More Liberal Lies

I always used to like Tina Fey. Her work on SNL cracked me up, including when she lampooned Sarah Palin. After her most recent comments, however, I’m pissed.

Tina Fey won the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor last night (h/t Michelle Malkin). In her acceptance speech, she bagged on conservative women – in particular, Sarah Palin. She said that “I would be a liar and an idiot if I didn’t thank Sarah Palin for helping me get here tonight. My partial resemblance and her crazy voice are the two luckiest things that have ever happened to me…” Then, she criticized the sudden increase of conservative women politicians, saying that the surge was a positive thing for women – “unless you don’t want to pay for your own rape kit…unless you’re a lesbian who wants to get married to your partner of 20 years…[or] unless you believe in evolution.”

Really? You’re seriously going to go there? Okay…let’s go.

Sarah Palin was the mayor of Wasilla, Alaska, in 2000 when then-Democratic governor Tony Knowles signed a bill into law that dumped the state’s responsibility for sexual assault forensic tests – commonly called “rape kits” – on local police departments. The bill also required that the departments themselves pay for them, apparently, and not pass the cost on to insurance companies. Wasilla police chief Charlie Fannon (whom Palin had hired for the job) said shortly thereafter, “in the past, we’ve charged the cost of exams to victim’s insurance companies when possible.” This was all twisted by multiple liberal blogs into “OMG! Sarah Palin hates rape victims, she makes them pay for their own rape kits! We can’t let her get a heart attack away from the presidency!!!”

Horsefeathers. No mayor, not even in a small town like Wasilla, controls the policies of the police department up front. That’s what she hired a chief of police for. She didn’t know what Fannon was doing about the costs, and as soon as she found out about it she put a stop to it. Later, when Palin ran for governor, Fannon ran for mayor in Wasilla – and Palin endorsed his opponent. I think that speaks volumes. Yet we still have Tina Fey propagating the myth that Palin personally made the decision to charge victims for forensic tests.

The second remark she made angered me the most: she used gay marriage as a prop. I hate to burst the liberal gay bubble (and the Hollywood liberal one), but Palin is not the only politician in America who opposes gay marriage. An outrageous number of Democrats oppose it. Anyone remember DOMA? The Defense of Marriage Act was signed into law by then-president Bill “I Did Not Have Sexual Relations With That Woman” Clinton (that was the most outrageous part of it, because he’s never been able to keep it in his pants – he got around more than any of my gay friends). It all began in 1993, when the Hawai’ian state Supreme Court ruled that the state must show a compelling interest in keeping same-sex marriage on ice. Worried that the ruling would make gay marriage legal in Hawai’i and that other states would be required to recognize such unions, DOMA was introduced by Bob Barr and passed overwhelmingly by both houses of Congress in 1996. During the debate over the bill, Senator Robert Byrd – A DEMOCRAT – said,

”the drive for same-sex marriage is, in effect, an effort to make a sneak attack on society by encoding this aberrant behavior in legal form before society itself has decided it should be legal. Let us defend the oldest institution, the institution of marriage between male and female as set forth in the Holy Bible.”

Slick Willie had announced weeks before passage of the bill that he would sign it and supported it. The bill bars the federal government from providing benefits to same-sex partners and recognizing same-sex marriages as well as giving states the option on whether or not they will recognize such unions. A few months later, he told The Advocate, “I remain opposed to same-sex marriage. I believe marriage is an institution for the union of a man and a woman. This has been my long-standing position, and it is not being reviewed or reconsidered.”

It’s also worth noting that a bill that would have banned employers from discriminating on the basis of sexual orientation was defeated – by only a single vote. The only way that could have happened is if a number of Republicans supported it. All this happened just three years after Clinton’s promises to end the ban on gays and lesbians serving in the military turned into Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell. To date, not one gay liberal has been able to answer this for me, either…if liberals love gays so much, why is it that Democrat-registered black and Hispanic voters ensured the passage of Proposition 8 in California? Without those demographics, that bill never would have passed. Somehow, though, it was the damned churches that gay rights activists targeted. They would never have dared target their own party because they’re still hoping to get a few scraps from their table and are happy being lied to.

Mrs. Fey, don’t you dare condescend to me by telling me that my political loyalties are misplaced with conservatives. The fact remains, and it is one you cannot ignore, that there are plenty of Democrats in office now who are every bit as anti-gay and they’re not going to change their minds. You and your fellow Hollywood emotion junkies can bash people like me all you want and you can lie to yourselves about how wonderful the Democrats are, and you can call conservative women idiots, but the fact remains that you are supporting politicians who espouse the exact same ideals that you’re calling out in conservatives.

Not all conservatives think that way (obviously). Maybe, just maybe, those who DO would be willing to sit down and have a civil conversation if you would stop accusing them of being hatemongers, stop portraying them as crazy and idiotic, and actually come to the table for once in your privileged life. Truth is, you don’t know one goddamn thing about being a lesbian and you are not qualified in the least to talk about the issues we face.

