A Curse Upon The American Landscape

“There are few things I hate more than the NRA. I mean, truly, I think they’re pigs. I think they don’t care about human life. I think they are a curse upon the American Landscape.”

These words were uttered by Bryant Gumbel, host of HBO’s Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel, during an interview with Rolling Stone about the “kill what you eat” movement. He later admitted that the story he was talking about had absolutely nothing to do with guns – he just “wanted to get that out there.”

Really, Bryant? You think we’re pigs?

You think we don’t care about American life? Really? That’s why we carry guns, because we don’t care? How sadly mistaken you are, sir. We carry guns precisely because we care about life.

Scenario: you’re leaving the grocery store with your family. It’s the middle of the afternoon, so there are people everywhere. There’s some event going on in the parking lot, but you’re not interested; you keep walking. Suddenly, some unknown man pulls out a gun and starts shooting people – and those people aren’t moving. They’re just standing there while the shooter walks down the line and kills them, one at a time. What do you do?

I can tell you exactly what I would do. I would not give a warning. I would not give him any opportunity. I would send my family running to the parking lot while I took up a position safe to the victims, pull my sidearm, and double-tap that bastard until he stopped twitching. Why? Because if I don’t, he will keep killing. I have no idea what this guy’s problem is, but I do know that he’s killing innocent people. I don’t have time in this scenario to talk to him. I have to assume that if he’s willing to kill unarmed people for no reason, he will not be reasoned with. Killing innocent people is not a reasonable act.

What do you expect people to do during that situation? Run and hide? Why are you so averse to the idea of civilians having the right to defend themselves?

We don’t carry guns because we want to kill people. We carry guns because we know it is a deterrent. When I worked in prisons as an officer, the one thing I heard violent criminals say routinely is that they would not target people who were armed (I’m talking about rapists, abusers, and robbers). I mean, think about it…why would a bad guy walk into a store where they know half the patrons are likely to be packing heat? Robbing a store is a selfish ambition, one that the perp is unlikely to commit if it doesn’t benefit him. Rape, abuse – those are all things that are crimes of selfishness and opportunity. I fail to understand why the right to keep and bear arms is such a threat to you.

Then again, you’re an elitist snob. I don’t expect you to be reasonable.

Leave a Reply

