Obama Has Left The Building

Hey Kids!  This in an activity that invites participation from all of our blog readers and my fellow moderators. Here are the instructions:

Watch the following YouTube video of President Obama’s joint press conference with former President Bill Clinton.  The video is over 30 minutes (it involves Bill Clinton).  I’d urge you to watch all of the video because it is informative, but I’d ask, at least, that you watch the first 11 minutes to gain full context.  The critical moment is at 10:24. And then observe at least a little beyond that to watch Clinton’s interactions with the reporters.

Just check it out and let me know what hits you.  I won’t comment in the body of this post.  I’ll wait and make my observations later.  I’m interested in hearing your comments concerning how this reflects on Obama and what it has to say about Hill and Bill.  This is incredibly significant in so many ways, in my opinion.  Let’s see if you agree.

10 thoughts on “Obama Has Left The Building

  1. We only have one elected President at a time, not two! I for one am getting sick of this continual Clinton connection from this administration. Nobama needs to grow some balls and learn how to be the President and quit using Billy Boy to help further his agenda.

  2. Was Clinton always this boring? Is Obama rubbing off on him? I really don’t think Clinton wants to be there. It’s like he is doing a favor for Obama but isn’t happy about it.

    OK time to talk about the speech…

    Is it a tax cut if you are only extending the current tax rates? Um… Let’s go with no. All you have is either to continue the current rates or raise them. There is no cut. Granted at least Clinton called it a continuation later. Then Clinton admits that lower tax rates are good for the economy. It’s like they don’t want to admit that lower tax rates are good but still want to play the class warfare “tax cuts for the rich” angle while claiming they are not doing it.

    Then he brings up START. All I have to say about that is the Cold War is over why bother with the START BS. We need to worry about Iran and North Korea getting nukes not how many nukes Russian and the U.S. have. We both already have them it’s done worry about the other people trying to get them. Iran and North Korea do not care if we and the Russians have less nukes, they want theirs and that is all they care about. The less we have the happier they will be. It shows weakness to countries that only care about strength when we pull this hung the world BS.

    Seriously, I’m praying for nuclear war just to end the boredom….

    Hell, Obama was so bored he used his wife as an excuse to leave. That or he just wanted to run away and let Clinton deal with it so he wouldn’t have to do or say anything.

    I Can’t watch after about 12 minutes I’m just going to fall asleep.

  3. I’ll put in my opinion at this point. Both of you (above) hit it right in one respect. And then there’s more (Mark touched on it).

    #1: Obama left the building. At a critical time concerning critical legislation in a press conference with a former President, Obama left the room so that the “grown-ups could talk.” He was worried that Michelle might yell at him again. Ever noticed how often he takes off to play a round of golf, play a pick-up game of basketball or take (yet another) vacation? It’s a total abdication of responsibility. The Presidency is all fun and games for Obama. “I’m out of here guys. You deal with that policy stuff and let me know what you come up with. Peace out!”

    #2: Bill Clinton is NOT Obama’s friend. Mark picked up on this. Bill and Hill will mount a primary challenge in 2012 if Obama appears weak and vulnerable. This press conference did nothing for Obama’s image. Whoever it was that decided to leave Bill in the room should be fired. He made Obama look like a kid.

    Did you see Clinton after Barry made his exit? He leaned on the podium with his elbow and looked the reporters straight in the eye as they asked the questions, nodding his head with that look of concern on his face. He was, once again, feeling their pain. He was interested, engaged and informed even if a bit boring. I almost got a tear in my eye remembering better days. That says a lot.

    Why the hell would you leave your chief intra-party rival alone in the room to attend to your affairs? To me, this was a blunder of the greatest magnitude. Obama’s team is not generally stupid, but this was beyond belief. Bill is not being charitable to Obama. Bill’s interest is power and seeing his little “pumpkin” make her way to the Oval Office. And his performance at the press conference probably made the MSM constituents swoon and a bit nostalgic. Let’s see how that plays out in 2012.

    I might be over-hyping this a bit, but I was in total disbelief when I watched this video. It almost made me think that Obama doesn’t give a damn whether he is re-elected in 2012. And, quite honestly, that would be fine with me. I will say this at risk of being lambasted by fellow conservatives – I’d rather see Hillary as President than the know-nothing novice we currently have.

  4. Philip – I think we saw almost exactly the same thing.

    I have to admit I laughed my rear end off watching it. It was just THAT absurd. The Leader of the Free World DOES NOT get to take off during a press conference on economics when the economy of the United States is barely above collapse. So, the First Lady makes the rules that the President follows? No matter what the crisis? This is not going to help the image of his masculinity AT ALL.

    I don’t think that President Obama believes he will not be reelected in 2012, though. I honestly do not believe he can conceive of that notion. He ALWAYS talks his way into things. He always believes he can. And since he knows best and we need to do as he says, he doesn’t need to stick around and explain things.

    On the other hand, President Clinton certainly was back to his Presidential self there. He can command a presser like no other, and I don’t think there is any shame in admitting that. He’s good at it, and he doesn’t get flustered or thrown off his game – we saw it a handful of times while he was in the White House.

    This was simply absurd, and I’m having a hard time processing the fact that it wasn’t an SNL skit.

    Oh – speaking of SNL skits, I think the President accidentally used the speech they wrote for “him” to deliver about this year’s Nobel recipient. “ME! me! memememe! MOI!”

  5. No offense to females, Ruthie, but do you think Obama might be whipped (you know what I mean)? It was straight out of SNL. And my jaw dropped at how Bill just stepped back into the limelight. I just can’t get over it. What the hell were Obama’s people thinking????

  6. As an aside – I wrote my Master’s thesis about Bill Clinton’s press conferences. He is a fantastic comunicator for sure. Bill is slick and polished. And Mr. Clinton just made Obama look terrible.

  7. Philip, I don’t think he’s whipped. I think he just believes that whatever he believes is what is necessary and what is best. And if someone doesn’t agree, it isn’t because they come at the issue from a different angle, but because they are stupid or misguided.

    Why SHOULD he hang around for a press conference? He doesn’t want to! He works hard! He should get some time with his family if he wants it!

    I think that’s the gist of it.

  8. LOL!!! Two Americans trapped in North Korea. Call Bill Clinton.

    Things aren’t going well: Call Bill Clinton.

    WHO IS IN CHARGE!!!!

    When people say Obama is “not my President” then there is more than a ring of truth to that statement.

  9. I don’t think that President Obama believes he will not be reelected in 2012, though. – AFW

    That thought never occurred to me. Thanks for bringing it up. Maybe the Obama has decided to phone it all in.

Leave a Reply

