Tempering All Good Things in Arizona

Well, knock me over with a feather…the New York Times editors have not only read but published an article that explains why there’s nothing really wrong with SB 1070, Arizona’s new law giving police officers in the state the tools to combat illegal immigration. Here’s an excerpt:

State governments aren’t allowed to get involved in immigration, which is a federal matter. While it is true that Washington holds primary authority in immigration, the Supreme Court since 1976 has recognized that states may enact laws to discourage illegal immigration without being pre-empted by federal law. As long as Congress hasn’t expressly forbidden the state law in question, the statute doesn’t conflict with federal law and Congress has not displaced all state laws from the field, it is permitted. That’s why Arizona’s 2007 law making it illegal to knowingly employ unauthorized aliens was sustained by the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

The State of Arizona isn’t immune to stupidity, though. Before SB 1070 was passed and signed into law, my state’s legislature passed a so-called “birther bill” that will require Barack Obama to show his birth certificate in order to appear on the ballot. Since no actual proof has been presented outside a few debunked documents to show that he wasn’t born in Hawai’i, I think it’s beyond stupid to keep beating that dead horse. Then the legislature went further toward economic hardship by repealing the requirement for a CCW (concealed carry weapons) permit unless you’re going to a bar or another state. That is not only going to reduce revenue for the state – you had to pay $50 to obtain and/or renew the license, not to mention submit to a background investigation – it’s also going to reduce the number of legally-trained gun owners in the state. Pretty soon a lot of people carrying concealed won’t know what the law really says here about carrying and using a handgun.

Now…get this…the Arizona House and Senate have sent the most unbelievable bill to Jan Brewer to sign. They have passed a bill that, incredibly, passed in Louisiana last year: banning human-animal hybrids.

Wow.

Now I can’t get those wings I’ve always wanted. Bummer.

Here and all this time my liberal friends were making fun of me for being a Texan…

3 thoughts on “Tempering All Good Things in Arizona

  1. Can I still breed Jackalopes? Every state proposes their share of wacky bills and they may have good reason to do so (I’m not saying Dr. Moreau has retired to Sun City but I’m not saying he hasn’t either, hehe.).
    I am conflicted on CCW. I used to carry all the time and had gone to several courses at SigArms but let it lapse. However, VT seems fine allowing it without any sort of a permit (but still making it a crime for persons with a felony, etc to carry). I wish every state allowed it and allowed reciprocity so when I ride over the border to Maine or Arkansas or wherever I can have the same ability to protect myself.
    Especially to protect myself from the rise of violent human-animal hybrids;-)
    Thanks, AndyB, NH.

  2. “Here and all this time my liberal friends were making fun of me for being a Texan…” – Mel

    You have liberal friends?

    You must have the heart of a saint. Damn.

Leave a Reply