15 thoughts on “More Liberal Lies

  1. It’s much easier to think and speak in bumper sticker slogans, Mel. That way, conversations with your friends about politics can sound more like Pep Rallies than the debate club. And pep rallies were WAY more cool in high school, you know.

  2. Yes…but, as I recall, the subjects of those pep rallies ended up mucking out gas station bathrooms while the members of the debate club went on to actually do something.

  3. I’m going to respectfully disagree with you “airforcewife.” I think Mel made a good
    case – with plenty of facts. But I would save your message for Tina Fey. Or even “Hope and Change” Obama.

    Even when I disagree with Mel on a few issues, her bright writing style is always a welcome antidote to bland media talking points. We need more punchy American individualism in 2010, not less.

  4. Ben, I was referring to Tina Fey and her like.

    Mel explains her positions over and over, the vast majority of the time when I’ve seen Mel get attacked by someone on the left, it is in a flurry of shouted bumper sticker slogans followed by nasty name calling.

    Iveseen Mel, Philip, and Steve reply over and over again- responding to arguments and asking questions that never get answered except with insults. If you believe the so-called right things, you don’t need to be able to explain them. It’s ridiculous, but Tina Fey is illustrating that perfectly.

    Bumper sticker slogans are easy and catchy.

  5. I think it is bad when comedians start getting “political” in their acts because they often end up not being funny. It’s like when an actor starts to believe the roles they play. I almost never watch SNL anymore as it hasn’t been, for the most part, funny in a long time. They forget that we like them because they play make believe characters spouting words made up by someone else.
    I do remember Stewart on a show with Tucker Carlson (CNN maybe? Crossfire.) and he made a comment to Carlson “No no I won’t be your monkey.” He’s a comedian doing a fake news show that is supposed to make people laugh but he can decide when he’s going to pretend to be serious, sanctimonious, “journalist” but other times he’ll deflect flack for something he said or did by saying “I’m just a comedian.”
    I just read a transcript of the show (http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/bljonstewartcrossfire.htm) and he comes across as a real, err, part of male anatomy. He and Tina Fey make money and their careers by exaggerating, taking comments out of context and making stuff up but somehow people believe what they say? Drives me nuts but it doesn’t take much. I’m fighting to keep squirrels from getting back into my ceiling.
    AndyB, NH.

  6. “I think it is bad when comedians start getting ‘political’ in their acts because they often end up not being funny.”

    Good point Andy B. I notice in America (like here) that they have clapping seals that follow comedians around, but I get the feeling that most people are yawning at home on their couches. Even, in 2004, their anti-Bush jokes sounded repetitive, and they’re still repeating them today.

  7. Maybe he was upset at the latest election results and meant to type “stop winning?” Hehe. I still say a comedian can be funny without going partisan either way. It starts to become a matter of choosing lines, jokes, etc for political impact over broad entertainment value. I go back to Ellen’s tv show which I thought was funny at first until it all become political because she had come out. I still like her morning show (when I am around a TV) because i think she manages to keep it entertaining without dragging politics into it.
    AndyB, NH.

  8. Ben, good point. It’s not like it was “daring” to compare Bush to Hitler (yes, before someone writes it happened all the time! I even heard a liberal religious person say she was GLAD that Cheney was in a wheelchair! An otherwise intelligent, kind, thoughtful person reduced to knee jerk hate.). It’s an easy shot and one they don’t have to think about or work at. The people who agree with the sentiment will laugh along not because it’s funny but because it reinforces their feelings and makes them feel good. It’s not daring or difficult to make fun of Palin. I mean, she doesn’t talk normal (because if you don’t have the right accent you’re a hick, redneck, stupid) so there is an easy shot. And she dares to say what she thinks despite the fact that her thoughts are not in lock step with NOW and the way women should think, right? I don’t agree with her on plenty of things but it is disgusting the way they pick her apart, because they hate her, are afraid of her or some combination.
    Remember: We all have to be unique individuals. Just like everyone else:-(
    I’ll continue to be me despite the fact that I’d be better off if I weren’t.
    Cheers, AndyB, NH.

  9. Good point. Andy B.
    Lately, it seems that if a person is Leftist and religious [in my case, Jewish or Christian], when push comes to shove, ideology trumps faith and values. It’s even more sad and disheartening when the person is, as you say, “otherwise intelligent, kind, [and] thoughtful.”

    P.S. “I gotta be me. IIIIII gotta be me!”

  10. MVH – Ha! Now that last bit makes me think of a farside cartoon of a mess of penguins (flock? Herd?) and of course they all look alike and one in the middle is singing “I gotta be me!”
    Wish I were a dog somedays. Dogs probably don’t have these problems:-)
    AndyB, NH.

  11. I lift my martini glass to you ;-}
    I know the cartoon of which you write.

    BTW, I really enjoy those Gary Larson cartoons. I own a couple of collections, myself.

Leave a Reply

