Turn On The Tears!

Today, the Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office – known particularly for Joe Arpaio and ICE recently revoking the department’s clearance to directly enforce immigration laws – conducted raids on four McDonald’s restaurants (one in Scottsdale, just around the corner from my home, one in Tempe, and two in Mesa). The news report on the outcome of the raids centered on a swing shift manager, a US citizen, who was handcuffed and briefly detained along with everyone else. Click here and you’ll see her cry her eyes out and incoherently call it a “bad thing” as though it’s a trauma she barely survived.

This is where my “are you freakin’ serious?” attitude comes out.

During training for all three corrections agencies I worked for, I had to practice handcuffing and crisis scenarios. With one agency I got to be the trainer’s assistant, playing the unruly inmate. I was on the SRT for two of those agencies (special response team, SWAT for prisons). I’ve been handcuffed more times than I can remember. One of the things we were taught was that in situations where large numbers of people had to be detained, everyone involved was to be handcuffed for safety purposes…then, once everyone’s identity and level of participation was established, those involved were hauled away while those not involved were freed.

It’s a tactic used by all corrections and law enforcement agencies. Being handcuffed does not mean you’re under arrest – it just means the officers want to know that nobody is going to do anything dangerous while they identify all the people present.

The woman in that news clip bawling over being detained inside the restaurant drives me nuts because I can hear it coming already: I was a legal US-born citizen and you put me through hell! I’m suing for millions!

Know what else it’s gonna mean? “Immigrant rights” groups wailing about how unfair it is to those legally here being asked about their legal status in the country.

In the case of this manager, they established her identity and they took the cuffs off. She was never taken to the paddy wagon, never taken to jail, she was freed on site. If I were working for a place being raided by deputies or ICE agents looking for illegals I would fully expect to be handcuffed until they determined who everyone there really was and sorted us all out. I wouldn’t have a problem unless they actually took me to jail.

If you’re in this country legally, you know to carry your ID with you at all times. If you’re not here legally, then you deserve to get caught and shipped home. It’s that simple. If you get caught up in one of these raids and you have nothing to hide, don’t freak out until they actually take you to sit in jail.

These kind of drama shows for the cameras are annoying.

10 thoughts on “Turn On The Tears!

  1. I love Sheriff Joe, but I wonder…

    Are there no areas in Maricopa county where gang members congregate? No bar, no park, no neighborhood?

    If we are going to expend public resources to catch illegals (and that’s a reasonable task) why don’t they go after the illegals who are more likely to be law breakers with warrants for their arrest? Instead, they go after the low-hanging fruit, and arrest some poor slob working in McDonalds?

    I’m just saying….

  2. I’ve never had training that involved being handcuffed, and am therefore (I would assume) still quite sensitive to it. I’ve never been cuffed, but if I were, and I had done nothing illegal, and then detained for 4 hours, I would be pissed as hell. Especially if I had my papers.

    I’m not saying I would sue over it because I wouldn’t. There would definitely have to be some real misbehaviour/illegal conduct on the part of law enforcement for me to even consider it. And I know that they have a very difficult and stressful job. But being treated like a criminal, whether it’s SOP or not, would piss off most innocent people, even to the point of tears.

    It’s doubtful that she’s truly traumatized, of course. But I know how law enforcement officers can be, very aggressive and so forth, and sometimes when it is totally unnecessary. I have seen it myself. I don’t doubt that from her point of view, it was a very ‘bad thing’, and find her reaction totally believable.

  3. Ken, largely Arpaio’s “crime sweeps” are intended to catch those who have warrants out for their arrests. He has a hotline you can call to anonymously tip deputies to either those working with aliases to avoid capture or businesses hiring illegal workers knowingly. He gets a lot of tips from his many, many posse members, too. Unfortunately the Joe Show is always on play, and he’s a shady dude. It ends up being more of an illegal alien round-up than anything else. Personally, I wish ICE would actually do that, especially with the extreme number of drophouses in operation in Maricopa County, but either way I think MCSO resources are being used too much for this dog-and-pony show.

    Longviewcyclist, I agree, LEO’s can be aggressive, but given some of the crap they have to deal with I can respect it. It’s in their training.

  4. It’s in their training, and often necessary. Of course, they deal with criminals. It’s when it’s unnecessary that I personally don’t respect it. Not saying that it wasn’t unnecessary with some of the folks at the MickeyD’s, but was it necessary with this particular woman? When I say aggressive, I’m not just talking about cuffing. She might have been cuffed for all of 60 seconds, for all I know.

    They said she was detained for 4 hours, and she had her papers. How long does it take to verify? If this report is correct, she has a right to be pissed, in my opinion. But like I say, that doesn’t translate into a reason to sue. Not by a long shot.

    I understand that things look different from each side’s point of view (law enforcement’s and the detained’s). To you and to law enforcement, her reaction may seem contrived or overly dramatic. But it seems totally credible to me, as a person who has not been in law enforcement, hasn’t been arrested/detained, or had any of that kind of training. That’s all I’m saying.

    Overly dramatic is this chick, seriously:

  5. Well, crap. The link didn’t show up. It was to a video you’ve probably seen, anyways. Lady getting tasered after being a total jackass to a cop. Now, SHE deserved what she got, LOL.

  6. Let’s see if this’ll work:

    Yes, she did deserve it. And the continued screaming and wailing is absolutely ridiculous. I’ve been tased, once the shock is over it’s done with. This is why I should never be a cop: if I were that uniform, I would yanked her to her feet if she’d refused to get up the first time.

    Oy.

  7. hehe.

    I would have liked to have see what you would have done to her. Sadistic of me, I suppose…

  8. ” Instead, they go after the low-hanging fruit, and arrest some poor slob working in McDonalds?”

    That poor slob is taking a job from a teenager who needs a summer job. Illegals take jobs like those at McDonald’s and choke them off. Flipping burgers is not a career. It’s a starting point to bigger and better things. When someone chokes that job off, they choke off someone’s opportunity to enter the workforce.

  9. “They said she was detained for 4 hours, and she had her papers. How long does it take to verify?”

    A common tactic of illegal aliens is to use the identity of a family member or friend who is legally here. Any person can have a driver’s license and Social Security card. But that does not mean Jane Johnson is THE Jane Johnson. The real Jane might be letting her cousin/sister/aunt use her name.

    I don’t know if it takes four hours to verify such things. Maybe if you are at the end of the line it can take four hours to get to you.

  10. “That poor slob is taking a job from a teenager who needs a summer job. Illegals take jobs like those at McDonald’s and choke them off. Flipping burgers is not a career. It’s a starting point to bigger and better things. When someone chokes that job off, they choke off someone’s opportunity to enter the workforce.”

    That’s an awfully expensive employment program, and one that lacks honesty. The argument that immigrant workers takes jobs away has been disproven conclusively for the past 50 years, but is a canard that continues. Fact is that employers continue to hire immigrant adults because they are better workers. But that is not the topic of this conversation….

Leave a Reply

