support him…as will I and millions of others.

    This fight has just begun.

    We need to spread the message all over the U.S. about the IRS investigating whether our lifestyle is covered by enough insurance.

    You know gays are going to take a big hit on that one and we will pay more than anyone else.

  3. Who is with me? This A.M. after sitting on the crapper I decided I am tired of wiping my own butt. I don’t want to do it anymore. But, it needs to be done.

    So, I demand someone from the government follow me around and wipe my butt.

    Since we are headed for a nanny state it is time to get in while the getting is good.

  4. John, sounds good. I’m tired of drying my hands and need someone to do it for me. Can I get someone else to type these messages too? These two fingers get tired;-) Luckily they will be making our choices and speaking for us too so they may as well do something useful! Hehe.
    AndyB, NH.
    PS I think for about $6K you can get a Japanese toilet that washes and dries your butt and the ladies’ version makes noises to cover “embarrassing noises.”

  5. You guys are using the wrong argument. The argument is, “It’s not fair.”

    For instance, “It’s not fair that some people chose to work in sectors with company sponsored insurance and get a better insurance deal.”

    Or, “It’s not fair that I have to pay for my own inhalers when my insurance should cover them!”

    This can progress to, “It’s not fair that some people get to drive brand new Mercedes while I am stuck driving a Mazda 5! There should be a law!”

    And then, “It’s not fair that some people can afford to vacation in the Bahamas every year while I can’t! I demand parity!”

    And so on and so on.

    You have to use the right argument.

  6. But I have been telling people that nothing is fair! Actually I tell them “Life is nothing but pain, suffering and disappointment. Get used to it now.”Then I push them into a mud puddle/snow bank and steal their candy/lunch money. Got to teach them early;-) hehe.
    I am very lucky to have my insurance cover my insulin pump and continuous blood glucose monitor. Both of which have added to my supply costs but have helped me better control my diabetes and presumably lessen the impact later in life on the rest of my body (ie going blind, losing limbs, kidney failure, etc). I suppose that is not fair either.
    I don’t know when it changed that everyone was supposed to get everything instead of working towards it and improving themselves. Clearly I need to learn to “work the system.”
    AndyB, NH.

  7. I don’t know when it changed that everyone was supposed to get everything instead of working towards it and improving themselves. Clearly I need to learn to “work the system.”

    I think it progressed this way:

    First their was The New Deal.

    Then labor unions decided to price themselves out of work by demanding more money so they can live middle class with no credentials that back it up.

    Then came LBJ and his death assault on Freedom.

    Now we have the Obama driving in the final nail.

  8. Here is one aspect of Obamacare that has me laughing my ass off.

    Children can latch on to their parents health benefits until they turn 27!!!

    I guess now the American Pediatrics Association will recommend breast feeding end no earlier than age 15 and toilet training your children should begin at age 17. Since we’ve extended childhood into age 27 why not move some other things back?

    Ever hear of being an adult and taking responsibility for your own life?

  9. John – have you been watching the ever encroaching age and weight requirements for car seats?

    Yep – it is now 8 years and 80 pounds in many places. Pretty soon adults will be required to strap into a 5 point harness system of their own.

    And according to the second Freakonomics book, their own study showed that car seats didn’t really work any better than a properly fitted seat belt for children above age 2.

    And don’t even get me started about a lot of the stupid construction rules (we’re remodeling a house we bought as a foreclosure). My Dad was a City Manager, he HATES the stupid regulations, and says that most of them don’t add appreciable safety measures, they just make contractors more expensive.

  10. “John – have you been watching the ever encroaching age and weight requirements for car seats?”

    I was not aware of that. I thought Obama was going to ban cars and let people who work for GM collect unemployment forever. We can tame polar bears and learn to ride them around town.

    The nightmare world Ayn Rand wrote about in Atlas Shrugged is here.

  11. Okay, now I am laughing at the vision of riding polar bears. Won’t work, PETA will declare them animal companions and give them lawyers (might already be the case in San Francisco)!
    AndyB, NH.

  12. Now some of the house are getting real threats of violence.

    Hard to muster sympathy for traitors.

  13. Right now the song Crawl by Kings of Leon comes to mind:

    “The rat and the fly
    They’re seachin for an alibi
    As we wait the wrath
    They never went to Sunday Mass

    They want to see us crawl
    They went to see us crawl
    Before they walk away
    Before they walk away

    The reds and the white and abused
    The crucified USA
    As every prophecy unfolds
    Oh, hell is surely on its way”

    Hell is surely on its way! You can be sure of that.

    See us crawl? I think not.

    Watch the entire song here. It’s a great song.

  14. When one of my cousin’s daughters turned 6, she was thrilled that she wouldn’t have to sit in a car seat anymore. She hated having to get in and strap herself into it. By the time she was 4 she was sick of that stupid thing, but if she wasn’t in it my cousin would have been pulled over and cited for it – and likely not allowed to drive any further until someone showed up with a car seat to transport her daughter home.

    It’s all part of the government reminding us that they know what’s best and we should just let them do their job in taking care of us.

  15. “It’s all part of the government reminding us that they know what’s best and we should just let them do their job in taking care of us.”

    Isn’t it also part of Who Can Yell the Loudest gets heard? Aren’t bathtubs dangerous places for small children? When they take the bus to school, they don’t wear seatbelts. But if mom or dad drives them to school then they have to wear one?

    If we go around fearing even the most remote of bad things, then what kind of life is that? Who would want to live that way?

    So when people strap their kids in I hope they know they are reducing a danger that was hardly a blip on any radar screen. When they unstrap their kids and feed them dinner, I hope they know the food they cooked is far more dangerous than the car ride home. It’s not any danger to fear. But it is risk of sucking air in this world and having a pulse.

  16. Seat belts and child seats are part of the township fund raisers here in NJ.

    Police will stop you for reasons that you cannot comprehend, but they will find a reason to ticket you. Car seat, seat belt, un-illuminated light over the license plate, speeding in a school zone when children are present, even when no children are present because there is no school in session, etc.

    Just another way to raise money. I noticed that the practice stopped right after our Obama lite, Gov Corzine, was defeated by Republican Chris Christie.

    But for four years we were stopped for anything and everything, the courts were filled, and they collected millions of dollars just running people and their money through the system.

    I look for the same under Obama. Suddenly everything will be a reason to confiscate money. No real crimes but they will find something to keep adding to the govt coffers.

    There has to be a legal way to stop Obama. Treason seems reasonable to me.

Leave a Reply

