Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I thought I’d share some of my favorite Irish music – the real deal – this year. Altan and The Corrs are two of my favorite bands. Altan lead vocalist Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh sings most of the bands lyric-driven songs in Gaelíge, or Irish Gaelic.

Here’s Dulaman, which is actually a nonsensical children’s song about seaweed being gathered but is a fun song nonetheless:

My personal favorite, Donal Agus Morag (“Donal and Morag”), a song about two feuding families brought together by a wedding – with a HAPPY ending:

Here’s The Corrs playing a traditional tune called Toss The Feathers:

The Corrs again with Brid Og Ni Mhaille, a song about heartbreak and love lost:

And one of my all-time favorites…Tim Finnegan’s Wake, performed by The Dubliners with the Clancy Brothers. Toward the end, the phrase “d’anam don diabhal” means “your soul to the devil” – it’s the Irish way of saying, “what the hell is wrong with you?!?”

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, there will be quite a bit of Uisce Beatha (“ISH-kay-BA-hah”, or whiskey) consumed tonight. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

One thought on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  1. I wish there was a conservative male dating site. How tired I am of the same liberal clap trap from the twisted lib gay community. When I go to any gay event in San Francisco, I am put through a propeller of the most vile left-wing hate. It spews and spews from extremely unhappy, self-rightous men (and women). I am outcast when I simply say that I do not support political parties and that the Democrat party is not good for America.

    Does anyone have any ideas (or decent single gay male friends 🙂 What does everyone think regarding this issue?

    When I post to Craigslist and the like I have to state somewhere that I’m not attracted to “political” people, hoping that that will weed out some of the Barbara Boxer worshipers. The problem with this angle is that most gays are political and very lopsidedly so. I’m generally happy and am refreshed to hear any words of common sense out of the horrid mainstream media. I am desperately seeking to be around my own kind. A few encouraging words from those in the same boat would be welcomed. cajoboy@aim.com

Leave a Reply

