Death Panels and Brewers and Nazis, Oh My!

I have some of the most interesting conversations with liberals. Sometimes, like tonight, I’m both amused and think I should beat my head against the wall for all the good I’m doing. I thought you might like to hear about this one.

Remember during the big debate over nationalized health care, when Sarah Palin started talking about death panels? We all remember what happened. The Keith Olbermanns and Rachel Maddows of the left-wing press laughed until they cried, accusing her of using fear-mongering tactics to scare conservatives into being against universal health care. Well, things sure have changed since then. Jan Brewer, governor of my current home state of Arizona (yes, I still consider myself a Texan – AZ is my second home), has been forced to make cuts across the board to try to balance the state budget. Among those cuts are major cuts to AHCCCS, the state-funded health care system for the poor and uninsured. Democrats around the country have decried Brewer and ordered that she stop her DEATH PANELS and undo the cuts she signed for.

Don’t hold your breath, folks…the fact that liberals are now using the term themselves is about as close as we’re ever going to get to an apology. We’ll never see them give that sheepish look and hear them say, “okay, so…they do exist!” It ain’t gonna happen. Suggest, however, that they stop being as hysterical as they’ve accused us of being, and they go monkeynuts. Take a look:

Mel Maguire: Here and I thought death panels didn’t exist.

Dorothy Wellington: It is my prayer that Arizona will not become a “Hitler State.” Yourself and many others are on the right path and God’s will, will be accomplished.

Barbara Friedkin: She is a irrational woman cruel B—- Karen…Watch this!!! She is one sick blood thirsty! Bitch! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5muf5oBSppA

(Note, the video she linked had absolutely nothing to do with the conversation.)

MM: Please, Dorothy, do not demean the realities of Hitler’s Germany by claiming that we’re on the path to becoming a “Hitler state”. It isn’t just childish, it is disrespectful to those who survived the horrors that Hitler visited upon the world.

BF: I am a child from a polish survivor family. This is just how it began there!

MM: Really, Barbara? Seriously? It began with the government making cuts to health care? You are delusional. Nazism took hold because the government was broke and the people were so desperately demoralized after they were forced to abide by the Treaty of Versailles after WWI that they welcomed a charismatic individual who promised to give them their pride back.

BF: Really Mel It sounds like Sarah Palin to me! I am a student of the Holocaust. There were many reasons for it. First they came for the Communists, and I didn’t speak up, because I wasn’t a Communist. Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak up, because I wasn’t a Jew. Then they came for the Catholics, and I didn’t speak up, because I was a Protestant. Then they came for me, and by that time there was no one left to speak up for me. by Rev. Martin Niemoller, 1945

MM: Barbara, as I recall Sarah Palin was the first to bring up the notion of death panels – and liberals verbally flayed her for suggesting it was a possibility. Olbermann and Maddow laughed her off as a loon, saying she was being hysterical a…nd there would be no death panels in universal healthcare in the US. Now, as we can see, even when the government isn’t in control of all health care, those death panels DO exist. I haven’t heard a single liberal admit their mistake.

If you’re a student of that barbaric time in recent history, you’d know that the Jews call it Shoah, not the Holocaust (calling it that is an insult to Judaism as it refers to a burnt offering in Greek). While the quote is a powerful one, quoting Niemoller doesn’t justify you calling what’s going on now the next step toward a second Shoah. That is a hysteria that most conservatives point to when they try to prove that all liberals are insane.

BF: Mel it is waste of my time to even go there but the death panels she spoke of were end of life wishes that everyone should have in place and are MANDATORY UNDER ALASKA LAW! SARAH SIGNED THE BILL IN ALASKA AND HAD A DAY TO CELEBRATE IT! Go get an education but I sure you are against that too. http://pubrecord.org/politics/3560/palin-backed-end-of-life-counseling/

(Stop and read that last comment one last time. She is referring to a law that Palin signed that required that the elderly and terminally ill be counseled on advance directives by their medical care providers.)

MM: Unlike you, I have an education, hon. The death panels she was talking about were bureaucratic groups that exist in every government health care organization who convene to determine what they are capable and/or willing to pay for. Pay attention, sweetie. End-of-life counseling is a far cry from the death panels she talked about and what’s going on now. You didn’t even read three lines into that article you linked.

BF: Mel we got it you are a selfish self serving individual who has no interest in his community. We got it. You can’t handle the truth! It was the end of life counseling that she referred to as Death panels.

