Boycott ESPN

I’m a sports fan. Specifically, My teams are the Houston Texans (who are finally producing a winning season) and the Houston Astros (who forgot how to win), as well as the University of Texas Longhorns. I do like the Arizona Diamonbacks, since I do live in Phoenix, but I’m from Houston and if given the choice I would root for a Houston team any day.

I used to watch ESPN. That just ended with a sickening THUD.

Why? Here’s why…Hank Williams, Jr. has long been the voice of Monday Night Football on ESPN. Recently, he went on “Fox and Friends” and talked about his political beliefs. Specifically, he commented on the Obama-Boehner golf summit. He said “it’d be like Hitler playing golf with Netanyahu.” He later apologized and, at the same time, defended himself, saying, “Some of us have strong opinions and are often misunderstood. My analogy was extreme — but it was to make a point. I was simply trying to explain how stupid it seemed to me — how ludicrous that pairing was. They’re polar opposites and it made no sense. They don’t see eye-to-eye and never will. I have always respected the office of the President.”

He apologized for his “extreme” analogy because ESPN yanked his famous song, “Are You Ready For Some Football” from their Monday Night Football show. An official statement read, “While Hank Williams, Jr. is not an ESPN employee, we recognize that he is closely linked to our company through the open to Monday Night Football. We are extremely disappointed with his comments, and as a result we have decided to pull the open from tonight’s telecast.”

I’d like to know what they think about Mike Tyson’s recent comments on their radio affiliate in Las Vegas. On KWWN, the hosts of the show “Gridlock” joked with and laughed hysterically at Mike Tyson while he went on a nearly nine-minute tangent about a black man raping Sarah Palin, saying at one point, “Glen Rice is a wonderful man. He’s a wonderful guy. You want her to be with somebody like [Dennis] Rodman getting up … in there. Pushing her guts up in the back of her head!” (The link to the article on the Daily Caller includes the uncut audio, and it is not safe for work or kids, so be forewarned!)

So it’s not acceptable for a singer who probably wouldn’t be recognized by about half of the sports fans who know his song from MNF to make comments about how silly it is for John Boehner to be playing golf with a liberal dweeb like Barack Obama, but it’s perfectly acceptable for a former boxer, convicted of rape, to sit there and practically re-enact his crime on the air as if he would enjoy doing exactly what he was describing to a popular conservative figure? In which universe is this alright? How in the hell do liberals get off calling Tea Party activists racists and extremists when this is the kind of thing they say?

If and when ESPN either reinstates Hank’s anthem or decides to be fair and ban Mike Tyson for his outrageous comments, I might consider watching their network again. Until then? I’ll stick with Fox Sports. I don’t care if ESPN is the only network carrying a game; they can kiss my Texan backside.

11 thoughts on “Boycott ESPN

  1. Our insight is clouded by who we trust. Personally, I find any comparison to Hitler offensive. The vitriol that liberals have spewed at Bush, and now that conservatives spew to Obama is offensive. It prevents us from having real discussions about real issues.
    Our blogs are very alike — politics and sports — not sure I could boycott ESPN. I’ll have to think about what radical thing they would have to do for that to happen.
    “Be the source of tolerance you demand from others.” I like it. Williams was offensive and intolerant, so I think ESPN’s conduct is consistent with your ideals.

  2. I absolutely agree that comparing Obama to Hitler is every bit as silly as comparing Bush to Hitler, but I don’t think that was the point of Hank’s comment. He wasn’t comparing either politician to anybody, he was making a comparison about the extreme differences in political views. He’s right about that part. There is very little, if anything at all, that Boehner and Obama would ever agree on.

    Also, I’ve heard some conservatives compare Obama to Hitler, but I haven’t yet seen any of the outrageous vitriol against him that I saw coming from Democrats against Bush. Cafepress still has “Kill Bush” t-shirts from one seller, “artwork” stamps that show Bush with a gun to the back of his head, buttons that show Bush putting a gun to his own head, and Bush met all kinds of fates in effigy during liberal protests – hanging, burning, beheading, you name it. I haven’t heard any real conservatives lately calling for Obama’s assassination, nor have I heard them joke about it.

