Matters of Political Importance

I just got into a tit-for-tat with a Twitter user who apparently thinks I’m ignorant for being a lesbian who isn’t interested in gay marriage rights. He isn’t the first to say something like that (although “ignorant” is probably the nicest thing I’ve been called by a liberal after hearing that I refuse to vote solely on the basis of which candidate is for gay marriage rights). He certainly won’t be the last. What’s more interesting is that the conversation started over a comment that Obama couldn’t be a Marxist because he’s a millionaire “moderate”. He made that comment to actor Adam Baldwin.

The user I was responding to said it was “sad” that I’m part of a political group that is against me. That’s exactly what he said. THEN he wanted me to “name one GOP member who is for gay marriage.”

That’s when I said it: I’m not for gay marriage. Not that I’m against it, I’m just not for it at the moment. That was when kingfish called me a bigot, Baldwin got sarcastic with him, and I ended the discussion – because we weren’t having a discussion. It was a bashing session, which is the only thing today’s liberals are capable of most of the time.

Here’s my problem: there are much more important things right now than gay marriage. I have blogged before that I would like to be able to marry my girlfriend one day, but now it just isn’t going to happen. This isn’t all that much like the civil rights fight of the 60’s; we’re not talking about something as obvious as skin color here. DADT has been repealed. That was the one sticking point with me, the one block to my rights as a gay American that I was angriest about. The government was already booted out of my bedroom. They don’t have any right to tell me that I can’t love who I love. Now they can’t tell me that I can’t serve my country, and that’s a huge deal for me.

Marriage, though? That’s a fight we’re not going to win overnight, and there are other issues that need to be faced before we can hope to address gay marriage.

Liberalism is a danger that it wasn’t before. There was a time when being liberal was important; liberal views helped free the slaves, end Jim Crow laws, end segregation…but then liberalism took an extreme twist. Somewhere in the 1970’s, liberalism morphed into a precursor to the extreme it is today. Bernard Goldberg, one of my favorite journalists, still considers himself a “classic liberal”. A classic liberal doesn’t believe in taxing the wealthy above everyone else or putting limits on free speech via the so-called “fairness doctrine”. A classic liberal doesn’t believe in social engineering by forcing gas prices into the stratosphere to bully people into “green alternatives” and other such nonsense. Your run-of-the-mill liberal, however, will call conservative women foul names, call those who disagree bigots and racists, then attack conservatives as liars and homophobes – all while their own people give us legislation like DADT and DOMA and they all scream for more civility.

Any more of this tolerance of theirs and my head might explode.

Every single time I get into a tangle with a liberal, be it on Twitter, a news article, or some other forum for political discussion, they always say the same things:

Liberal: how can you be FOR a group that is against you?

Mel: they’re not against me.

Lib: name one GOP candidate who is for gay marriage.

Mel: when did marriage enter the picture? The issue isn’t gay marriage…

Lib: it’s the ONLY issue! They won’t let you marry! They HATE you!

Mel: actually, the only person who hates me right now is you.

Lib: BIGOT!

Mel: You cannot be serious…

The funniest part is when they try to define the word “bigot” for me, as if I never studied English in college and have no idea what the word means. On this occasion, kingfish actually linked Wikipedia (insert Soledad O’Brien joke here) for the definition. Here’s the official Webster version:

Bigot (noun): a person who is obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices; especially : one who regards or treats the members of a group (as a racial or ethnic group) with hatred and intolerance.

Short breakdown: I’m not against gays. I AM gay. Believing that the economy and several Constitutional issues are more important than gay marriage at the moment does not now and will never make me anti-gay. Disagreeing with the running liberal narrative that gay marriage should be the only thing I care about does not make me anti-gay or anti-marriage. The only thing I refuse to tolerate is intellectual laziness – and when you call me a bigot over the gay marriage issue, you are being intellectually lazy.

