“Life Must Go On As Usual”

It’s hard to admit making a mistake, but I owe the regular visitors of this website; along with my fellow contributors here, an apology.

The same day Congresswoman Giffords was shot, I reacted badly to the first article written by the AP on the story.  The article, which I linked to on my post where I specifically blamed the left, was written about 30 minutes after the tragedy.  This early on they were already linking Sarah Palin and the tea party to it.  In all honesty, my post was a reaction to that. (Along with a Facebook page I had found that has since been deleted portraying Loughner as a liberal).

As much as I disagree with liberals on pretty much everything, it was wrong for me to link the violent behavior of one idiot to an entire political party.  What I did was no better than what liberals (some of them) were doing to Sarah Palin.  As such, I shall remember that not everyone on the left is clinically insane and I apologize to Mel, Mark, Chris, and Philip (along with our regular visitors) who have to “share” this space with me.

That being said, I’d like to move forward with another aspect of how our country is prematurely responding to this tragedy. 

Aside from Sheriff Dumbnik’s running around and blaming everyone on the right; taking the attention away from him and the Police Department there in Tucson who had been getting warnings about Jared Loughner for the past three years, I have a huge problem with shutting down Congress over this.

It sends the wrong message.

On October 12, 1984, Margaret Thatcher was headlining the annual conservative conference in Brighton.  While the workaholic Iron Lady was preparing documents at 2 a.m. for business at the conference the next day, a bomb went off in the hotel.  Luckily, Margaret Thatcher and her husband had been moved to another room earlier in the day.  Nevertheless, many were killed and injured.  Mrs. Thatcher was immediately treated and examined for light injuries sustained and went to the police station. 

Almost immediately, the media and others speculated whether or not the conference would remain scheduled.  Upon exiting the police station, Lady Thatcher made her first statement to the media:

You hear about these atrocities, these bombs, you never expect them to happen to you.  But life must go on, as usual.

She also added that her conference would not be cancelled and would continue to go on “as usual” she said sternly.

The next day with very little sleep, Mrs. Thatcher kept her committment and arrived to the conference.  She not only defied the wishes of the bomber, she also showed up on time and said:

The fact that we are gathered here today, shocked but composed and determined, is a sign not only that this attack has failed but that all attempts to destroy democracy by terrorism will fail.

Lady Thatcher wasn’t showing cruelty to the victims who lost their lives.  As a leader of a nation, she had to resume business as usual to let the enemies of civilization and freedom know that she and her people in majority were in control and their rights to freedom and political process would not end. 

Similarly, as a political leader, John Boehner made a very decent and honorable statement in honor of Congresswoman Giffords.  Now, members of the media at the Washington Post are questioning his sincerity because he did not cry when he made the statement and also thought it was wrong for him to point out the fact that public servants of all levels were and always will be at some risk, but it was no reason to be deterred from doing their jobs.

Perhaps someone should tell the writer, Courtland Milloy, that we are supposed to learning a lesson about political rhetoric from this.

To reassure you, the shooting made us all sad, Mr. Milloy.  But on Saturday, I had to stay at my office anyway.  I had to get our income tax software ready for our filing season.  I had to make sure my files were cleaned out ready to be filled with new paperwork.  I had to organize my desk and clean out my drawers.  Then on Sunday, I had to go back.  Monday, I had to work and meet with clients.  Today, I had to go to a tax seminar to further prepare for my work that is vastly approaching.

Similarly, Congress should not be shutting down over this.  The best way to let lunatics like Loughner know that the only thing their potential dangerous violence is going to get them is a one-way ticket to the electric chair is to not allow our daily lives to be changed.  The world keeps on turning and “life must go on as usual.”

Joy Behar and other liberals — obviously ignoring Sheriff Dumbnik’s warning of political rhetoric — responded to Boehner by calling him “Boner” (the same party who created the term “teabagger”) — and somehow turning his promise to the people who elected the new Congress that they would indeed proceed with their promise to begin doing what we sent them there to do into an act of hate.  It makes you wonder who decides what political rhetoric is.  It also makes you wonder what “hate” is.