MM: An “advance directive” is what we in the health care field use to determine what a person’s legal wishes are. Yes, some people need counseling on the legal issues. I went on a call once for a man who died peacefully, surrounded by his fam…ily, after a long illness. According to his family, it was his wish that he die at home exactly as he did – however, because he didn’t understand what the law says about that sort of thing, the police had to round up the family, keep ’em in one place, question them all (and there were quite a few of them – including children) and investigate the man’s death.

Advance directives for those who are nearing the end of life due to either age or illness are important, believe it or not. Legal counseling on those issues is a good thing.

BF: Did they see your picture before they let you in their house. What are you afraid of Mel?

MM: Barbara…I would try correcting you again, but you are apparently so convinced of what you’re saying that you’re not going to listen or admit that you may have misunderstood the issue. I’m not afraid of anything. I’ve been stabbed, had guns pointed at me, been thrown off the second tier of an inmate housing unit, attacked with bare fists, thrown furniture – I have no fear, particularly not of a liberal who shows up for a battle of wits completely unarmed.

BF: IT IS YOU KIDS WHO ARE SUPPOSED TO BE DOING THIS I HAVE BEEN AN ACTIVIST SINCE I WAS 16! MEL YOU ARE ONE ANGRY KID I DON’T CARE WHAT YOU DO.

There was a courageous gal named Karen also responding, but to cut down on the space, I only brought one part of the conversation over (it is all cut-and-pasted, spelling errors and all). Click here to read the entire exchange.

6 thoughts on “Death Panels and Brewers and Nazis, Oh My!

  1. Again with the “LALALALALALALALALALALA!!!!”

    But it also cracks me up like that “Obama = Keynesian” video from the Jon Stewart rally where the two women were so flabbergasted that someone would still be arguing about the President’s citizenship.

    My favorite was when she started taking pictures of the sign, like to show people back home the stupidity of conservatives. I have to wonder if she would admit that a Keynesian and a Kenyan are not the same thing.

  2. Among other things, Arizona can’t afford to pay for organ transplants for people on Medicaid. So, Arizona elimnated funding for those medical procedures. Would people feel better if Arizona said, “O.K. organ transplants are back on but broken arms are out.”

    Governments are a lot like businesses in this respect: Money doesn’t magically appear out of nowhere. If Arizona funds one thing then it comes at the expense of some other thing because the state can’t afford both things.

  3. I haven’t read the full text but what you posted is amusing in that they were having their own conversation apparently ignoring what you were saying and just imagining what they expected you to say. Bizarre.
    I don’t know how you keep your cool. I’d be like a cartoon, steam blowing out the ears. As it is I try to restrain my eye rolling at work;-)
    Thanks, AndyB, NH.

  4. Oh, the link to the full comments brought up someone’s sign in to Facebook (with a blank in the password space).
    AndyB, NH.

  5. This was a conversation on Facebook with other people I blocked Mel so he must have pulled this all out of context. By the way We are now turning the tide in Arizona SO there!

  6. She, Barbara. SHE! I am a WOMAN! At the time this exchange took place, you would have had to go to my profile in order to block me, so I fail to understand why you are still calling me HE. Many of my pictures are public and you would have been able to see them. You are only proving that you never pay attention.

    Speaking of blocking, I just love it when you libs brag about blocking folks like me. The only reason you blocked me is because you can’t handle an honest debate; you have no honest argument, so you resort to personal attacks (as evidenced above), and when you don’t bully me into saying, “yes, you’re right, we conservatives are all dumbasses,” you just block me. I was calm the whole time. I provided facts and figures, even examples of things I have actually witnessed. All you did was pitch a fit like a five-year-old child and scream that you’ve been an activist since before dirt was invented and I’m just an angry kid. You even insulted my chosen profession (public safety) because I disagreed with you. If I were a liberal and someone had attacked me that way, you would scream bloody murder that anyone had the audacity to impugn a public servant. I’m a conservative, though, so you’d rather see me lashed to a post in the town square and set afire.

    I couldn’t have taken anything out of context, either…every comment was cut and pasted directly from the thread it came from. I didn’t change a single thing, not even the bad spelling, punctuation and grammar. All I omitted were the comments made by Karen. Your words are your words, as mine are mine – none of them have been changed. Either stand by what you said or admit you were wrong, but don’t lie about it to discredit me. I’ll call you on it in a heartbeat.

    By the by, you’re not exactly “turning the tide”. In case you hadn’t noticed, conservatives still hold a majority in the state legislature. Russell Pearce (whom I didn’t particularly care for anyway, but that’s beside the point) was not replaced by a liberal Democrat – he was replaced by another Republican, a conservative businessman and educator who understands what needs to be done.

    You are absolutely welcome to come and post any time you like, but you need to have your facts straight before you do so. I do not suffer fools gladly.

Leave a Reply

