Thinking About Newt

Last night on Greta’s program following the debate, Sarah Palin joined the Fox News host to discuss the candidates.  I agree with Palin’s assessment of not getting a whole heck of a lot out of it other than some usual banter between the candidates.  However; I did take note later in the segment when she began to say that Newt Gingrich would “clobber” Barack Obama in a debate.

One of the reasons my heart was so broken after Palin announced she wasn’t running is because I truly supported her positions and her “plan” which she laid out in Indianola, Iowa at the speech she delivered on September 3rd.

1.) Eliminate corporate income tax.  This gives corporations less incentives for lobbyists as they won’t be seeking tax breaks and favors.  It cuts the crony capitalism which I believe is going on with a couple other of our candidates.  It makes America the most attractive place in the world to do business in.

2.) True stimulus = robust and aggressive development of our own resources here at home.  This will create about a million GOOD-PAYING jobs.

3.) Entitlement reform.  As Palin said, we MUST deal with it.  If not, the European markets will force us to deal with it down the road.

4.) Repeal Obama Care. 

5.) Return power back to the states.

Immediately after her speech in Iowa, Newt immediately pounced on it and had it analyzed by his campaign.  He then said to Greta:

Governor Palin’s speech in Iowa last weekend on crony capitalism and on the problems of both parties is a very, very important speech. I’m going to be tweeting a link to it. I’m also going to be doing some other things with it. I think it was maybe one of the most important speeches she’s ever given, and I think it raised a series of very profound questions that all of us — Democrat and Republican — have to wrestle with as citizens. And she did it very well. It’s a very, very impressive speech.”

You can see the video over at Texans for Sarah Palin.

The night of Palin’s announcement, she said that many current candidates had already began contacting her to meet with her.  The article posted to Politico the day after reported that Newt was one who reached out to her — even seeking her endorsement.

Further, Newt went on to defend her “Death Panels” comment in the last debate.

Since I cannot have Sarah Palin, the emphasis myself and many contributing writers over at C4P are doing are focusing on the remaining candidates as well as the House and Senate, using Governor Palin’s platform as our guide.  You can catch my last analysis on the Missouri Senate Race here.

While Newt has a few skeletons of infidelity in his closet, the remaining candidates for President bring their own baggage as well.  But without a doubt, I agree that among all of them, the biggest asset of intellectual firepower we have is Speaker Gingrich. 

Maybe I’m almost there.  😉

Any thoughts?

Newt’s campaign website.

4 thoughts on “Thinking About Newt

  1. To be honest, even though I adore Sarah Palin, I never wanted her to run for president. She did step down from her job as governor. I have always considered this a change in tactic rather than “quitting.” I believe she is much more powerful now, and if she ever ran for president, she would lose most of her power.

    Sarah Palin does not always endorse the best candidates, either. She supported Rick Perry during his last run for governor, and I am strongly opposed to Perry. Perry is interested only in himself. I think most of the candidates are going to try to obtain Palin’s support because they know she has such a strong influence, but this will not mean that they personally believe in her goals or plans for this nation.

    I have not heard much about Newt Gingrich. Right now, I like Hermann Cain. Cain is an accomplished businessman who understands the value of hard work and who knows what Americans need to work hard. Everything about him is the complete opposite of Obama. He took a failing business and transformed it into a success. That is the type of accomplishment and economic understanding that our country needs. Certainly, there are areas where he is not as strong, but if he chooses the best-qualified advisors, then he can make the best decisions.

  2. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back very soon. I want to encourage one to continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