I have faith in the American people that they understand the bigger picture.  Boehner reserves his tears for moments of triumph.  When we overcome obstacles and tragedies and evils and plow through it in a way that only American exceptionalism can guarantee.

It seems to me that the people blaming Sarah Palin, criticizing Boehner, and everyone else on the right are the ones spreading the hate now.  It also seems to me that they reserve their tears in a sad effort to exploit tragedies to argue for bigger government and more infringements on our freedoms and liberties.

Americans are learning and we won’t forget.  But one thing remains true: “life must go on, as usual!”

7 thoughts on ““Life Must Go On As Usual”

  1. I guess it must be just me. I hope not.

    A person who is probably mentally ill named Jared Loughner legally purchased a gun and decided to shoot innocent people. He chose to do that. He happened to shoot a U.S. Congresswoman and a Federal judge plus a 9 year old girl and many others. Six people are dead.

    But instead too many people want to attribute the long held doctrine of “the Devil made me do it.” Inflamantory rhetoric, partisanship, crosshairs on a map, Sarah Palin, and etc.

    Since when is the devil made me do it an excuse for anything? Not only is it not an excuse, it’s pathetic.

  2. I’m of the opinion that the Devil doesn’t need to do anything, just let us trip ourselves up and make the wrong choices. It seems that EVERY thing that happens we must try to explain it, give it a reason but not everything has a clear reason.
    I read that he had been stopped for running a red light but got a warning and the car wasn’t searched. I’m sure people will be saying that it should have been “and this tradgedy could have been averted!” But these same people would sue if the cops started stopping and searching everyone for no good reason. I’m waiting for a law to come out and sonmeone to say “if it can save only ONE life….” Then it’s a poor law. Sorry for the typos and rambling. Tired from all this snow (and not done yet).
    AndyB, NH.

  3. Steve, you’re not the only one who remarked on the shooter’s possible left-leaning bent. I did the same thing (although I based it on his 9/11 truther status even though there are truthers on both sides of the aisle).

    John, I get tired of the lack of personal responsibility, too. The gay community holds Harvey Milk up as a folk hero, often referring to his murder as a hate crime despite the fact that his killer also shot George Moscone and the acts were committed because of anger over a lost job. Dan White, the killer, had lawyers that claimed White was depressed and that the ingredients of twinkies drove him over the edge.

    As a result, White was only sentenced to seven years. Of that paltry sentence, he only actually served five years. For two murders? Five years is a joke, and a really bad one at that. He received that ridiculous farce of a punishment because he, like many other criminals, refused to accept responsibility for his horrible actions – and we, as a society, refused to hold his feet to the fire.

    As long as we allow people to blame individual actions on anything other than personal choice we do nothing more than continue the circle of irresponsibility.

  4. “John, I get tired of the lack of personal responsibility, too. The gay community holds Harvey Milk up as a folk hero, often referring to his murder as a hate crime… ”

    I think a lack of personal responsibility is our biggest problem. We all must dance to the tunes we call.

    @Andy I agree the Devil doesn’t need to do anything. We all do a great job of tripping up without any help. You are one awesome dude Andy. If I get to your neck of the woods I’ll buy you lunch.

  5. Or maybe I’m the devil? Hmmm? No wait, if I were I’d melt all the snow and have a decent truck. Thanks John, every once in awhile I say something that makes sense;-)
    Clear more snow before going to my next job. Yay.
    AndyB, NH.

  6. I first wish to commend Steve for falling on his sword and apologizing for jumping the gun. The world is not perfect, nor is this country. what one lone crazy does does not speak for the rest of America. Just the thought of restricting speech in this country is amazing to me. Conservatives have taken the Saul Alinsky beating for too long now and it’s time for the right to get back on their meds and join the true reality…not the convoluted reality they vacation in. Get Well Soon Mrs. Giffords and God Bless You!!!!

Leave a Reply