  3. I saw this on the news and it blew my mind. He’s not a commentator or the voice of some show. They use his song for Monday Night football!! So if whoever created some jingle for some show said something “Law & Order” didn’t like they would do the same? Unlikely. But again, rape “humor” about a conservative woman is okay. Personally, NOTHING Mike Tyson says is okay in my mind. Women close to me have been raped and scum like Tyson should not even be breathing air (my biased personal opinion. Besides, the guy is bats*!% crazy!).
    I guess TV shows have to use musicians with no personal or political opinions now? That leaves out Lady Gaga but Beiber doesn’t seem like he could form an idea about politics so he might be safe;-)
    But seriously, people on both sides, unless it involves Nazis, neo-Nazis, genocide or someone megalomaniac attempting to take over the world, Hitler comparisons are inappropriate:^=(
    AndyB.

  4. I agree that rape and Hitler are two things that should not be used as light analogies except for each other perhaps. I get what Williams Jr. was doing – I personally think in cases like this people should call on fictional analogies, although it would still be impossible for one not to sound more negative than the other. What Tyson has done is far more egregious and disgusting, but this kind of thing from the left is so expected, I do think they take a drug that completely blinds them to their own double standards.

  5. Andy, I agree. I have sat with rape victims after the crime was committed and it is a living hell. People don’t realize what really goes on…you have to tell the police right away, because your body is a living crime scene, and if anyone touches you they could contaminate evidence. I’ve also dealt with rapists in prison and not one of them was really sorry about what they did. I met one who would say in one breath that he was innocent, and in the next that his victim enjoyed it (he was the kind of guy who liked to get off when he knew a woman would be walking through the unit).

    I can’t believe that Tyson only got six years in prison and four on probation. I REALLY can’t believe that he’s getting movie roles and invitations to comment on sports so he can have airtime to spew crap like that. Does anybody remember the furor over Mel Gibson getting a cameo in “The Hangover 2?” The rumor was that once it was announced, Zack Galifinakis pitched a fit and swore he wouldn’t work with Gibson.

    Gibson has apologized many times over and Hollywood refuses to forgive him. Tyson has not apologized once and he gets walk-on roles?

  6. This reminds me of Dan Rather trying to block Toby Keith from a US celebration because of suggestiing that US enemies would get a “boot in the ass” in one of his songs.
    Someone recently suggeted that ‘political correctitude’ is an intellectual equivalency of any number of life-threateneing epidemics.
    Here’s a candid, albeit poorly expressed, parallel, running the gamut of scrutiny by people who would have the world all tulips and happily chirping birds.
    Anyone read he quips of Mark Twain or Will Rogers lately?

  7. Excellent point, Shawmut. I recall Dan Rather playing that game…only to find out that Toby Keith was, at the time, a registered Democrat. Most recently Keith was asked what he thought about gay marriage. His response? In a nutshell, he said, “who cares?”

  8. Such a ridiculous double standard. As far as offensive, I find jokes about rape to far more offensive than a comparison to Hitler and this wasn’t even a comparison to Hitler. This was the kind of metaphor that I might use on my own blog, to make a historical comparison to, as you said Mel, two people with absolutely nothing in common politically or otherwise.

    *shakes head and sighs*
    I don’t want to live on this planet anymore…

  9. This was disgusting. But unfortunately, our media has let many people slip by in saying vile things. Especially when they have the qualifier of being disgusting things said about Sarah Palin or her family.

    I didn’t watch ESPN but I did hear about this and I agree. It’s a movement required by the people. As with all other ones of importance in previous times.

  10. They are the easiest way to get done! Snowy trees, candy canes,
    elves or reindeer. Wine racks are best, as they can comeback &
    win. There are a wonderful region to be the one that suits your budget.

Leave a Reply