To answer your original statement, kingfish, yes, it is entirely possible for a rich man to be a Marxist (calling Obama a moderate is ludicrous on its face). Those who agitate “the people” in favor of Marxism are often those already holding the purse strings – the elites who want to tell us all how we should live. Isn’t that the very hypocrisy you accuse Christians of? Or do you really think that Christians are the only ones capable of being liars and thieves?

If my rights as an American citizen are taken from me – if America ceases to be the independent and free nation it was created to be – my right to marry my girlfriend will not matter in the least. That is why other issues are more important than gay marriage for me, because I see liberals calling our current extremist of a president a “moderate” and I see exactly where this is headed if we don’t do something about it.

13 thoughts on “Matters of Political Importance

  1. You offered the most reasonable comment: ” Not that I’m against it, I’m just not for it at the moment.”
    The deluge of issues, that I see, coming down the line (aisle), are immense; from categorization to exception.
    What could be greater freedom and expression of commitment than rising each morning and settling down each night feeling that bond of unity with another without ‘the fine print’.
    There are much greater issues.

  2. Hey Mel, i am new to this blog.. Just wanted to know when did start to know you were a conservative? And how do you deal with the gay let calling you anti-gay?

  3. Veryopinionated, I didn’t really get politically active until well after I had come out of the closet, but I knew I held conservative beliefs when I was 17 years old. I had seen some of the outrageous things Bill Clinton had done while in office and when he came up for re-election, I was going to be 18 – it was my first vote. I voted for Bob Dole. I can proudly say that the state I voted in that year (Alabama, where we lived for a couple of years after leaving Texas) went to Dole.

    I deal with the gay left calling me anti-gay much the way Andrew Breitbart dealt with the hatemongers. I laugh at them. It hurts, because it was very hard to come out of the closet in the first place and the community that first welcomed me with open arms now despises me, but I take it with a very large grain of salt and I try to make fun of it.

  4. Thanks for the info Mel. Now just wondering.. so you came out in the 90’s?.. What was it like back then? I know that it was a big No No, but i am just curious about that stuff. And what do you think about kids coming out earlier these days?
    As for me.. i am still closeted and in my mid 20’s.

  5. I came out in 2003 after over a year of self-reflection. It was obvious to everybody around me long before that, though, and I was bullied mercilessly in public school. I was first called a faggot when I was in third grade. By the seventh grade I had kids regularly doing their level best to humiliate me.

    Things appear to be very different now than they were when I was a kid. There’s still a great deal of misunderstanding, but it’s not nearly as bad as it was when I was a kid. I graduated high school in 1997 (a year late). By the time I came out of the closet and started helping out with gay youth groups, I was talking to groups of kids 30 strong coming out in high school and reading about lesbians being voted prom king. That never would have happened in the early 90’s. I can look back on my early childhood and realize that the signs were all there, but I’m not sure that younger kids really understand what being gay means or how that fits into society. Young gay kids tend to be a little less restrained and they don’t always understand that they can’t make passes at straight kids. That causes tension and a lot of frustration. It’s a difficult conversation to have with them, too, because all they know is that they’re developing the same way their classmates are. They aren’t mature enough to understand that most of their classmates are not and likely will never be gay.

    As for coming out, don’t let anyone tell you that you have any kind of responsibility to do so. Coming out should be your decision, done when you are ready – not when someone else decides it’s time. I hope you feel safe venting here. 😉

  6. Thank for your insight Mel:) As for coming out.. no i am not jumping on the band wagon.
    Yeah, i do agree with you all the way on teens coming out way too early these days. They think it’s fun or it’s the IN thing to do. I joined a support group online last year, and i posted something about how teens are coming out too early these days and i got so much hate in replys.. i believe one actually agreed with me, but i can’t believe how much the gay -left has no commonsense what so ever.

    Anyway sorry for the rant, but also Is your blog made for gay men or can it be for lesbians as well?

  7. I’m sorry, I wasn’t sure if Gay Conservative was ment for gay men or gay women.. thanks for the clarafication:)

Leave a Reply

